We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ombremont
Nearby Hotels
Savoy Hotel(Le Bourget-du-Lac)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Irisynes(Viviers-du-Lac)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alain et Martine(Viviers-du-Lac)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Anais Hotel(Viviers-du-Lac)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel Chambery(La Motte Servolex)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaurivage Hotel(Le Bourget-du-Lac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
131
81
36
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
81
36
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin restaurantle bateau ivrejean pierreoverlooking the lakesavoie regionbeautiful hotelgarden roomwe've stayedeasy accessabbayefrancecoursesluxuryalps
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 266 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and that was enough. Enjoyed an excellent dinner and good service. As for the room, we had to upgrade as our first selection was really shabby and depressing. Upgraded room and hotel service was fair at best and that is probably a stretch!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May. Very comfortable and spacious room and bathroom. Gorgeous view of the lake and across to Aix-Les-Bains from our room. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was so startlingly good we also ate their the second night. Truly wonderful food and service with flavour combinations that were complex and memorable without being prissy/overworked. The first night we had the Euro85 menu - awesome. The second night we had the Euro55 menu - equally awesome. Even though this is an expensive hotel and restaurant, we felt it was well worth every euro.

Room Tip: Lake view is definitely worth the extra
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erubMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having arrived in pouring rain, our initial impression was good with helpful reception staff. However, the menu was very limited and the restaurant staff were young, arrogant and unhelpful, despite the fact we spoke French. Not one member of the staff smiled throughout the evening. The wine was expensive and of mediocre quality. The breakfast buffet looked good, but we were not prepared to spend any more time or money in this hotel which should not be classed as a Relais & Chateau Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel has great location, rooms unsuitable for cat swinging convention. Tiny and tired. No wi fi in room, no tea or coffee making facilities, no bar when restaurant closed, not an easy access for cars driven by nervous drivers.
This truly is a great restaurant with rooms given a second thought, if half the thought that went in to creating the superb taster menu was given to the rest of the hotel then 5 stars would be easily attained.
To sum up, if looking for a hotel in the area, keep looking! If looking for a great dining experience then you have found it, only stay the one night though, a 3 star Mercure or even an Ibis has better rooms and facilities.

Room Tip: No idea which were good, avoid room 12
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicodan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I chose this Hotel for it's location and that's about the only thing going for it. The setting is wonderful, by the side of Bourget du lac.
We arrived in the rain. You would expect that a Relais & Chateau Hotel would have someone to help carry your bags or even come out with an umbrella. Check in staff were ok. Room was good and well appointed. That's the good bit.

Within seconds of walking into the restaurant, we all felt intimidated by the staff. Two tables of two were occupied. Our party of eight were stuck in a corner. The other two tables overlooked the splendid view, It would have been very easy to put our table there with a view as the restaurant was empty.

Three of our party of eight could speak French fluently, and another two had reasonable French, nevertheless, we started to feel that the bad service we were receiving was because we were English. It certainly came across that way. The Maitre 'd was unhelpful and his female staff were so arrogant. The menu was complicated and short, so much so that one of our party was unable to select any food. Why do Chef's have to be too clever.

The service was deplorable, staff serving missed one of our party, three times, just walked passed him, so was offered no bread rolls, wine or water. No one came to check to see if the wine/water glasses needed topping up. It was left for one of our party to get up from the table and retrieve the wine/water from another table to serve our party. You do not expect this in a Hotel of this standard. We all felt that they did not deserve to be part of the Relais Chateau group, certainly not at the prices they charged.

I would have sacked all the restaurant staff if they worked for me, the sheer arrogance of them all and I include the Restaurant Manager.

Poor Chef was expecting accolades when we walked passed him in the lobby. In all fairness he did stop me to ask how we experienced eating in the restaurant. I am afraid he got the lot and he was obviously annoyed the way we had been treated.

In the morning our party were still so angry that we all decided that we would not eat there for breakfast. Everyone of us just wanted to get away from this Hotel as quickly as possible.

This Hotel should not be classed as a Relais & Chateau as it certainly did not meet the criteria.
Over valued and overated

Never again
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Just miss this one
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews