We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hen weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“hen weekend”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we didnt stay at this hotel but went as a group for a hen party and spa treatments . i have to say the staff were very attentive. lunch was nice but they could have a better selection. after lunch we went to the spa which was terrific. the staff were really nice and couldn't do enough to make you feel comfortable. there was an outdoor hot tub which we had use of while we waited for our treatments . really enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: the views from the restaurant and hot tub were fantastic take a camera
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwaayGalwaygirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    81
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
234
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ballybofey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for a relaxing break,and this hotel, had it all.The location is amazing.The hotel has made the most of the hill top view with large windows at very possible point and you can't help but stop and stare,nature at its best.The food was perfect,very tasty and plenty of it.The rooms decor was a little dated but the views make up for it.We had a quiet and relaxing time,thanks to the very professional staff and beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemooBallybofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have visited this hotel a number of times. Friendly staff combined with large modern rooms makes for an ideal destination .Dogs are permitted ,thus providing excellent company for the seven mile walk around lough arrow. Breakfast is very comprehensive and tasty.Dinner is good but a little on the expensive side .

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george25859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went for a romantic week-end and can honestly say this is the most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was huge with beautiful views and patio doors out onto a balcony - the bathroom was large with a massive free standing bath and a walk in shower. The bed was huge and the mattress comfy with mattress and pillow protectors and good quality linen. There was a full length mirror and plenty of drawer space.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent- the dining room has beautiful views over Lough Arrow - there was a great selection and the cooked food was all good quality produce. The service was first class. The restauraunt is renowned for it's " fine dining " reputation - the menu was however not to my taste - but that is just personal taste- I prefer locally sourced produce ,simply cooked. Moira and Christy are attentive hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them and the staff. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Up-grade to a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is situated on the side of a mountain about 4mls off the main Sligo to Dublin road. As I was coming the opposite direction from Manor Hamilton, along a series of narrow lanes, I thank goodness for modern technology in the form of my car sat nav to find the hotel. When we drove up the steep drive, I parked and we made our way into the first building. When I say the first building, I'm referring to first of the multitude of extensions which branch spider like across and up the mountain face. We reached the reception via the dining room and were greeted by a very pleasant lady who kindly brought us to our room by way of a network of corridors, elevators and stairs (not recommended for the elderly or infirm). But when we eventually arrived at our suite we were delighted. It was a spacious room with double patio doors opening onto a large balcony with superb views of the lake. Two comfortable chairs plus a coffee table to relax and take in the scenery. The bed was large with plenty of pillows and the furnishings were high quality, there were bedside lamps, complimentary water and even a couple of miniature Baileys. In the ensuite there was a beautiful large free standing bath tub, a massive walk in shower and a nice vanity unit. All in all a delightful, peaceful room with a fantastic aspect.
The hotel layout as I explained, can be rather confusing and takes a while to familiarise yourself with. It appears that the owners have invested their profits into adding additional blocks of rooms which radiate from the main reception/restaurant block. Unfortunately the collapse in the economy has halted the development, with an unfinished empty block and unsurfaced parking area. The bar is rather up market, with excellent comfortable seating and wonderful views over the lough. As for the dining room, this is also finished and to a very high standard.
Although it is rated as a 4* there isn't any leisure facilities except for the spa. So it wouldn't attract those who enjoy such, but if you're into walking, there's a series of planned routes adjacent to the hotel and well behaved pets are even allowed.
Now we get to the food. The breakfasts are wonderful, there's a fantastic selection of produce of the finest quality and they are severed in the main restaurant. There's smoked salmon and cheeses, a variety of cereals and cooked products to satisfy everyone. My only gripe is the actual evening restaurant menu. The selection was not to my palate, too cordon blue, very restrictive, far too greasy and overpriced. Even the bar food menu which was not served in the bar but in the restaurant was totally overpriced and not great quality. It's such a shame that we Irish don't promote our national food much better. At least there should have been some consideration given to those who much prefer a good roast, local fish and vegetables nicely cooked. Perhaps it's the fault of the chief who refuses to cater for normal tastes or demean himself even to prepare a proper quality toasted sandwich.(not one made in a sealed unit)
All in all I would recommend the hotel as a great place to relax, to get away from the busy lifestyle and just chill out. If the menu was simpler and less expensive I would have rated the hotel higher. But the room was excellent, the staff lovely, the breakfasts superb and the views spectacular.

Room Tip: Enquire about an upgrade as the standard rooms are rather disappointing. They are located on the sub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went for a romantic night away and we weren't disappointed, food was sensational. The bar overlooking The Lough was really beautiful and enjoyed every minute of sipping a glass of wine on those comfy chairs . We will definitely be back .

Room Tip: Beds are really comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmore186602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

To say we were impressed is an understatement.
This is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever experienced for service and friendliness. The Staff have got the balance between professional and friendly absolutely perfect.
The food is magnifcent, but we had expected that as their reputation preceeded them. The vistas are superb, the rooms are excellent, the deluxe room is well worth the extra few euros, but the lasting impression... the staff. The owners Moira and Christy (hope I have remembered the names correctly) are most welcoming, indeed Christy pops up everywhere! Elaine was excellent, nothing was a problem. Thanks again to all, looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are worth it, bigger, brighter and the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smurphyoneills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
16.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
13.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,088 reviews
9.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,643 reviews
14.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing