We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Ballina, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the minute we made a booking inquiry via the hotel website to the time we checked out of the hotel we experienced excellent service in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere but has the most amazing views and is perfect for a relaxing or romantic break. Celine in the spa dealt with out spa inquiry and booked us in at a time convenient to us. We were welcomed and shown to our room upon check in. We had been upgraded to a suite (which was fabulous) and we were even given a complimentary baileys! The view from our room was stunning and the room itself was everything we could have asked for. It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had a huge bathroom, it was a shame we were only staying one night!!! We went for our spa treatment and started off with a light lunch and then took advantage of the thermal area(lovely outdoor hot tub!). Celine was again extremely helpful as it was our first spa visit! The treatments were amazing and we were thoroughly relaxed (As was the purpose of our visit). The other spa therapist, who's name I didn't catch was also fantastic. Dinner was another pleasant part of our stay as the waiting staff made you feel at ease and the food was very good, particularly the creme brulee desert which was definitely the best i've ever tasted! We relaxed in the lounge beside the fire while our order was being taken.The breakfast was again lovely and we were checked out in no time, the receptionist was (like the rest of the staff) wonderful at her job and extremely helpful. We were also very impressed with the price we paid for our stay, we availed of a special offer on the hotel's website. All in all I cannot fault this hotel at all and we are already looking for an excuse to go back!!

Room Tip: The view from the suites is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    81
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
234
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall a really nice place to stay and would definitiely stay here again. Here's an overview of our visit:

Pros:
> Lovely location - superb views of Lough Arrow!
> Staff were polite and helpful
> Rooms were spotlessly clean. The main areas of the hotel were lovely too.
> The food was gorgeous (lovely spread for breakfast!).
> Owners are lovely and even lent us their dog to take for one of the walks around the hotel (much to the delight of our 5 year old!).

Cons:
> We stayed in one of the family rooms which, while situated well within the hotel with a view of the Lough, are a quite tired decor wise with an old TV. The standard doubles/deluxe doubles are much more contemporary and up to date (note - the deluxe doubles can also take an extra bed for not much more than the price of a family room).
> There is a charge of 10 Euros to use the basic spa facilities (which is refunded if you spend more than 30 Euros on a spa treatment). I felt that the treatments were very expensive compared to other spas I've used so was reluctant to book a treatment. Most hotels I've used have included their basic spa facilities.
> Could do with a little more choice on their bar menu with possibly a couple of lower cost options (it is all delicious though!)

Room Tip: My brother said the deluxe double he had was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Comleach lodge. The food in the restaurant was the best we've ever tasted and the service was excellent. It may be a little pricey but well worth it.The place in general has a lovely calm feel to it. The owners Moira and Christy are always about keeping an eye on things. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was fabulous. It was bright and spacious with a stunning view. Definitely recommend these rooms
The spa is worth checking out too. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed there for a wedding with our toddler and baby. Fantastic wedding venue. Food was fab both at wedding and breakfast the following morning. Service was great. You can tell that the place is owner managed. Very family friendly place but would also be a great place to escape for a romantic weekend away. Views from the hotel are stunning. Sligo's best kept secret!

Room Tip: Our room which was in the original part of the hotel. It was huge - ideal for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinEmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago for a night with the missus. Firstly the pros. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The location looking over Lough Arrow is quite beautiful. The staff are friendly and attentive. The spa is apparently good.

As for he cons, we booked into a standard room which was effectively a dungeon. It was pretty grim. Not comfortable and kind of creepy. Having said that I just don't know whether it would be worthwhile spending more money on a better room.

The place is very pricey and did not have the wow factor we were expecting. There were a number of small things that annoyed me in particular. Reading the information booklet in the room apparently if you leave anything behind after checkout ie a phone charger, you'll be charged €15 for it to be posted to you in the ROI (seriously is that normal?). They don't serve mineral water but rather their own water which is (if I recall correctly) purified from their own source. Everyone is automatically charged €1.50 for the honour of drinking Cromleach water. Enviormentally friendly maybe but I'd prefer to choose what I'm to drink seeing as know nothing about water purification systems. Sat at the bar ordered two of those small packets of peanuts........nearly fell off my bar stool when I had to pay the man €5. I know these may seem minor complaints but I think it's the little things that make a stay in a hotel memorable and these coupled with other annoyances had an overall negative cumulative effect.

The sprawling 1990's building itself won't be winning any design awards.

The feeling I got from he place was that its a 4 star hotel that has retained a B&B mentality. Spent over €320 for the one night stay (dinner €120). Not worth it.

I'd go back for a meal but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilt683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room, while the view was beautiful the room was soulless. Cobwebs, marks on the walls and a broken shaving mirror is not what I would expect for a hotel that is listed in The Blue Book. We picked this hotel as it was advertised as pet-friendly however, we found this not really to be the case. While we could keep our house-trained dog in our room we had to lock him in our car while we ate our breakfast, not what I would call pet-friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was expecting something special. Overall we had a very disappointing experience .

We stayed in this hotel a few weeks back over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel was very busy. We were given a room in the dungeon. The patio doors were facing a concrete wall almost as high as the doors. The wall was only a couple of feet from the doors. The room was avery small and had no light coming in, it had a very claustrophobic feeling. There was a very strong smell of damp in the room which is not a surprise as it was in the basement. I spoke to reception however they told me that the hotel was fully booked.On the website we have looked at this hotel and it did not mention that the standard rooms are like this. For the price we paid it was disgraceful !

On a positive note we had dinner in the restaurant which was very good.

My advise would be to have dinner in this hotel but stay some where else.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cupcake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
16.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
13.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,084 reviews
9.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
14.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing