We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
40
21
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
40
21
6
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018

I was taken to this hotel on a trip round the Baltic coast. I loved it.It is in fact a sort of manor house, not a castle, completely surrounded by a moat, tucked away on Usedom in a small village but with it's own approach road and surrounded outside the moat by leafy walks into the countryside. My room was on the first floor, a good size, perfectly adequately furnished and a view over the front towards a building outside the grounds where I was enchanted to see my first stork and later, little stork heads, appearing above the nest. ( We don't have them in the UK). Breakfasts were excellent, served in a conservatory overlooking the moat and the tree beyond and included in the price. Having just stayed at 2 hotels were breakfast was not included and where rooms cost twice as much, I thought this was terrific value. The courtyard in front is set out with tables and chairs for eating out if the weather's good and attracts people for morning coffee from the moment that it opens but one didn't feel that the place was overrun. The restaurant was a bit gloomy but the food was good on the evening we ate there. If I had a writing project which required getting away from distractions, this would be an ideal place.

Room tip: 1st floor rooms may be larger
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SerafinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We had never been to the island of Usedom, so we were unsure where the "best" place or area to stay might be. We decided to look for something smack in the middle and found the Wasserschloss Mellenthin, which actually advertises as "Usedom's Center".
The Hotel is in a modern/ized wing of the old castle, while the ground floor of the 16th century castle proper is reserved for restaurant and bar. A beautiful center courtyard offers al fresco dining (or coffee and pastries.) A second wing is reserved for event gastronomy, breakfast buffet, the brewery and a small gift shop.
The entire grounds just exude serenity - unless you come for one of the special event buffet style dinners which happen Tuesday through Saturday. Apart from delicious food there is themed entertainment, as in kids-fun pirate night, oldies night, secrets of beer-brewing with an interesting talk by their master brewer, Pomeranian night and others. These events draw large crowds of day-guests and diners who usually leave around 9 pm, after which time you can go back to feeling like the chatelain/e, quietly enjoying yourself nestled into one of the typically German "Strandkörbe" (a type of canvas-roofed wicker beach loveseat recliner) and enjoying some of their yummy homebrew or their homemade soda.
The grounds are absolutely spectacular and punting on the reconstructed moat is a special treat - as is breakfast on the gorgeous breakfast deck overlooking moat and hills.
Rooms are modern (don't expect canopied four-poster renaissance fair lodging!) appropriately sized by European standards and meticulously clean with on-suite three quarter baths.
Food is delicious, as a house guest you get to decide whether you want to do the buffet events or have a pre-set three-course dinner. We've found them very responsive if we felt like making changes to any of the courses.
Our only complaint was their WiFi connections - while free in-room WiFi is provided, the connection is SO BAD that we were barely able to check emails, let alone surf or stream. My understanding is that that's in part due to the generally bad broadband internet connectivity on the island. Maybe it doesn't register as a pressing matter since most of the clientele seem to be vacationing best-agers and not business people dependent on fast and reliable internet.
The most amazing part that has you feel utterly appreciated and pampered is the staff - every single one of the people that took care of us, from the bridge-guard to reception to waiters to the lady in the wellness department were genuinely, utterly and wonderfully attentive, friendly, accomodating, at times chatty, fun, quick, knowledegable, helpful, professional and laid-back.
We had one of the best European vacations of our lives in Mellenthin and we'll definitely try to come back!

Room tip: Rooms facing the moat are quieter than those facing towards the courtyard.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tashadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

not a real castle compared with many of the beautiful German castles and castle hotels. Totally commercialized tourist place. Hotel rooms small.,poorly furnished, no decoration. Free wifi on 2nd floor did not work, was moved to 1st floor, but still no wifi connection, only worked on one of the two chairs in front of the reception. Neither indoor nor ourdoor restaurants had working wifi. Staff very unhelpful.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HilmarZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the middle of the mostly German Island of Wolin, that sits at the mouth of river Oder as it empties into the Baltic Sea, there is a miniscule village of Mellenthin, whose name alone sounds as if it has come from Tolkien’s books. In this typically German clean and tidy settlement you will find a charming little old village church with remains of wall paintings as well as beautifully painted benches. Well worth a visit. But the real treasure is the 17th century Wasserschloss (water castle) some 3 min away from the church along a cobbled alley shaded by old lime trees. The short walk itself is magical in early July when the warm air is saturated with sweet perfume of the lime flowers and the humming of bees overhead. There is a spacious car park at the end but it does get crowded as from 11am people flock there from all over the island and perhaps beyond. Entry fee:2Euro unless you are a Hotel guest. The Schloss is not a museum but a hotel(left wing), restaurant/café (the right and center) as well as a brewery. They also roast their own coffee and bake their own waffles, which you can order for your afternoon tea. This remote corner of Germany is still undiscovered by international tourists and it is predominantly aimed at domestic(German) customers. This perhaps explains why all information is in German, which is a pity and an inconvenience. But who can blame them? We have only come across a few Poles who hopped across the border to visit the immaculately clean German seaside resorts of Ahlbeck, Heringsdorf, Bansin and others. On the plus side basic English is widely spoken though it does help to know a bit of German. We stayed at the Hotel for a couple of nights this being our base for seeing more of the Island. Our room was not the top range as the hotel is rather pricey but certainly very comfortable and clean; spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, flat screen TV(only German channels), a safe. All the fittings, woodwork etc. was of high quality and nice design. There was also a sun terrace (sonnentarace) at the end of our floor. The food was fantastic. Continental breakfast with excellent coffee. We deliberately returned to the Castle to have afternoon tea (in fact it was coffee) there instead of having anything di veloce along the way. Romantic dinner was the conclusion of the day and a must. Service was excellent to the point they remembered our preferences with regard to food and drink and the table we would chose to sit at. And you could sit in the inner courtyard, on the terrace by the moat or inside where shining copper and brass working(!) brewery tanks are on display as yet another attraction. The restaurant in general is located in the right wing(if you face the Schloss) which is also a working brewery. How clever is that?! In some evenings there is life music/entertainment; in German of course. In a little castle shop you can buy the beer and other castle produce. When we had our dinner on the terrace we could observe fox cubs frolicking in the meadow across the moat, a vixen trotting along it, ravens, white storks, numerous song birds-a veritable paradise! The Schloss and its small rear garden and lawn is surrounded by a moat. Beyond there is yet another circular path leading on to the ancient wood and then right or left along fields and meadows. On the island of Wolin there are innumerable cycling routs (bicycles for hire everywhere incl. the Schloss), some of them very scenic, which we unfortunately had now time to explore. We visited instead some of the immaculate seaside resorts. Not too crowded I am happy to say and the quality of Baltic sand is the best in the world! The sea can be freezing though. Getting to Wolin should not be too difficult as German motorways are the best in Europe and taking a detour in this direction will transport you to a different time plane and offer you a unique experience you are not going to forget.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews