We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Restaurant”

Hostellerie le Roannay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie le Roannay
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Francorchamps
Reviewed October 30, 2013

On our way back from the Nürburgring we stopped here to eat. To our great dissappointment no-one on reception, we could have walked back out with the guests coats without any problem. Only steak frites on the menu left ... which turned out to be quite mediocre and horrendously expensive for a restaurant with no decent table waiting (we had to pour ourselves, no bread until we asked, the 40 EUR for a half botlle of wine was poured on the tablecloth more than in our glasses!) we paid 202 EUR for a 2 course meal (we had a desert also) and drinks. Outrageous. Cannot understand that people give this place a top rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

A very nice carefully looked after and family run hotel with a brilliant restaurant. The staff are very courteous and friendly and look after their guests very well. The rooms are clean and have been modernised with nice decor and new bathrooms. Breakfast is abundant and if you choose to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel you are in for a treat. The food is delicious.

We stayed there when we were racing at Spa - for big/busy events you do pay a premium but the location is perfect, just minutes from the main entrance to the circuit. Easily the best place to stay in Francorchamps.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here with big Dave during the Grand Prix (Jooloos stayed at home - not an F1 fan) and what an experience

Our hosts were exceptional and could teach some five stars a thing or two. The restaurant is superb with excellent service and outstanding cuisine. A rare balance between homely, professional and friendly.

Hard to fault other than the rooms are of slightly variable quality but during quieter times you would be able to pick and choose, I'm sure.

Thanks Roannay, we'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Roannay isn't cheap, and does probably profit by its proximity to the racetrack, but having said that we had an excellent comfortable room with rural views out over the back and away from the traffic noise of the busy road leading up to the track. The restaurant was quiet, but the chef certainly does know his stuff, and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. It will cost you, but a great base if you're visiting the racetrack and want to wind down and eat well after your day of exertion.

Room Tip: Get a room in the separate block away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhinosurfpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hostellerie le Roannay is very close to the Race Track at Spa Francorchamps. This is both a blessing (jolly handy) and a curse (guaranteed trade, therefore no need to solicit revisits).

I stayed with a few friends - a survey of our rooms showed that they ranged from tiny to enormous (I got the tiny one! - why is it always me?). All of our rooms were uniformally very "tired".

We went to the bar and I bought a round of drinks (lovely), a friend bought the next round (lovely) and we then realised that both he and I had been over-charged by 1 euro per drink. The two mistakes were both put down to a mathematical error and were quickly refunded.
When I went to check out a couple of days later, a similar extra 1 euro per drink error seemed to have been noticed by the (English)man in front of me, it was put down to a mathematical error and quickly refunded. It's probably worth diligently checking your bill, particularly if you are paying in English Euros as that seems to be where mathematical errors creep in.

The food at dinner was ok - which was disappointing as the management seemed to think that it would be truely exceptional - I'm guessing they don't get out much. What really let it down was the terrible service, the dated look of the restaurant and the raging heat in the room which left the ladies fanning themselves with menus and the gents growing red and perspiring.
Despite our pleas, the windows could absolutely not be opened and the elderly aircon could not be coaxed into any greater action.

In the mornings there was plenty of good coffee and nice orange juice. Entombed in clingfilm, the breakfast buffet reminded me of Granny's funeral - but Granny would have loved it, she liked her salami and emmental gently sweating.

Pluses - There is free Wifi and a Helipad (Though foolishly I had left both the laptop and the Bell Jet Ranger at home).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ghent, Belgium
14
Reviewed November 22, 2005

We booked a gastronomical weekend for two nights, including a romantic room with a view, 1 four course candle light dinner and 2 breakfasts.

Room: we got a very small room on the attic, 2 by 3 meters, small uncomfortable bed, seperate bathroom, mini-bar and a small TV.

Four course candle light dinner: 1 artificial candle lamp, our table was just adjacent to the kitchen with a lot of staff passing by all the time, not really a romantic experience! The food was average. The wine list was quite extensive, but extremely expensive! Staff was rather clumsy.

Breakfast: no remarks

Conclusion: little value for money

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fklein2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francorchamps
0.1 mi away
Le Relais de Pommard
Le Relais de Pommard
#3 of 5 in Francorchamps
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Source
Hotel de la Source
#1 of 5 in Francorchamps
181 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
#5 of 14 in Spa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#2 of 5 in Francorchamps
26 reviews
4.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Roannay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Roannay

Address: Rue de Spa 155, Francorchamps 4970, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Francorchamps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Francorchamps
Price Range: $159 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie le Roannay 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culinary hotel and restaurant. Family business Regular changes in 3 different style buildings Louis VI, Ardennes and modern Located at the entrance of the village of Francorchamps E42 Exit nr 10 At 800 m from the Francorchamps circuit A 7 km of Spa, Malmedy and Stavelot 10 minutes of Aqualis, (the Thermes de Spa) and the Golf. Francorchamps is a village surrounded by woods and walks Nearby Hautes Fagnes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie le Roannay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing