We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The burial site of the kings of Macedon”

Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Vergina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The burial site of the kings of Macedon”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This burial site is done in a very nice way. The museum gives you the story of how they found the tombes and then the finds of the tomb. It has very nice Archaeological finds including golden crowns that belonged to Philipus the Second the father of Alexander the Great. Worth to see this museum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yahaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    63
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Veria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“small exhibit space but definitely worth visiting”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We always take visitors there as this is a small exhibit, and keeps the kids interested. We have been there numerous times.
The museum is built on top of the tombs, very different than other museums I have visited. The displays are very informative. It's a shame the anactora has not been open for visiting during any of our excursions.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What an experience!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Going underground!!! Literally!! The museum is built underground at the ACTUAL SITE! The ambiance of this place was so amazing. It really felt like any of the statue or models could come to life!! The different tombs were stored so wonderfully. So basically, I was standing at a place where Alexander the great actually did while he did the rights for his father!!! It still gives me chills.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kshitijkapoor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preveza, Greece
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

How can one tell the wonders of the Vergina tombs. To see where King Philip was buried, his tomb, the tomb of one of his wives, and the son of Alexander the Great, there are no words. Four times my husband and I have been to this site, and each time we view it with wonder, there are no words. All those with love for Greece, MUST see the tombs of Vergina.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Preveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We travelled to Meteora, the Zagora area and then the kids wanted to go to Mt Olympus. Quietly I had been harbouring a desire to visit the alleged tomb of King Phillip of Macedonia (having studied Greek History and Alexander the great at school). We drove up via the main highway to Thessalonika from Larissa and the roads were excellent, missed the turn off but went back for a second try, and were rewarded with the tombs in what looked like a country town street. The palace was nearby but not open to the public at the time. The fee was 8 euros per adult, no charge for the kids. The museum was outstanding. It showed just the right amount of exhibits and the tombs were just there in front of you - amazing! I felt so close to history. The museum itself is a show piece being incorporated into the tomb but taking nothing away from it.
This was certainly a highlight of my trip. If you are interested in ancient history and loved the acropolis in Athens, visit this site! Add it to Delphi and a visit to Mt Olympus and you'll feel like you are in the company of the Gods.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne2K2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina) also viewed

 
Central Macedonia, Greece
 

Been to Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing