We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever!”
Review of Sa Muvara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sa Muvara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aritzo
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We are a tour operator and stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years. This hotel has a tranquil setting in the mountains, lovely rooms, fabulous swimming pool and best of all some of the best food I have tasted! All local produce served by friendly, happy staff!
We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a swimming pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    35
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
63
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Our stay was only four days 15 bikers on an organised tour with MCI tours of manchester uk.The rooms were fantastic massive room two big beds balcony and big bathroom.The welcome was tip top the food beautiful and great portions and local ingredients like wild pig (boar).The hotel had good parking even sheds for our bikes and a hosepipe and sponge to wash the bugs off your bike/car.Large outdoor pool with bar the place is so relaxed at night they put a sign up saying pool bar closed however all the optics with spirits in and fridges with beer in were not locked or even covered up.If you love beautiful scenery and mountain roads with lots of sweeping curves and a new fabulous vista around every corner this is the place to go. Minimal traffic no speed cameras drivers/bikers heaven.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackarrowthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

For walking, a great base but after 5 days, I ran out of walks and had to resort to the car to find more. Mid-September, all hotel restaurants are closed down bar one, a lively Pizzeria at the bottom of the village - good value, great a la carte menu and seemed to be populated by the village folk, kids and all, which was a good sign. Hotel food was poor for breakfast, less and less choice as week went on. Dinners were overly priced and for Euros 40 you'd need an enormous gastronomic appetite to enjoy all courses and feel value for money, (but I am a Scot). The hotel itself is well appointed, nice friendly staff, beautiful swimming pool, but the steep slopes and outdoor steps are not for pensioners of a certain age. Two final points:- Guard dogs reside in the neighbourhood and if you are a light sleeper, nighttime barking could be a problem. If you venture out into the area of the famous old chestnut trees, (nowhere near the hotel), beware a wild horse - I was almost crushed by it when it reared up on it's hind legs. Apart from that incident, I had a lovely refreshing week in Aritzo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iassilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On trent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We only stayed a night as we were touring the island and thought a night in the mountains would be fun ! its a lovely hotel, we were upgraded to a junior suite as due to it being early on in the season i think we were the only guests ! Nice and roomy with the bedroom on a mezzanine and lots of lovely carved wardrobes etc. There was also a lovely pool area and view - although there was still a nip in the air so we werent able to partake ! As there are no real restaurants to speak of in Aritzo (plenty of shops to buy chain saws though!) we ate in the hotel at night. It was a lovely cosy bar / dining room area warmed by the glow from the log burner - it was a very nice meal of typical italian rusticefayre. The staff are also very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123gilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aritzo
28.3 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
907 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Miramonti Seulo
65.0 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Galanias Hotel & Retreat Domos Galanas
68.5 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
897 reviews
68.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Muvara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Muvara Hotel

Property: Sa Muvara Hotel
Address: Loc.Funtana Rubia, 08031 Aritzo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Aritzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aritzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Muvara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sa Muvara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Muvara Hotel Aritzo, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing