We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To repeat some others....excellent restaurant but not a great hotel”
Review of Ombremont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ombremont
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“To repeat some others....excellent restaurant but not a great hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and that was enough. Enjoyed an excellent dinner and good service. As for the room, we had to upgrade as our first selection was really shabby and depressing. Upgraded room and hotel service was fair at best and that is probably a stretch!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    72
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
149
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May. Very comfortable and spacious room and bathroom. Gorgeous view of the lake and across to Aix-Les-Bains from our room. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was so startlingly good we also ate their the second night. Truly wonderful food and service with flavour combinations that were complex and memorable without being prissy/overworked. The first night we had the Euro85 menu - awesome. The second night we had the Euro55 menu - equally awesome. Even though this is an expensive hotel and restaurant, we felt it was well worth every euro.

Room Tip: Lake view is definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erubMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having arrived in pouring rain, our initial impression was good with helpful reception staff. However, the menu was very limited and the restaurant staff were young, arrogant and unhelpful, despite the fact we spoke French. Not one member of the staff smiled throughout the evening. The wine was expensive and of mediocre quality. The breakfast buffet looked good, but we were not prepared to spend any more time or money in this hotel which should not be classed as a Relais & Chateau Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel has great location, rooms unsuitable for cat swinging convention. Tiny and tired. No wi fi in room, no tea or coffee making facilities, no bar when restaurant closed, not an easy access for cars driven by nervous drivers.
This truly is a great restaurant with rooms given a second thought, if half the thought that went in to creating the superb taster menu was given to the rest of the hotel then 5 stars would be easily attained.
To sum up, if looking for a hotel in the area, keep looking! If looking for a great dining experience then you have found it, only stay the one night though, a 3 star Mercure or even an Ibis has better rooms and facilities.

Room Tip: No idea which were good, avoid room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicodan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I chose this Hotel for it's location and that's about the only thing going for it. The setting is wonderful, by the side of Bourget du lac.
We arrived in the rain. You would expect that a Relais & Chateau Hotel would have someone to help carry your bags or even come out with an umbrella. Check in staff were ok. Room was good and well appointed. That's the good bit.

Within seconds of walking into the restaurant, we all felt intimidated by the staff. Two tables of two were occupied. Our party of eight were stuck in a corner. The other two tables overlooked the splendid view, It would have been very easy to put our table there with a view as the restaurant was empty.

Three of our party of eight could speak French fluently, and another two had reasonable French, nevertheless, we started to feel that the bad service we were receiving was because we were English. It certainly came across that way. The Maitre 'd was unhelpful and his female staff were so arrogant. The menu was complicated and short, so much so that one of our party was unable to select any food. Why do Chef's have to be too clever.

The service was deplorable, staff serving missed one of our party, three times, just walked passed him, so was offered no bread rolls, wine or water. No one came to check to see if the wine/water glasses needed topping up. It was left for one of our party to get up from the table and retrieve the wine/water from another table to serve our party. You do not expect this in a Hotel of this standard. We all felt that they did not deserve to be part of the Relais Chateau group, certainly not at the prices they charged.

I would have sacked all the restaurant staff if they worked for me, the sheer arrogance of them all and I include the Restaurant Manager.

Poor Chef was expecting accolades when we walked passed him in the lobby. In all fairness he did stop me to ask how we experienced eating in the restaurant. I am afraid he got the lot and he was obviously annoyed the way we had been treated.

In the morning our party were still so angry that we all decided that we would not eat there for breakfast. Everyone of us just wanted to get away from this Hotel as quickly as possible.

This Hotel should not be classed as a Relais & Chateau as it certainly did not meet the criteria.
Over valued and overated

Never again
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Just miss this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
508 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located, literally, on the shore of Lac du Bourget. Probably better in the summer because it has a swimming pool, gardens, and terraces where one could eat, sunbathe, etc. But in the winter it was very nice, quiet, and all in all very pleasant. It was supposedly one of Winston Churchill's favorites. The hotel is located a few kilometers outside of the little town of Le Bourget du Lac and the setting is splendid. Our room (and the dining room) had a direct view of the lake. Our room was small, but totally adequate. WiFi is free. The bathroom was excellent and modern. The only odd things were that while the bathroom had a large array of cosmetics, lotions, etc., there was only one tiny bar of soap and the glasses were disposable plastic glasses (albeit with the Relais & Chateaux log on them). Most unusually, the closet had too many hangers...we had to remove a few to make room for our clothes. The price (at least in February) was very modest for a hotel of this quality. The hotel restaurant has two Michelin stars. As far as I could figure, there was no other good restaurant close by, but I might be wrong. Our experience in the restaurant, which is very expensive, was mixed (see restaurant review).

Room Tip: Get a lake side room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The restaurant has destination type food which is inventive and exciting. The combinations of tastes were unusual, but successful. We would dine at this restaurant when ever traveling in the area. The staff of both the hotel and restaurant were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bourget-du-Lac
2.4 mi away
Best Western Aquakub
Best Western Aquakub
#7 of 36 in Aix-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Aix Les Bains
Golden Tulip Aix Les Bains
#1 of 36 in Aix-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 3 in Le Bourget-du-Lac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Adelphia
Hotel Adelphia
#4 of 36 in Aix-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.8 mi away
Auberge Saint Simond - Hotel - Aix-les-Bains
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko
Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko
#2 of 36 in Aix-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ombremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ombremont

Property: Ombremont
Address: RD 1504, 73370 Le Bourget-du-Lac, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Le Bourget-du-Lac
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Le Bourget-du-Lac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ombremont 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ombremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing