We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rosebank Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace in the garden taken in may The front of Rosebank cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The terrace in the garden taken in may
The front of Rosebank cottage
Morning sun in the bedroom
morning sun
Stairs and Backdoor
always a warm bedroom
lots of storage space for a couple
Hot water is always available
The window with the view of the garden
a modern kitchen
a modern fitted kitchen
the open plan downstairs
Arnside Knott seen over the cottage from the garden
another aspect from the garden
An open space in the village just yards from the cottage
Only 5 minutes walk from the cottage. Downhill on your way back!
Visitors are welcomed at the bowling green, between the cottage and the Royal Oak
The Royal Oak, Newton Fell, and Lindale bowling club.
Newton Fell from the top of the village
Linda churchyard is a special place for snowdrops
The approach to Lindale churchyard
This waterfall is in Lindale village
Winster valley and fells from above the village
Wildflowers in the Winster valley
looking over Lindale to the sea from the top of Hampsfell
Cartmel Valley and fells from Hampsfell
The top of Hampsfell, between Lindale, Grange and Cartmel
From Newton Fell
Looking up Windermere from the water's edge
Beautiful in winter too!
A classic view up Lake Windermere
Nearby Bigland Estate for riding and fishing
Sunset across Windermere from Langdale Chase Hotel
Windermere steamer approaching Lakeside
a summer sunset across Windermere
Gardens line the promenade between Grange and the station.
Grange promenade, looking towards the station and across to Arnside
High tide near Grange
Unusually high tide
Hazelmere, near Grange station, is famous for its range of teas
there's a choice of tea and coffee places in Grange, here on the parade near the station
All sorts of more and less exotic wildfowl are seen in the park by Grange station
A famous shop in Grange
Chocolori on Grange Main Street
Another interesting food retailer in Grange
Side view of Cartmel priory
Cartmel village is also the home of sticky toffee pudding
Humphry head is at the tip of the peninsula between Cark and Allithwaite. Great  bay views!
Arnside Knott from Grange
The Swan at Newby Bridge has this outside terrace
The bridge by the Swan at Newby Bridge
Lakeside pier for the Windermere steamers.
The Lakeside Hotel is 6 miles away and famous for afternoon teas and its conservatory.
Terrace at Lakeside Hotel
Steamer at Lakeside
Up the lake from Lakeside
Gummer How, seen here from Lakeside pier, is a very short climb to a classic panorama
Fairfield seen from a viewpoint near High Dam, Finsthwaite
Buttercup meadow near Cartmel
Cow parsley in the Cartmel valley
Hawthorn near Hampsfield, above Lindale village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lindale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melanie W
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Spent cosy new year here. Everything was as described and we are already recommending the cottage to friends.
Will definitely be back! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Thank you for your review Melanie.
I'm so glad you liked the cottage and enjoyed your stay there.
I look forward to hearing from you and your friends again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thanks for your comments/compliments.
It's so nice to hear visitors have enjoyed their hols and liked our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet F
Nice, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Sweet little cottage in a terrace of seven stone cottages. Surprising spacious inside especially bedroom and bathroom. Every comfort and convenience but I would never attempt to climb the garden as I am not a mountaineer. A tranquil village and the beauty of the countryside goes without saying

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
I'm so glad you liked the cottage.
The garden does have steep steps to the flat sitting area and is on a sleep bank. It has the advantage of being quite a sun trap so that it can be very warm to sit outside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire1...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We love Cumbria!”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It was a really enjoyable week at Rosebank Cottage, it was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The weather was perfect apart from one rainy day. Grange-over-Sands was only a few minutes away in the car, with some lovely places to eat and wee shops too. We travelled to Windermere and also visited Beatrix Potter land, as I have always been one of her many fans. I just wish we had been able to stay longer! Many thanks to the owners
for our most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the cottage
Liked least: The back garden was a bit steep, we did not venture up to the garden table and chairs but there was some lovely flowers and plants to see from the back door,
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
Thanks very much for this review. We're glad you found the cottage comfortable and enjoyed Cumbria.
We love Grange-over-Sands too, with its independent shops and lots of lovely cafes and bakery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemima H
1 review
“Lovely cottage in an excellent location.”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I spent 4 fab days here, this was our first trip to the lake district. The cottage had everything we needed. ( even spare rain coats which came in handy!) And was in an ideal location to see much of the lake district. Would recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and liked the cottage and location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely 5 day stay at this lovely one bedroom cottage in Lindale. It was spotless and had everything we needed. For a couple it was ideal for our needs - nice and quiet and a short drive away from the busy tourist areas. Loads of information was provided by the owner with lots of maps for cycles & walks provided in the cottage. We would have no hesitation in staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weraizabe...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my boyfriend spent three nights over Easter holidays in the cottage, we enjoyed it lots. It is simple but anything you might need is provided, the bedroom and bathroom are of good size and the whole place was very clean. The owner was helpful in providing answers to my questions by email. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing