We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing chalet holiday”

Review of Chalet Chamois

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Les Coches, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gabrielle...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing chalet holiday”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Initial enquiry dealt with professionally, subsequent emails prompt and contained all information required for lift passes, ski hire and lessons. Transfer pick up on time. Chalet hosts Craig and Caoimhe were brilliant, friendly, nothing too much trouble, food was amazing, and they joined in the fun of snow fight and sledging with the children. Due to snow conditions didn't get to ski in ski out until the last day but they put on lifts to the chair every morning and afternoon, Russell was great. Overall one of the best chalet holidays we have been on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, hosts and hot tub after a day skiing
Liked least: Lack of snow but beyond alpine 365 control
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2014
Thank you so much, Gabi, for your lovely words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that at least you got to enjoy one day of the huge snowfall. Hope to see you another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsparks
thame
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great chalet for ski holiday”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We've stayed in many catered chalets in the past, including Pisteside (also operated by Alpine365 and situated next door to Chamois in Les Coches) and it's one of the best. We were lucky as we had the biggest room (on the bottom floor with the bath) and an amazing chalet team this year - (chef for the 2013/14 season has a previous appearance on professional masterchef!). Chalet is brilliantly situated - really ski in/ski out and easily spacious enough for 8. Hot tub also has a magnificent view of Mont Blanc. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelb2013
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I have been on a number of skiing trips, each time staying in a catered chalet so I sort of thought I knew what to expect.
However Chalet Chamois tops them all. It is situated within metres of the piste so easy access at the beginning and end of each day. The village is a mere ten minute walk away. The chalet is very comfortable and warm with each of its four bedrooms being en-suite. But what topped it all were the two employees, Naimh the Chalet Host and Robbie the Chef. They were great fun. Naimh was delightful and kept the place clean and ticking over nicely. Robbie's cooking was second to none. It was like eating in a Michelin star restaurant every night. Superb.
On the last evening as we were all sitting in the hot tub sipping bubbly, watching the sun go down on Mont Blanc, we were wondering what we would say if we were asked by Duncan (who runs Alpine365) for any suggestions that would have made our stay better. We could honestly think of nothing. Well done Robbie, Niamh, Duncan and Russell. It was a week to remember.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureAkel...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I couldn't wait to review my Alpine365 experience & am doing so sat on the wonderful sun terrace overlooking the piste.

Communication with Toorna during the booking process & prior to our arrival was super, helpful & patient. Directions for our drive up were great & we parked just outside the chalet for free.

Robbie, our passionate chef, has surprised us with delicious, innovative meals, knocked up soup & sandwiches for lunch at the drop of a hat & accommodated special diets. Niamh, our host, is friendly, helpful & competent. Both have entertained us with games, dispensed piste tips and made us feel so welcome that we won't want to leave.

The snow is rapidly melting but we have still been able to ski from just below the chalet to the red Coches run down to Plan Bois chair lift, & back in. The location gives easy access to both La Plagne & Les Arc. We are glad that we bought a Paradiski pass enabling us to explore both areas depending on which had better snow each day.

The walk down to Les Coches village centre is ice free at the moment & my PB back up is 7 mins. But it is very steep & not for the faint hearted, especially when snowy/icy.

We definitely hope to be back & hope that Toorna & Duncan are lucky enough to find staff as excellent as Robbie & Niamh for next season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishro...
Wickham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, top rate food and one of our best family holidays!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just returned from a week at Chalet Chamois with friends, and it has been a wonderful week. The chef , Robbie (who takes massive pride in his work) and host Niamh (the kids LOVED and she was always friendly) , made our stay there truly relaxing and couldn't have worked harder to make it a great holiday.
From arranging ski rental in chalet on the night we arrived, getting our ski passes for us and arranging airport transfers, nothing was too much trouble.
The chalet itself is beautiful and with 4 double bedrooms each with an ensuite, our group of 7 was very comfortable. The hot tub was a particular favourite to soak weary ski bones. We would definitely recommend this company and chalet and hope to return ourselves next year. Thanks Alpine365 team!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Friendliness of staff and amazing food.
Liked least: We were warned in advance, but the short ski out is on a red run and not good for beginners.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinotnoir...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury in the Alps”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

For my Dad's 70th birthday, the family clubbed together to buy him a ski trip. Dad hadn't been skiing for a few years and since it was his 70th, we wanted something a bit special.

So after a bit of research by my brother, we decided on Chalet Chamois.

I've stayed in catered chalets in France a few times but this is definitely more luxurious than others I've stayed in before.

The service we received was absolutely excellent. Hannah couldn't do enough for us and was full of helpful advice and tips for us. She even gave us an extra special show by flying down the stairs on the first night with a tray of champagne glasses!

Robbie (or as my neice called him all week) was out chef for the week. His food was definitely of a superior quality and more modern than other chalets I have stayed in before. He had quite a difficult job as my sister in law eats not gluten, dairy or meat and I don't eat cheese or prawns. However, every night he had a different surprise for us. Everything from moules mariniere a to pea tart for pudding! It was all fabulous. Hannah also made some amazing cakes which were dairy and gluten free.

The chalet is pretty luxurious. There are three really nice sized rooms with lovely, big en suite bathrooms. Our room was the fourth room and it was pretty small and the bathroom was even smaller. Probably more suited to a children's room rather than two adults.

The best bit about the chalet was the amazing view. It looked out over the mountains to Mont Blanc and was completely stunning. Even better viewed from the chalet's outside hot tub. And although my neice was not at all sure why we were having a bath in the garden, we lived watching the sun turn the mountains pink as it set whilst sipping wine in the tub.

The chalet was a 15 minute walk from Les Coches centre. You can ski directly out of the chalet to the ski lifts which take you to La Plagne and also Les Arcs. However, as the first run is a red, although beginners can ski back to the chalet, it's quite tough to ski out.

There is a navette shuttle bus that runs into the centre and the ski lifts. However, it's pretty infrequent and the walk is really hard work with skis and boots. Duncan was really kind and offered us a lift a couple of days, but again, he was quite limited to the times he could give us a lift which didn't really fit around the beginner's lessons.

Les Coches dies have lots of nice blue runs though that are ideal for learners and Toorna was really helpful with booking lessons. We had 121 lessons and our instructor, Janic, was excellent.

Would definitely recommend this for ski groups looking for a bit of luxury.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyLaird
Aberdeen, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb. Fantastic relaxing chalet with great hosts & location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just returned from a week in Les Coches which was fantastic. The chalet was all we were hoping for and the hosts, Hannah & Robbie, were excellent. in addition toorna, Duncan & Russ were always helping out if needed, whether showing us around or helping us get the kids to ski school.
We stayed in the chalet as a group with another family, so we had 4 adults & 4 kids between 5 & 8 and the chalet was great for this as it gave us space to spread out and give the kids room to play. The rooms and bathrooms are all very nice and there's a great boot room with a heater to warm your boots first thing in the morning and a private hot tub with great views of the piste & mountain views.
It is the people involved that made the whole experience special however, and by the time we left we felt as if we had come to know both Hannah & Robbie having had them look after us so well - especially the kids. They had food cooked for them slightly earlier so that we could get them into bed at a decent time before sitting down ourselves for a superb meal every night, and the accompanying wine was also extremely palatable!
The chalet is in a great location in the village and easy to find considering we had not been there before and neither had the driver of the van we were in. It is ski in/out, but we took advanatge of the availability in the van to get the kids to school in the morning to avoid a tricky start - fine for competent skiers but beginners might struggle a bit.
Overall we cannot recommend this chalet, and everyone with Alpine 365, highly enough if you're looking for a family friendly holiday with great food and a wonderful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Hosts, location, chalet & superb food
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing