We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonnenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sonnenhof
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perl
Certificate of Excellence
Passau
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Upon arriving, there was an array of slightly more expensive cars parking directly in front of the entrance (God forbid you have to park it where nobody can see it...). Upon entering, the hotel reception had a sign to walk to the bar area for checkin. Somebody was with us and they showed us through a labirynth of hallways to our room. A few loose electrical wires dangling from the neatly painted ceiling were visible on the way.
The room had a waterbed, which on one side was pretty warm, even though the temperature was set to low. Quickly crawling underneath the bed and unplugging helped to solve the problem. Outside we had 36°C so sleeping on a sauna bed is not ideal. Anyway.
I neatly unpacked my smartphone charger, plugged it into the outlet next to the bed. No power... Didn't I just unplug something else and thus create a free working outlet? yups, so plugged it in underneath the bed and lo and behold : power.
The room did not have airconditioning, but was not scorching hot either. The rooms look great, are neatly kept clean. Some rooms have the welcome map with hotel infos, some don't.
Wlan is there, albeit in a rather moderate signal strenght. If you got signal, don't move.
The bathroom is modern, but has some beauty flaws. One of the shower doors was unhinged near the bottom and gave the impression of falling down any second now. And the shower floor is so slippery that I felt I was slowly moving whilst standing still. be careful there.

Bar service forgot us once in the evening after ordering drinks. After about 40 minutes they noticed somethign was wrong and brought the drinks slightly later.

At breakfast, the same happened. Upon ordering eggs and bacon, nothing happened. I had to ask again whereupon the breakfast was served a few minutes later. Strange, since both in the evening and in the morning there were hardly any guests left and the staff was not stressed.

On checking out, they had to crosscheck with management, because one of our party had ordered a single room, but was given a double room. So things were not that clear, but it posed not too much of a problem.

All in all, not bad for the rpice, but expect not to be pampered like a king either. Don't get me wrong, it's a good hotel, but make sure to find a few flaws and do contact the management to direct their attention to certain points.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
33
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our 2nd stay at this small excellent hotel.  It is situated easily for an enroute nightstop from/to the UK just over the border into Germany from Luxemborg . It offers great value in a modern, spotless, nicely decorated hotel with its own restaurant which seems, on both our visits, to also be frequented by local people eating out.  It is in the countryside so you would have to drive to any nearby towns or villages.   The restaurant served excellent food and wine and breakfast the next morning had a good continental selection.  Great value for money.   Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAZ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Food is average (standard, not inspiring and all a bit overcooked) but all other is perfect. Family run, friendly staff, wifi (stil not standard in Germany), clean rooms, quite, good breakfast, ... perfect to stay 2-3 nights when you are in the area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mephi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very welcoming friendly hotel. Recent renovation of a much older building. Plentiful parking. Short distance from Autobahn. On a quiet local road. Higher number rooms even quieter as further from road. Rooms large and spacious. All in excellent condition with comfortable beds, desk, large TV, occasional chairs and small table. Large bottle of water in room on arrival very welcome after long drive across Europe.

Room Tip: Rooms at back would have less noise as further from small local road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjsr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljusdal, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Nice, spacious rooms, tastefully furnished. The staff was very firendly and we loved the food in a hotel restaurant. The prices of the food were very acceptable. The position of the hotel is excellent - it's very close to a three-border (Germany, Luxembourg, France) and therefore very convenient if you wish to explore around. But you definitely need a car. Quiet location and enough parking space.
Highly recommended. Would definetely like to come again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurgena, Spain
Level Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had broken down en route to the hotel and arrived wet, cold, tired and distressed. The management and staff could not do enough for us and continued to excel during our prolonged stay. The owners helped us with communications to our Insurers and even loaned us a car for a low rate.This hotel ticks all the boxes for comfort, food, friendliness etc. It is well positioned for discovering the Saar, Luxembourg and the Moselle a much overlooked and beautiful region.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alcazares48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
299 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Perfect German gasthaus. Ultra-chic renovations in an old building. The room was large by European standards with a large LCD TV with satellite channels, free internet, and a waterbed! The restaurant was nicely decorated with an atrium. The food was pretty good too, but breakfast, although adequate, wasn't the largest spread I've ever had in Germany. The only downside is location. Perfect for folks with cars with parking on site, but it's located right off the main road into the village, and you can hear the road traffic with the windows open (not a problem in March, but in the summer I imagine it would be a hindrance...no AC in room). Not sure what there is to do for fun in the immediate area, but I used this as a midway overnighter, and I was pleasantly surprised how great it was.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaytonJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perl
3.6 mi away
Landhotel Saarschleife
Landhotel Saarschleife
#1 of 1 in Orscholz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.7 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Schloss Berg
3.4 mi away
Hotel Perler Hof
Hotel Perler Hof
#2 of 2 in Perl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Le Domaine de La Klauss
Le Domaine de La Klauss
#1 of 1 in Montenach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
20.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Linslerhof
Romantik Hotel Linslerhof
#1 of 2 in Ueberherrn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Laux
Hotel Laux
#1 of 3 in Merzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenhof

Property: Hotel Sonnenhof
Address: Merziger Str. 3, 66706 Perl, Saarland, Germany
Location: Germany > Saarland > Perl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonnenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing