We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Twenty six members of my family stayed at the Cromleach Lodge for 2 nights from 9 October 2013. The reason for the gathering was to intern my parents' ashes in the family grave in Boyle. The hotel has got to be one of the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in and there was plenty of room in the public areas for the family to circulate and catch up with one another. The staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable ensuring that tables where put together in the dining room for us to have dinner together. The food was excellent with a good choice on both the restaurant and bar menus. Due to time constraints we were not able to see much of the surrounding area but the hotel is in an ideal location for visiting the area. There are several members of the family that would like this venue to become an annual event.

Room Tip: Superior double rooms with balcony overlook the loch and are worth the extra cost to wake up to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 424 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the minute we made a booking inquiry via the hotel website to the time we checked out of the hotel we experienced excellent service in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere but has the most amazing views and is perfect for a relaxing or romantic break. Celine in the spa dealt with out spa inquiry and booked us in at a time convenient to us. We were welcomed and shown to our room upon check in. We had been upgraded to a suite (which was fabulous) and we were even given a complimentary baileys! The view from our room was stunning and the room itself was everything we could have asked for. It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had a huge bathroom, it was a shame we were only staying one night!!! We went for our spa treatment and started off with a light lunch and then took advantage of the thermal area(lovely outdoor hot tub!). Celine was again extremely helpful as it was our first spa visit! The treatments were amazing and we were thoroughly relaxed (As was the purpose of our visit). The other spa therapist, who's name I didn't catch was also fantastic. Dinner was another pleasant part of our stay as the waiting staff made you feel at ease and the food was very good, particularly the creme brulee desert which was definitely the best i've ever tasted! We relaxed in the lounge beside the fire while our order was being taken.The breakfast was again lovely and we were checked out in no time, the receptionist was (like the rest of the staff) wonderful at her job and extremely helpful. We were also very impressed with the price we paid for our stay, we availed of a special offer on the hotel's website. All in all I cannot fault this hotel at all and we are already looking for an excuse to go back!!

Room Tip: The view from the suites is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall a really nice place to stay and would definitiely stay here again. Here's an overview of our visit:

Pros:
> Lovely location - superb views of Lough Arrow!
> Staff were polite and helpful
> Rooms were spotlessly clean. The main areas of the hotel were lovely too.
> The food was gorgeous (lovely spread for breakfast!).
> Owners are lovely and even lent us their dog to take for one of the walks around the hotel (much to the delight of our 5 year old!).

Cons:
> We stayed in one of the family rooms which, while situated well within the hotel with a view of the Lough, are a quite tired decor wise with an old TV. The standard doubles/deluxe doubles are much more contemporary and up to date (note - the deluxe doubles can also take an extra bed for not much more than the price of a family room).
> There is a charge of 10 Euros to use the basic spa facilities (which is refunded if you spend more than 30 Euros on a spa treatment). I felt that the treatments were very expensive compared to other spas I've used so was reluctant to book a treatment. Most hotels I've used have included their basic spa facilities.
> Could do with a little more choice on their bar menu with possibly a couple of lower cost options (it is all delicious though!)

Room Tip: My brother said the deluxe double he had was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Comleach lodge. The food in the restaurant was the best we've ever tasted and the service was excellent. It may be a little pricey but well worth it.The place in general has a lovely calm feel to it. The owners Moira and Christy are always about keeping an eye on things. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was fabulous. It was bright and spacious with a stunning view. Definitely recommend these rooms
The spa is worth checking out too. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed there for a wedding with our toddler and baby. Fantastic wedding venue. Food was fab both at wedding and breakfast the following morning. Service was great. You can tell that the place is owner managed. Very family friendly place but would also be a great place to escape for a romantic weekend away. Views from the hotel are stunning. Sligo's best kept secret!

Room Tip: Our room which was in the original part of the hotel. It was huge - ideal for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinEmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago for a night with the missus. Firstly the pros. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The location looking over Lough Arrow is quite beautiful. The staff are friendly and attentive. The spa is apparently good.

As for he cons, we booked into a standard room which was effectively a dungeon. It was pretty grim. Not comfortable and kind of creepy. Having said that I just don't know whether it would be worthwhile spending more money on a better room.

The place is very pricey and did not have the wow factor we were expecting. There were a number of small things that annoyed me in particular. Reading the information booklet in the room apparently if you leave anything behind after checkout ie a phone charger, you'll be charged €15 for it to be posted to you in the ROI (seriously is that normal?). They don't serve mineral water but rather their own water which is (if I recall correctly) purified from their own source. Everyone is automatically charged €1.50 for the honour of drinking Cromleach water. Enviormentally friendly maybe but I'd prefer to choose what I'm to drink seeing as know nothing about water purification systems. Sat at the bar ordered two of those small packets of peanuts........nearly fell off my bar stool when I had to pay the man €5. I know these may seem minor complaints but I think it's the little things that make a stay in a hotel memorable and these coupled with other annoyances had an overall negative cumulative effect.

The sprawling 1990's building itself won't be winning any design awards.

The feeling I got from he place was that its a 4 star hotel that has retained a B&B mentality. Spent over €320 for the one night stay (dinner €120). Not worth it.

I'd go back for a meal but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilt683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room, while the view was beautiful the room was soulless. Cobwebs, marks on the walls and a broken shaving mirror is not what I would expect for a hotel that is listed in The Blue Book. We picked this hotel as it was advertised as pet-friendly however, we found this not really to be the case. While we could keep our house-trained dog in our room we had to lock him in our car while we ate our breakfast, not what I would call pet-friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
16.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
9.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,265 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,692 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballymote
113 reviews
14.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range: $118 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing