We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johns tee pees are amazing”
Review of The Last Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Don Det
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Last Resort
Central coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Johns tee pees are amazing”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I had herd about this place on my travels and was told to definatly check it out! I'm glad i asked around and found it! It is the last resort on sunset side a bit of a walk from town but there are plenty of bars and restarunts near by. Johns hospitality is warm and welcoming and nothing is ever to much of a problem! He also has the best shower I've had since coming to Asia! Do your self a favor and check it out!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Last Resort has been so far the best Place I've stayed on my entire trip. Not only is the owner one of the coolest persons I've ever met, but also does he know the local language, people and does everything possible for you to enjoy you stay. The neighbour's children come over to play, the eldest of the island pay you a visit, best way to get to know the real Laos!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidInTheRiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

What can I say about our stay at the Last Resort except that it was an absolutely amazing experience! The place really stood out from the rest of the accommodation available on the island (the ubiquitous wooden bungalows) and the fact that we ended up staying for two months (yes two months!!) shows that we made the right decision. Don Det is a beautiful small island on the Mekong, and the Last Resort is the perfect place to experience it from. The owner Jon knows all of the local community, which meant we got to know them too and were able to experience a cock fight, a boat race, several weddings and a festival in our time there. If you want to get to know the real Laos, I cant think of a better place to stay. You can also arrange fishing trips with local fishermen through Jon.

The food available was also exceptional- having got slightly bored of the Laos baguettes which seem to get served with everything, it was amazing to wake up to fresh bread every morning baked in the traditional clay oven. It was also great to wake up to the early morning Pilates classes, which brought people from other guesthouses over and proved a great way to meet people- as well as making the rest of the day guilt free!

There were also twice weekly cinema nights, which were both extremely popular and extremely good. Watching the local islanders enjoying a film on the big screen was a genuine highlight of our trip!

We met some amazing people in our two months there, and The Last Resort really felt like home. We will definitely be returning in the future! The place feels more like a community than a guesthouse, but not in a pretentious hippy way. Oh, and i nearly forgot... you sleep in teepees!! How cool is that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirectorOfEnquiries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

However - almost everything about this place is amazing!!!! An buzzing atmosphere, great people, a pig dog and of course, the owner Jon. The Teepees are surprising comfortable and the cinema nights are some of the best fun on the island. I stayed here for 2 weeks and had the single best period of my travels. CANNOT RECOMMEND HIGH ENOUGH.

Jon speaks Laos and is quite the 'falang' celebrity. It was good as he could facilitate everything I needed due to the language barrier being broken! He is also Sunset Side, through-and-through.

If you want to have a laugh basically, go here. I had the most amazing time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkhurst_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Det
10.8 mi away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Eden
Little Eden
#1 of 16 in Don Det
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dokchampa Guesthouse
Dokchampa Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Don Khone
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sala Done Khone Hotel
Sala Done Khone Hotel
#5 of 10 in Don Khone
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr Tho's Bungalows
Mr Tho's Bungalows
#6 of 28 in Don Det
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baba Guesthouse
Baba Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Don Det
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Resort

Property: The Last Resort
Address: Sunset Side of Don Det, Don Det, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Det
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Don Det
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Resort is a travelling community located on the Sunset Side of Don Det, in the majestic Sipandon region of Laos. Nestled astride the Mekong river, The Last Resort is made up of a handful of beautiful teepees, constructed using only locally sourced materials, in keeping with the age old tradition of the island. More than just a guest house, The Last Resort attracts like minded individuals who are seeking a more natural and communal alternative to the other accommodation available on the island. The teepees are positioned serenely between working, traditional Laos gardens where herbs, fruits and vegetables are grown and used to prepare daily food, a nightly fire with surrounding benches for relaxing in the evening and a rock oven used to make fresh bread and sweet treats!In addition to regular cinema nights on our big screen on the beach, the Last Resort Beach Bar also hosts weekly parties and is open daily for food and drinks to be enjoyed whilst sunbathing and swimming in the Mekong river. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing