We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel”
Review of Domaine Kalaitzis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine Kalaitzis
Ranked #1 of 5 Vergina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in our this year Greece vacation. We discovered it by chance on our way to Karavados and we were instantly impressed. What a great place to spend your time!! Wow, rooms are very comfortable and very clean. Interior design of this hotel is impressive, you feel like you are part of a special, exquisite place.
The owner is very open and willing to help you in any way. The first time I got there, I forgot my phone charger and I was happy to find it later next week when we checked in second time.
Our stay in this hotel is great remembering. We recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudiaPetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing break a bit off the beaten track, you could do a lot worse than this beautiful little gem tucked away in a picturesque part of Greece. My friend and I enjoyed first rate service from Eleni and her husband.

When we first got there, we were surprised when we saw this amazing vineyard that seemed endless. If you're fond of red wine you'll be in wine heaven. And it's not pricey like some restaurant hotels who blatantly rip you off.

The bedrooms are genuinely cosy and bathrooms are immaculately clean. This hotel offers unbelievably tasty food and great hospitality. You can tell the family who run this business have put a lot of effort into maintaining their hotel and take pride in its appearance.

The high level of customer service, attention to detail and overall breathtaking landscape surrounding the hotel puts this little beauty heads above the rest. I would definitely recommend it for a romantic break or even as a location to get married. What with the picturesque landscape, not to mention the generous outdoor dining area, it's easy to see why some might want to get hitched there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The view is amazing and the enviroment perfect for relax. The whole retro style of the hotel is very nice. Very good amenities.The breakfast is good, the service excellent and the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: Prefer the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A great place with great people. Seeing the high score rating, I was expecting a great location and this is what I found there. The surroundings are great, there is a great view to the mountains and towards an man-made lake, also the city-lights are visible, silent and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from Thessaloniki to Argos and it was just what we wanted.

Spacious, nicely decorated rooms, very good food, decent wine produced by the owners themselves and very kind and helpful staff members who tipped us about visiting the museum of Philip II:s tomb in Vergina.

Room Tip: I don't think it really matters which room you get, they all seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sool9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just Excellent! We held a party for over 500 people for the Christening of our son in Estate Kalaitzis- location, facilities, food, service, organisation was all magnificent. Highly recommended. Also, our English friends stayed for a week in the hotel- impressed by the whole experience, but particularly by the straight- forward communication with the staff and the attention to detail.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vangelis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I visited Kalaitzis Estate within the context of the official excursion of the 16th IWGP conference organised in Thessaloniki (17-22 June 2013). We had already visited Pella and Mieza and we stopped at Kalaitzis Estate for a light lunch break before visiting Vergina. Although the location is excellent and so are the views from there to the mountains and Aliakmon water reservoir, the food offered was rather poor and the portions very small. Especially the cake slices were very thin and obviously prepared well in advance, therefore had already began to dry. The fruit offered on the plate -one apricot, a tiny pear and one strawberry- was rather 'stingy' especially given that the area produces excellent quality food. Unlike the traditional generosity I enjoyed in Thessaloniki during the conference days, the food offered at Kalaitzis estate was just basic therefore rather disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
2  Thank Soultana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ktima-Kalaitzi, Owner at Domaine Kalaitzis, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comments reviewing your recent short visit to Estate Kalaitzis. Reviews positively enhance future travelers’ experience and our property appreciates your spending time to comment on your visit.

I, personally, and the rest of our staff would like to sincerely apologize that your visit to Estate Kalaitzis was less than satisfactory. I have already drafted a letter to the 16th IWGP conference organizers that were ultimately responsible for the choices offered, informing them of your comments. Please bear in mind that they had chosen a coffee break (not a lunch break) solution, as you were probably misleadingly informed. Therefore, the plate you mention in your review was a generous accompaniment to a coffee or refreshment and not a poorly presented lunch. The contents were designed and approved by the conference organizers based on their budget and specifications for a very competitive price. I should also point out that all products were of the best quality, freshly baked or prepared only minutes before served, on the day of your visit.

We thank you for pointing out that the cake was probably an incorrect choice for a group of 180 visitors, that requires some prior preparation and is subject to faster decay of freshness, especially on a very hot day as was the day of your visit. The fruit were freshly purchased in the local wholesaler on the same morning, picked up only the day before. The pear you mention was small by design and not in price as it was a “kontoula” variety (similar to the American comice) that is more expensive than traditional pear varieties but infinitely tastier, a choice I personally made to ensure the success of your group’s visit.

Finally, I appreciate and thank you for your kind comments on the beauty and wonderful panoramic views of our location, just one of the qualities that has earned our hotel a Top 25 Travelers’ Choice 2013 Award and a Certificate of Excellence 2013 by Trip Advisor reviewers.

We welcome the opportunity to have you again soon not simply as a visitor for a coffee break stop-over but as a guest to our hotel, which will give you the chance to appreciate the full breadth of our hospitality and food & beverage services.

Kind regards,
Thomas Kalaitzis
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergina
12.6 mi away
Hotel Mythos
Hotel Mythos
#4 of 4 in Elatochori
16 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kokkino Spiti
19.1 mi away
Orfeas Classic
Orfeas Classic
#6 of 9 in Katerini
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Kapsalis
Hotel Kapsalis
#3 of 6 in Veroia
27 reviews
16 mi away
Guesthouse Militsa
Guesthouse Militsa
#2 of 11 in Naousa
72 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pension Vergina
Pension Vergina
#4 of 5 in Vergina
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Kalaitzis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Kalaitzis

Address: | Metochi Prodromou, Vergina 590 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Imathia Region > Vergina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vergina
Price Range: $71 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wine estate offering luxury accommodation, fine dining, supreme meeting and event facilities in the foothills of Pieria and Vermion mountain ranges, overlooking the majestic Imathia valley and Aliakmona lake. Discrete luxury, privilege of exclusivity and privacy, all the comforts of a gourmet countryside retreat, personal service and quiet desolation are the hallmarks of our charming vineyard hotel, offering vintage hospitality that is genuine and from the heart.An expression of elegance that reflects a graceful blend of architecture and ambience, our eleven rooms are designed to offer a high level of convenience and quality of stay. Distinguished decoration, fine taste and discrete luxury ambience, comfortable and spacious bathrooms with Villeroy & Boch® sanitary ware, wonderful Nef-Nef® linen and carefully selected personal hygiene products, large sunlit windows with unparalleled views and our excellent service constitute your guarantee for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Domaine Kalaitzis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing