We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in quiet location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rosebank Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace in the garden taken in may The front of Rosebank cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The terrace in the garden taken in may
The front of Rosebank cottage
Morning sun in the bedroom
morning sun
Stairs and Backdoor
always a warm bedroom
lots of storage space for a couple
Hot water is always available
The window with the view of the garden
a modern kitchen
a modern fitted kitchen
the open plan downstairs
Arnside Knott seen over the cottage from the garden
another aspect from the garden
An open space in the village just yards from the cottage
Only 5 minutes walk from the cottage. Downhill on your way back!
Visitors are welcomed at the bowling green, between the cottage and the Royal Oak
The Royal Oak, Newton Fell, and Lindale bowling club.
Newton Fell from the top of the village
Linda churchyard is a special place for snowdrops
The approach to Lindale churchyard
This waterfall is in Lindale village
Winster valley and fells from above the village
Wildflowers in the Winster valley
looking over Lindale to the sea from the top of Hampsfell
Cartmel Valley and fells from Hampsfell
The top of Hampsfell, between Lindale, Grange and Cartmel
From Newton Fell
Looking up Windermere from the water's edge
Beautiful in winter too!
A classic view up Lake Windermere
Nearby Bigland Estate for riding and fishing
Sunset across Windermere from Langdale Chase Hotel
Windermere steamer approaching Lakeside
a summer sunset across Windermere
Gardens line the promenade between Grange and the station.
Grange promenade, looking towards the station and across to Arnside
High tide near Grange
Unusually high tide
Hazelmere, near Grange station, is famous for its range of teas
there's a choice of tea and coffee places in Grange, here on the parade near the station
All sorts of more and less exotic wildfowl are seen in the park by Grange station
A famous shop in Grange
Chocolori on Grange Main Street
Another interesting food retailer in Grange
Side view of Cartmel priory
Cartmel village is also the home of sticky toffee pudding
Humphry head is at the tip of the peninsula between Cark and Allithwaite. Great  bay views!
Arnside Knott from Grange
The Swan at Newby Bridge has this outside terrace
The bridge by the Swan at Newby Bridge
Lakeside pier for the Windermere steamers.
The Lakeside Hotel is 6 miles away and famous for afternoon teas and its conservatory.
Terrace at Lakeside Hotel
Steamer at Lakeside
Up the lake from Lakeside
Gummer How, seen here from Lakeside pier, is a very short climb to a classic panorama
Fairfield seen from a viewpoint near High Dam, Finsthwaite
Buttercup meadow near Cartmel
Cow parsley in the Cartmel valley
Hawthorn near Hampsfield, above Lindale village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lindale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Weraizabe...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my boyfriend spent three nights over Easter holidays in the cottage, we enjoyed it lots. It is simple but anything you might need is provided, the bedroom and bathroom are of good size and the whole place was very clean. The owner was helpful in providing answers to my questions by email. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debstar59
Ruthin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage in a lovely little village, a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Rosebank Cottage is in Lindale, a lovely, peaceful little village not far from Grange Over Sands. The village has a shop and post office and stocks essentials at a reasonable price. We stopped on the way up in Carnforth, where there are three big supermarkets. The cottage is comfortable and warm- gas central heating and a log burner- and has a nice modern bathroom, a king sized double bed ,a comfortable living room and a well equipped kitchen. Free WIFI too! There are plenty of walks in the area and Grange Over Sands is a short drive or an easy walk- go up via Hampsfell Hospice for some wonderful views across the estuary. We took a train over to Leighton Moss RSPB Reserve and Arnside- well worth the trip. A wonderful holiday I would definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfort of the cottage,great area, excellent location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie_J...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, booked a little last minute. The owner has been fantastic at responding quickly and giving you all required information.

The cottage is gorgeous, I loved it. The photos don't really do it justice (I trusted all the other fantastic trip advisor reviews and was so glad I did). Perfect for a couple having a quiet cosy holiday.

Well furnished and has everything you need. Including a fantastic shower and wood burning stove after a long days walk. Great location. I was very pleased with my stay here! Thanks so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argent68
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable,warm and very good value for money”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just what we wanted.
Wi Fi,wood burner ,CH VERY GOOD,nice sitting out area if your fit!
Would def use again if in tho area.
Comfortable bed.
Very happy

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibor913
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, as described, very valuable accomodation”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have spent a lovely long weekend here. A very comfortable, tidy, very well equipped cottage we have got. I appreciated the really accurate Users Manual what was given us.

The cottage is located in a good place to do walk around, or travelling to other places in Lake District.

It was an unforgettable time there, thank you very much. Very recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
Thank you for this review we are very pleased you liked the cottage and the area and had a nice stay. June
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglophil...
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“A comfortable peaceful cottage with all mod cons.”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A comfortable peaceful cottage quaint stone building and yet modernised including wifi, tv, stereo, cd, ch. A beautiful garden which catches the sun up steep steps at the back. Easy parking on the road. It is in the quiet village of Lindale with 2 pubs and 1 shop. It is a perfect cottage for one or two people but it is in Lindale, a village near Grange, which is a far cry from the car-dominated Grange, and for me, much preferable, but it should be listed as Lindale and not as Grange. It is not in itself a particularly beautiful part of the Lake District but it is a great place for a base.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2014
I'm very glad you liked the cottage and village. You are right this is not the centre of the Lakes but it has its own beauty with 360 degree views over Morecambe Bay and the Lakes, beautiful woods and wild flowers, - and quite a lot less rainfall!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShillM
North Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I spent a lovely week in Rosebank Cottage. The cottage was lovely and had everything that you required. The cottage was set in a neat little row, just off the main road. There were two local pubs, one going uphill called the Royal Oak and the other being downhill called the Lindale Inn.
This was a lovely spot to visit all the tourist areas. We visited several pubs on our travels, one of the most memorable was at Ambleside where the pub was right on the water front and could sit in the gardens on lovely wooden chair swings.
Everyone we met were very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing