We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing and enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Certificate of Excellence
Ballybay, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very relaxing and enjoyable.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed two weekend nights with a family party of 8. This hotel was very well managed, the staff were extremely friendly. It is ideal for a peaceful getaway, very refreshed after it. The scenery is majestic, with idyllic walks. The only criticism is that the dinner menu was restrictive in its choices.

Room Tip: Far away from function room so no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    81
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
234
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boyle, Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went for Sunday Luncheon in January as I was very impressed on a previous visit. The staff were very good and efficient the seating was good overlooking Lough Arrow, the starter and dessert were excellent but the main course was not of the standard we expected, the vegetables were cold and the lamb was very fatty and tough. We should have complained at the time but as the Restaurant was full we didn't want to make a fuss. I sent an email to them the next day purely as a courtesy so that they were aware of the shortcomings. To date they have not even bothered to reply. Won't be going there again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisCudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I can't find a single fault with the Cromleach Lodge. I stayed there for 2 nights with my girlfriend and we both enjoyed the experience immensely. Our hotel room was luxurious, with stunning views of the gorgeous Loch and surrounding mountains; the nature walks (which have been diligently marked out by the owners) were fantastic; the food was first-class (Moira, the co-owner of the lodge, has won a string of awards for her other-worldly wheaten bread); the atmosphere was relaxed, homely, and extremely welcoming; the service - from the staff and the owners - was second-to-one. I've recommended the Cromleach Lodge to anyone that will listen. If you want a relaxing, replenishing getaway, steeped in nature, this is the place to go! Thanks for a fantastic weekend!

Jack and Gráinne (two satisfied customers!)

Room Tip: By booking the Deluxe room, you are guaranteed a view of the loch and surrounding mountains - well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realmadridfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killybegs, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

we stayed in Cromleach in January 2014. The first room we were given was small and dungeon like so we asked for an upgrade. The second room although bigger & brighter was very dated in its decor, had a musty smell and one old wooly blanket on the bed. Television was very old & the bed was smelly. The hotel was very understaffed so we were left waiting at reception & again at the bar. We ordered a sandwich in the bar at lunchtime & had to be moved to a formal dining room to eat it. Why? The drink and food is very overpriced. There was a bearded man in the dining room during our evening meal who made us very uncomfortable. He was watching every move the waiting & kitchen staff made. At breakfast the next morning I ordered fried eggs & they arrived much too late. There was no bread for toasting & when another resident asked for some more the waitress brought 2 slices. Then the lights started flickering & eventually they went out altogether. We were told the generator was giving bother. GENERATOR!!! The lights never did come back on that morning. When we were checking out the receptionist never did ask us if we enjoyed our stay but needless to say we didn't and won't be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in October 2013. The hotel was absolutely fantastic in an ideal location. Rooms are modern clean and spacious. The views from the hotel are spectacular and the staff are friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in Cromleach Lodge November 2012, we were given amazing room in the new part of the hotel – the room was specious with modern décor and luxurious bathroom. The hotel staff contacted us in August 2013 asking if we want to stay in the hotel again on the same dates as in 2012. Despite the slightly higher price, we agreed to book under a condition that we get the same room. We were told that our old room is booked but we can get the exact same one just next door. We were extremely disappointed when we were brought into the old part of the hotel upon arrival, the room was very old fashioned with awful blue/grey carpet and tiny bathroom. We disliked the room so much that we requested a different room – we were told that ALL rooms are booked. After trying to get over the awful looking room, we tried to cancel one of the two nights with the receptionist – only then she offered a different room on the same floor with same style of décor but a bit brighter and bigger. We agreed to stay but will never come back to the hotel again.

Room Tip: rooms in the old part of the hotel are mostly for mature couples, rooms for young people are more su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Arrived on cold grey drizzly evening. Hotel staff so welcoming, very friendly. Room spacious, comfortable and warm. Toasty fire in bar, big chairs, nice lighting perfect for a pre dinner drink. Very relaxed. Dinner was really good, unlike most hotels this wasnt 'hotel food'. Not a chip in sight. E'thing home made. Again very good waiting staff, quasi silver service with proper linen table ware and cutlery. Breakfast... Yum! The decor is a bit jaded but not tatty - the service and food more than made up for it. Definite recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
9.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
14.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
14.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing