We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!!! Fabulous location with spectacular views of the sunset!”
Review of Little Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Eden
Ranked #1 of 16 Don Det B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven!!! Fabulous location with spectacular views of the sunset!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A big thank you to the owners of 'Little Eden" for providing us with a fabulous room, a very comfortable bed, air conditioning, clean facilities and friendly, efficient service from the staff.
We spent the last two nights on Don Det at 'Little Eden" and we couldn't have been happier with our decision. We were most comfortable in our room.The location was perfect as it is nice and close to all the restaurants and bars and where the boats arrive and leave from the island.
Not only did we score some fabulous sunset shots, but we also enjoyed the meals and drinks at the restaurant.

Thanks again and I would highly recommend "Little Eden".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    92
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
30
137
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Little eden is definitely the classiest hotel on the island! Positives were: a great location, clean and spacious rooms, aircon, good food. Negatives were: the private terraces of the rooms faced a construction site, as don det is the party island the noise from neighbouring bars kept us awake at times and the staff wasn't in a very cheerful mood when we stayed here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maddepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umag, Croatia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travelled from the north to the south of Laos with another couple last month. After travelling for three weeks, 4000 Islands were our last destination on the tour. This time we made no reservations in advance, but decided to find a nice place to stay on the spot instead. Little Eden was easy to find, only a few minutes walk from the boat drop off point. It was the first place we visited, and we liked it at first sight and decided to stay there for two nights. It proved to be the best way to end our trip. The whole atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing, our rooms new, comfortable, clean, and equipped with everything we needed. The staff was not obtrusive, but always available when needed. We enjoyed every moment at Little Eden and will never forget Mathieu and his family and our delicious dinners at sunset on the terrace with the magnificent view of the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We came to Don Det only for this place. It offers you the best view, the most spacious rooms and tidiness bathrooms.
You will definitely meet the owner who,s a wonderful bloke. He knows how to make proper food and you will be served better than one would suspect. I give full credit for that. The owner himself seems like a busy man, but he does not any detail slip.

The bathrooms are huge and very well furnished, there is a daily cleaning crew, the furniture in the rooms is amazingly handmade.

The location can not be matched to anywhere else on the island.

As far as I'm concerned, it's a memorable place and I'm sure that we will be back soon for some more of this relaxing quality that Little Eden offers.

Thank you Mathieu and Noy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

There aren't really any other 'hotels' on the island; everything else is made up of basic bungalows and even wigwams. So this place is automatically the classiest place to stay. Because of the location - straight off the boat - it is a good base whilst you get your bearings. And the rooms are good quality (although no TV - but you won't need it!).
But there are problems: bathrooms are basic and let the standard room down, our room wasn't cleaned during the time we stayed (2 nights), the owner was a bit incoherent, staff were uninterested, every bill seemed incorrect and the surrounding land appears to be an abandoned building site. All of these could be ironed out quite easily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights here...and were really dissapointed considering all the good reviews and the "our pick" in the Lonely Planet.
When we arrived we found out that we paid 43USD for a room which you can get without booking for only 30USD! true, you get breakfast included but for 13USD you can eat a whole lot of breakfast elsewhere on the island... We were in one of the "budget" rooms, and these were not bad and really neat, but when comparing with some friends in other stays, we paid more than double what they paid. The expensive rooms look quite good though, but we cannot give you any feedback on these.
The food in the restaurant is very good, and the view is not bad, but here again we had at least equally good food in some other place for half the price (and all views on the sunset sight offer approximately the same views)!
Concerning the staff, we were a little disappointed as for the famous Lao kindness... they all has better stuff to do... Our young waiter seemed to really try, but he alone could not change our minds. The cleaning ladies did a good job nonetheless!
altogether, it is not a bad place to stay, but we feel there are at least equally well equiped places for a lot less dough!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleEdenDonDet, Owner at Little Eden, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello,

About the breakfast. You get two plates of your choice Which comes to 50.000 kip per person, and you get unlimited orange juice tea and coffee.

So if two people eat two plates and drink one coffee and orange juice each.

You normally pay 132.000 kip and in dollars that's 16,5 so 13 dollar is in fact a bargain.

Greetings,
Mathieu Verborg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Matt the owner is super helpful knows the island really well, one of the best places I have stayed in Laos. Extreemly clean, comfortable food is also excellent the English breakfast was a favourite! The view and central location is also a winner could do no better if it tried!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lphe2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Det
10.0 mi away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baba Guesthouse
Baba Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Don Det
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr Tho's Bungalows
Mr Tho's Bungalows
#6 of 28 in Don Det
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mekong Dream
Mekong Dream
#5 of 16 in Don Det
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dokchampa Guesthouse
Dokchampa Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Don Khone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sala Done Khone Hotel
Sala Done Khone Hotel
#6 of 10 in Don Khone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Eden

Property: Little Eden
Address: Sunset Side, Don Det, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Det
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Don Det
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
now we have 22 rooms not 5 anymore.We have high speed internet as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Little Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Eden Hotel Don Det

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing