We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I attended a wedding here with my mother and I found the place overpriced. It is in a beautiful location if somewhat remote but the bedroom we had ( a standard room which was not cheap) was below the car park and we had a view of the number plates of the cars parked above us. The room was also small and dark. Everything seemed to be expensive - room service had very high charges for breakfast. It is a beautiful comfortable hotel on the inside but there are so many corridors, twists and turns you would nearly need a map to find your room. The exterior is a collection of various houses all atogether. It looks like an extention is added yearly. This year's extention was unfinished and on our way up the drive we were met with contractors picketing the place because the felt they were owed money from the owners for work carried out. Not very welcoming. The main entrance to the function room was locked later in the evening - were they afraid of a revolt!
I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    81
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
234
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a poor dated hotel charging unreasonable high rates for a below par offering. The hotel itself is badly laid out and looks quite old.
The reception desk is beyond the restaurant so you have to walk through the eating area with your suitcases to check in (misery for diners in the restaurant). The staff were pleasant but it was obvious that the hotel lacked proper management. The room we had was large but quite cold and looked like it was decorated in the 1970s. Room service was not available for breakfast (unless you wanted to pay an extra €10 per person for a continental breakfast only!!) The food was not great at all and lacked any real flavour or quality. The bar smelled of chorine or bleach and the drinks were on the pricey side for rural Sligo.

All in all I would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant_traveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is not a lodge ! - I have stayed in lots of lodges and this property does not equate with any of them. It is an ugly collection of buildings randomly planted on a hillside with a beautiful vista. The style is difficult to fathom and the only generalisation is that it is very dated and in my opinion very tacky. The rooms are large but are more motel than hotel. The rooms are located in wings and outbuildings and the development seems haphazard and unplanned. Weddings now seem a big feature in this establishment and that might account for the large number of staff for whom english is not their mother tongue. If you pay the type of rates charged here you expect to be able to understand the staff and for them to understand you. Our waitress at dinner asked if we wanted to order wine before we had decided to order food. The food was stuck in the past. I ate here fifteen years ago when it was more of a lodge and the food was inventive compared to other local restaurants. It has moved on little since then. the food looked attractive but our fish was overcooked and unpleasant. All in all this place is not worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank templeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We recently attended a wedding here and stayed in superior room. View from balcony is stunning with views off the nearby lake. It is well worth paying the little extra for superior room as standard rooms can be quiet a hike from reception and bar/restaurant. Food and service is top class. We had an excellent dinner the evening before the wedding and found the wedding meal itself was off same quality. Breakfast too is excellent. We found the staff to be very friendly and the service excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedublinrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

This was our one "splurge" while traveling the country. It's a large lodge with beautiful views. It's quiet and the rooms are modern and comfortable. The food was very good, but I felt we were spending a bit too much money for a short stay. Weddings/big events are often held here and I think the facilities are more situated for large groups than for smaller families or solo travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChatChambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Charming hotel overlooking breath taking views of Lough Arrow, we had a superior room which was stunning. Very tastefully decorated and wonderful big comfortable beds. The decor in the bar and restaurant was very nice also. Enjoyed all our meals and it was nice to watch the chefs working in the kitchen. The spa was an oasis of calm with lovely veiws

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovechocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Myself and my wife got married here in 2009 and the hotel and staff were excellent and made the wedding day perfect. All our guests commented on what a wonderful location and hotel this was (as it was our wedding day, they were hardly going to say it was a dump but I genuinely believe they meant it!).
The hotel also gave us as a wedding gift an invitation to return to the hotel for our anniversary which we did last week. We were given a spa treatment, full dinner in the restaurant and B&B for free! I haven't heard of many hotels doing this for their wedding couples.
I am not an expert on Spa's but the one at Cromleach Lodge seems very luxurious and has very modern equipment.
The restaurant is 5star and is by far the best in the area. Its expensive but if you believe you get what you pay for, then you will be happy.
I highly recomment this hotel for a wedding, short relaxing break or even just for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
9.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
14.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
14.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing