We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful chalet run by the very friendly, helpful and welcoming Steve & Anna”
Review of Chalet Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Allues
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Madeleine
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful chalet run by the very friendly, helpful and welcoming Steve & Anna”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the lovely Chalet Madeleine and it did not dissapoint. Anna's cooking is amazing, we were so gutted to be leaving the day before the French Onion Soup and the Tarteflet was served. Steve and Anna are both brilliant hosts, with a wealth of local knowledge and a great sense of humour and nothing is too much trouble for them. The Chalet itself is lovely and clean and warm and welcoming with everything you need for your mountain escape. Anna & Steve will look after you with a 5* service. This was our second time at Chalet Madeleine and I don't believe it will be our last. Thank you both for making another memorable trip so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hosts, very helpful with local info on runs, mountain restaurants etc. Nothing too much trouble for them. Anna's cooking skills fabulous! All meals superb. Chalet very clean, lovely views all round.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kathy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the minute Anna picked us up at the airport and we arrived at Chalet Madeline we knew we were going to have a good time - what we didn't realise was quite how much! The chalet is extremely clean and comfortable and Anna and Steve are great hosts - they are such a mine of information. We were so very well looked after with excellent food and company (Steve's tales are very entertaining) and we did not want for anything. Our bedroom on the top floor was spacious and very comfortable. We shared a bathroom and in an ideal world would have preferred our own (hence the room rating). That said sharing was a small price to pay for all the other great things about Chalet Madeline. This chalet was by far and away the best we've stayed in and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just arrived back from a skiing holiday at Chalet Madeleine (2nd Feb 2013). Steve and Anna are brilliant hosts, from the moment they picked our party of 5 up from the airport we were made to feel welcome. Can't praise Steve and Anna enough, their chalet is 5 * luxury with a homely and relaxed feel. They are a very hard working team, every aspect of our holiday had been thought through to make it an enjoyable experience for all their guests. Anna's cooking is exceptional and the apres ski cake is delicious (thanks Anna, even after 5 days hard skiing I still managed to gain 3lbs!) and with 10 years experience of French living, Steve and Anna's knowledge of the mountain meant we got to experience all the best runs and lunch stops, whatever the weather through at us. If you want to enjoy the vast ski area of the 3 Valleys, enjoy being pampered and making new friends, then this is the place for you. No wonder Steve and Anna have sooooo many repeat guests - I will definitely be one of them!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the fifth time in four years that I have stayed here. The chalet is run by an English couple who provide an excellent base for skiing in the winter or cycling in the summer. The quality of the welcome, accommodation and food is only matched by the skiing opportunities. Incroyable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StEllesmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife & I met Steve & Anna on a cycling holiday in Spain, a bit of a bus mans holiday for Steve, but during the week, as we got to know a bit about them & what they offered for cycling holidays in France the seeds of a future cycling holiday were well & truly planted !
The result was that we decided to book a week doing the Classic Climbs of the Alps & have to say it was absolutely fantastic.
Steve & Anna are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Anna is an excellent cook & is does the support vehicle job so well its like having your own soigneur. Steve is an excellent guide offering encouragement to riders of all abilities throughout the week to ensure everyone gets the most out of the wonderful routes that are ridden in this beautiful area.
I've been fortunate to have cycled in quite few different places in Europe but this is without doubt The Best !
Note; they also do skiing holidays which are also fantastic !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I met Steve on a cycling event in the Alps in 2011 where I won a competition and the prize was a week at his chalet cycling in the alps.
August 2012 I came here to experience cycling here and it is by far the best week of my life.
The chalet is fantastic, very homely and Steve & Anna and sidekick Ben have been brilliant hosts. Food is amazing, clean chalet and rooms are lovely.
Cycling was brilliant, you can learn about drafting, climbing, sprinting etc from Steve & Ben. We did big climbs of the Tour de France and one 165km flat race to Annecy & back.
I have learnt a lot about cycling and myself on this trip and can't reccomend this place enough. If you want a challenge then this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanscottSRMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Allues hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#14 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#12 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
2.6 mi away
Le Grand Chalet Des Pistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Madeleine

Property: Chalet Madeleine
Address: route du Villard, 73550, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Les Allues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely chalet situated in the charming village of Les Allues, Meribel. Owner run, Chalet Madeleine is set on 3 levels and consists of 5 spacious bedrooms, 3 toilets & bathrooms, a comfortable lounge with TV, Xbox, Wii, DVD's and IPod Docking Station. The chalet is also fitted with free broadband Internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing