We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bungalows at the Mekong and great food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Don Det
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Leuah Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Mama Leuah. The bungalows are really nice, clean and you have a beautiful view at the Mekong! Lutz, the owner was super friendly and helped with everything. The little restaurant is very cozy and the food is outstanding! We enjoyed our time there and will truly recommend this place. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 233 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Much is said already here on Tripadvisor. To make it short: we can fully confirm the good reviews and can understand the many people returning year after year. Lutz from Berlin and his Lao wife Peng are wonderful hosts, creating a really friendly, open and family-style atmosphere latest from the very moment you enter their grounds. The simple but extensive food menu they offer is extraordinary tasty and besides the nice surrounding of the 4000 islands area alone worth a visit. The huts are still very basic, though (island standard: old wood and cold showers), WiFi is not available and during peak times you need some Lao patience for the fully hand-made food to be ready. Given the very fair prices and the relaxing charm of Lutz this is no real dropback. He is always available for a nice chat and he can recommend the best places to explore on the islands or help with bookings and reservations (eg for follow-on travels). Given the lack of reliable web access and the high booking rate of Mama Leuah, however it's best to call him on his mobile well in advance to safeguard an entry on the reservation list. Thank you Lutz and Peng for a few wonderful days in your hideaway.
Inge & Sascha, Germany

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

we selected this place based on the good reviews and got not disappointed. The bungalows are basic but well arranged and well maintained by the german owner and his lao wife. Some are en suite some with shared bathroom (two bungalows share one bathroom in between). The moskito nets are in good condition same as the matrass. However the highlight is the restaurant. Whatever you select from the menu you will be surprised how delicious food can be - independent if you try a asian curry or rather go for real western dish with selfmade fries fresh vegetables or fresh salad.
The only downside - like most places on Don Det - are the very annoying boat engines. The first boat will wake you up around sunrise when it passes directly few meters in front of you bed. "Rush hour" seems to be between 7am and 8am and noise continues all day even after sunset. After 8pm everybody gethers in the nice restaurant to chat or have some drinks at relaxing chill music. Note that there is no bar or party szene. If you look for that stay in the north. For those looking for a relaxed place on the island staying a few nights at Mama Leuh is probably one of the best choices on Don Det.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HenSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hands down, best food on the island if you're craving some western dishes. The first place after weeks of traveling that we indulged in a schnitzel and meatballs. Big portions too. Superb. Having said that, the Asian choices and breakfast are great too.
We stayed 5 nights, the bungalows are basic but very clean. Loved that we had 2 hammocks. It's on the sunrise side, away from the buzz but close enough to get to (by foot or bike) if you want to go for a drink or see the sunset. (5 min bike)
Had a accident and cut my leg. Probably would have needed stitches but Lutz and his trusty german medical kit sorted me out.
Great stay and be warned, you may be here a lot longer than you intend.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 127innes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spend four nights here and wished it could have been more, but unfortunately we were on a tight schedule. What stands out most about this place is the hospitality of Lutz and Pheng. They really try to make you feel at home, provide a lot of advice, sit down to talk with you and try to make things as easy for you as possible. The bungalows are basic, so don't expect luxury but that isn't what you pay for either:). The decks have great Mekong views and with two hammocks, it's the perfect place to wind down. We usually don't like to eat in the same place every night, but we didn't want to eat anywhere else but at mama Leuah's because the food was fabulous. The Lao and western dishes were both great, as were the many options for drinks and breakfast. And with Lutz pouring some Lao Lao every night you won't get tired of this place easily. We're definitely hoping to come back here one day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomenEelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights but this place is so quiet and relaxing with the little things tended to, like a little heart shaped mirror in the bathroom and shelves put up as a bedside table, towels, soap and two hammocks on the porch etc.

Also, when I arrived, I walked quite a long way to get here when they dropped me off, so ask for them to take you to the south of the island before you leave on the boat. It was low season so I had the place to myself, but I also sat with the chef, a German man called Lutz for cigarettes and coffee he shared with me. He told me a lot about the island, the best places to visit, to eat at (he'd closed the restaurant for holidays) and even a few stories about the locals and what's changed the last few years. A very nice man, married to a Laos girl called Peng who unfortunately doesn't speak a lot of English. She sliced some mango for me to eat, cold out the fridge, all for free. Delicious.

I did book a boat and bus back to Pakse with a pickup right outside my bungalow, but I paid 60000kip, when I discovered another girl was only charged 45000kip for her package return, so maybe book with another guesthouse or operator.

All in all, with bicycles available to rent, I would stay here again. Staff lovely, helpful, informative. Quality bare boned bungalow with clean toilets.

Room Tip: No 7 is the best bungalow, as it is a home to 2 German girls, but they rent it out when they are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Place of Lutz and his family was our guest-house highlight in whole Laos. Beside the perfect view he stands above all other low-budget bungalows with cleaning and maintaining them frequently.
Even if the restaurant has not the cheapest prices (but also not the highest, its still low budget) on the island the quality as well as the quantity was for us the best on the island - we checked several cheap Laos and the other two places running by westerners on the south side of Don Det. In comparison to the other places the western food and the fish are cheap and the quality here is perfect.
As we were travelling for long time at the point of our visit we looked for a nice atmosphere (cause we were on Don Det to hang around as the island is made for...) and were disappointed by all the other places.
If you go there you HAVE to try the Fish Mama Leuah Special - For 5$ you get a whole fish for your own steamed in banana leaf with lemongras, chilly, garlic and coconut sauce.
We hope all the best for this place, specially Lutz and his wife, and if we will be around we surely come over again!! Thanks for the great hammock and balcony based week!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thore K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Det
11.0 mi away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Eden
Little Eden
#1 of 16 in Don Det
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dokchampa Guesthouse
Dokchampa Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Don Khone
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pomelo Restaurant & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Mr Tho's Bungalows
Mr Tho's Bungalows
#8 of 28 in Don Det
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sala Done Khone Hotel
Sala Done Khone Hotel
#4 of 10 in Don Khone
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Leuah Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Leuah Guesthouse

Address: 500m South From French Pier | Sunrise Side, Don Det, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Det
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Don Det
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the banks of the Mekong River, Mama Leuah offers clean and simple bungalows with ensuite, balcony and hammocks - perfect for enjoying the amazing sunrises! You can also relax in the restaurant while enjoying excellent asian and western dishes, great coffee, fresh fruit shakes or a tasty cocktail. If you're lucky, you might even get to witness a breathtaking moonrise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing