We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well cooked good quality food”

McDermott's Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
County Down
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“well cooked good quality food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Was staying at a nearby hotel over the week end and called here for a meal. The food was excellent. Good quality produce cooked to order and beautifully presented. The atmosphere was relaxed and most of the staff were lovely. If the lady who took our order had cracked a smile I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“delicious gastro pub grub”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

McDermott's is a regular for us as we live only 10 minutes away and absolutely love it, I was delighted to see how many great reviews they get because they really deserve them.
Its casual relaxed dining at its best, you can be guaranteed a great meal every time here.
Their chief is excellent and puts great effort and thought into the presentation of every meal which definitely cannot be said for most pub grub in Ireland. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overall Experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited the bar and restaurant over the christmas period with my partner. We found the food, service and staff immence! A lady called Tracey served us, she was very pleasant, efficient and chatty! And if myself and my partner were ever to open our own restaurant we would certainly try to head hunt her as she seemed to run the show and was good at her job! Looking forward to our next visit :)

Shauna and Tarina! xx

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarina_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice, cosy bar. Lovely to sit by the fire for a quiet drink. The barman was very nice and helpful as was the girl serving. Lovely living room atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stop off on way to Sligo”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We happened to stop for lunch (kids with us) and McDermotts was clean, decent food and convenient parking. Reasonable prices too. THis is a great pitstop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDermott's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Ballymote, County Sligo
 
Castlebaldwin, County Sligo
Boyle, County Roscommon
 
Ballymote, County Sligo
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to McDermott's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing