We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful one night experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie Kemmelberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kemmel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were visiting the sights of WW1 so wanted a nice hotel, centrally placed, with good food. This hotel has it all - superb location with stunning views over the valley (note, standard rooms are small, but immaterial to us), exceptional dinner, more than sufficient breakfast and extremely helpful and pleasant staff.

Note - if you're visiting for WW1 experiences, do make sure you visit the Kemmel tourist office first for eg access to some sites.

Room Tip: Valley views are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckgdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thanks for your visit to our hotel. We are happy that you liked your stay!
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 387 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

It's always interesting reading other reviews of the same place-much of both the positive and negative views are,in my view, correct-it depends on how you choose to respond.
We spent the last weekend at Hostellerie Kemmelberg with another couple.We had very different rooms each costing the same-1 was very small but with a stunning view over the valley and a lovely balcony from which to view it.The other was at the back of the hotel with a view over the car park but was very large with a "space age"bathroom(open to the bedroom but with a separate loo).
The breakfast was fresh:simple continental style but the waitress had difficulty keeping it stocked so that each individual item had frequently run out and each morning we needed to ask for fresh juice,bread etc. It always arrived but one doesn't need to be in a hurry or impatient.The views from the breakfast room were sufficient to keep one occupied for hours anyway.We watched a nuthatch to-ing and fro-ing from her nest in a hollow on a tree next to the window and a pigeon sitting quietly on her nest.
The evening meals were delicious although very expensive.We opted for a set tasting menu on the first night and they happily swapped things around a little to accommodate the fact that none of us wanted 1 particular course.
On the second night the head waiter was amazingly helpful as we each made our different selections from the A La Carte.He took time to listen properly to our likes and was clever enough to recognise that I would want to choose something I never eat usually whereas others preferred to choose safely food that they knew.Our dining experience on that evening ,we all agreed ,was 1 of our best ever.(We all eat out in a wide range of places/circumstances)
There were a couple of issues re. housekeeping that I believe were taken on board-nothing to spoil our enjoyment of the w/e.No hairdryer for the first 24 hours was a pain but eventually sorted.
Would I/we stay there again?Without a doubt!Our friend described it as a "fairytale w/e"and was busy planning how soon she could return.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions carefully and make your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190756Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thanks for your positive review. We are always happy to see how people find their stay at our hotel. We will be happy to welcome you back!
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Old fashioned quality with a ncie view,
We stayd only overnight with a breakfast.
Nice looking area with wonderfull view
Owners were very nice and friendly
We will come back to try out the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 911rs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your fine review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to see you again.
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I first visited this very special hotel nearly twenty years ago. I am pleased to say that it retains its tranquillity and discrete style, not least because it is situated on a rare hillside in West Flanders (with a lively history) overlooking a pastoral scene, well away from any noise or interference from modern life. The rooms (valley-facing) are pleasant and well-equipped with comfortable beds. The bath has a jacuzzi function and there is a great shower. The owners and staff are polite, friendly and go out of their way to make one feel welcome and ‘at home’. Many will know that the restaurant has an enviable reputation for high quality local ingredients, talented cuisine and measured (almost leisurely – a positive) service. In the summer, take your aperitif and amuse-bouches on the terrace; in winter, stay in the cosy bar and watch the lights on the horizon as you choose from a great selection of fine wines. If you crave a quiet but tasteful getaway, like your food and appreciate excellent dining, look no further.

Room Tip: Valley view en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review. We are always happy to read that our guests had a lovely stay in Hostellerie Kemmelberg. Hope to see you, your family and friends, again soon.
Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night as part of a cycling trip. Wonderful views and isolated so found ourselves having to have dinner there. The service was incredibly slow and the food was over priced and pretentious. Having said that, the dessert was one of the best I've ever had. A drunk waiter told me to relax which after waiting over 1/2 hr between courses was difficult on an evening when we were tired after a long cycle. The room, which we were told was an upgrade was cramped and the hotel seemed an odd contradiction between trying to portray class and opulence to slightly tacky formica covered bedroom furniture and a tiny cupboard as an en-suite. We stayed in several hotels on our holiday and this was the one we liked least.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We understand your "bizarre experience" at the end of July very well: we took over the business at the end of 2012 and started with the necessary updates immediately. By the end of July, some things were already finished, some other things not. Hence, your (right) conclusion that at that time you stayed with us there was some contradiction between "old" and "new". In the meantime, the hotel has further been upgraded and we already obtained a more uniform, classy interior. Although the work is not finished yet, the difference is remarkable. You can follow-up the works at our hotel on our facebook page: http://www.facebook.be/kemmelberg .
For your information, we do also have larger rooms (up till 30 m2).
Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel, the outside looked idyllic, on entering the premises you had been time warped to another century, tired decor of mixed tastes from the 20th century.

Checking in we gave them our British passports to be given hotel instructions all in Dutch with no idea what the facilities were, but the most important thing the receptionist pointed out that we needed to know was the code to press if the gates were closed (Hmm in case we needed to escape one presumes!), however she did try to make a joke and tell us if we could read Dutch the leaflet told us everything else we needed to know about the hotel!!

Room was described as a double room with a forest view - More like a single room with 2 single beds crammed together and more furniture that was useless as the room was far too small to accommodate it all and worst of all the room overlooked the hotel car park, which was very noisy with guests and cars coming and going. Windows would not open properly as the table and 2 chairs which you couldn’t use in any case were preventing you from opening them fully, instead had to prop the window open with the shoe shine box they provided. If you had luggage you had to climb over the bed to get in or out of it and if you were using the dressing table again had to go to the bottom of the bed to climb out as there was insufficient room to get out of the bed from that side.

Was expecting quiet tranquil settings, maybe just the noise of birds chirping but was very disappointed which resulted in us not getting much sleep and woken up early in the morning by cars revving their engines.

The room itself apart from being very small was also very dark, the pictures I have taken are all taken with the flash on, 1970’s style tired old formica furniture consisting of a small single wardrobe, 1 bedside table with a small drawer, the other bedside table had a radio which didn't work in the drawer space and a dressing table containing a fridge, a small round table and 2 chairs for you to look at the carpark but you had to wipe the condesation from the windows before you could see out of them.. The way in and out of the room was via a fake leather padded door, which reminded you more of being in a padded cell. Bedroom no bigger than a cupboard at best!

A full size mirror door led you through to the smallest ensuite you could ever imagine. If you wanted to use the toilet you had to sit on it sideways as the space between the toilet front and the bath was just enough for a small child. The towel rail was situated over the bath underneath the shower head and if you turned on the shower without removing the towels first they got soaked, totally impracticable. The shower itself the temperature fluctuated to the point it was either too hot or freezing cold. I am only 5'1" and could reach the bath, sink and toilet without needing to stretch. The bathroom door had to be slammed hard to shut which in the middle of the night you were awoken by other guests doing the same thing in their rooms.

Breakfast was no more than what you can buy off the shelf in a supermarket, all packet processed food and there wasn't enough of it either. Worst of all they allowed dogs into the dining room, which although I have a dog myself I find this totally unhygienic for an hotel, keep them in your hotel room by all means but not in the eating areas. We didn’t want to try the evening cuisine as we were totally put off by the lack of breakfast and expecting to eat alongside animals. The decor in the dining area was shabby trying to mimic Art Decor but totally mixed up.

Upon check out when asked about our stay, whilst I was honest and truthful, again the receptionist tried to blame our poor stay with them as our fault, as she stated they had indicated on the web the square meters and if we wanted a larger room we should have paid for one. As explained it is described as a standard double room and that is what we expected without the excessive noise we had been endured during the 48 hours.

Finally, be mindful the door to the room was difficult to lock and on one occasion the maid walked in without knocking. The safe provided in the room was too high to reach unless you stood on the bed to reach it.

If you want 4 star accommodation don’t stop in this hotel, it is not worth the money you are charged.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

It is a pity that someone may represent the facts entirely in a wrong way: breakfast is 100% fresh. The hotel has been inspected by the official government body and has been rewarded a 4-star rating. It is a real insult to compare this renowed otel as a 1-star.
It is clear that the guest chose a wrong hotel for her needs: the reviewer chose the smallest type of room (and then complaints about the size of it - altough we also have rooms as large as 30 m2), she choose a dog-friendly hotel (altough she does not like pets at all), ... only to give some examples.
If guests have any issues at all, they are invited to go immediately to the staff at our reception. We always try to be as helpfull as possible. We are always happy that we can help. This reviewer did not made any remark whatsoever during here stay, but is now complaining as hell. We are really shocked by such a review. The fact that more than 90% of all of our guests rate us at 85% or more, and this "reviewer" gives us on ALL criteria the smallest possible score, does say enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel/restaurant on the top of one of the only hills in Flanders. The view is simply stunning. Great food and wine with excellent service.
Cycled from Ypres, approx. 40mins., the last 0.5km is hilly - starts at 11% and quickly goes up to 20%, ( I later found another road - but that was 23%) also cobbles (paves) which makes the going tough - I confess to having to push my bicycle at one point. Rising out of the rolling farmland this route is the focal point of the Gent-Wevelgem, one of the one day cycling Classics.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 54richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are happy to read that we have a "wonderful hotel/restaurant" as you stated it. Always welcome back!
Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemmel
6.1 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,337 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#4 of 6 in Poperinge
145 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
435 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
235 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inter Hotel Belle Hotel
Inter Hotel Belle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bailleul
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Kemmelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Kemmelberg

Address: Kemmelbergweg 34, Kemmel, Heuvelland 8956, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Heuvelland > Kemmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kemmel
Price Range: $126 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Kemmelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie Kemmelberg is a 4-star rated hotel located on Flanders highest hill "Kemmelberg". It has 21 rooms of which 11 offer a superb view on the French-Flemish plain. The hotel is ideally located for those who want to have to good rest, a romantic week-end or those who want to visit Ypres, Poperinge, the Belgian coast or Northern-France (Lille, Cassel, Dunkerque, ...). There is also a well known gastronomical restaurant (with the top chef Bart Dhont). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostellerie Kemmelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing