We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On our annual wine shopping expedition, we arrived late i Julienas to buy some bottles at the Coperative - always value for money. As it was getting dark we decided to stay in the village over night, which turned out to be a very enjoyable surprise. Excellent rooms, plesant and efficient service and a cosy restaurant where we had a nice dinner with a bottle of the local wine. As someone said before, excellent food, well prepared and not fussy. Good value for money. We will certainly return on our next trip to this area.

As to the ratings below, I am not sure there is a room service or a fitness centre availabe

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agbeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
64
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

having stayed here before i was more than impressed with the renovations , the room was big and clean and we really enjoyed are time here , The only down side is the menu stays the same and when staying for four days it gets a bit repetative ( but always nice ) .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piraterob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a superb dinner here at the beginning of July. We ate in the courtyard under large umbrellas. Service was excellent, the food was first class, not fussy.Hot raspberry souffle to finish

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leckby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glocester, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chez La Rose in May 2012. It’s a lovely spot and a perfect place from which to explore Beaujolais, a lovely region of France. Besides the hotel, the property includes two restaurants and several vacation apartments all located in the center of the hamlet of Juliénas. The owners, a husband and wife, are welcoming, helpful and are always on hand to make sure things are running just so.
We chose a superior room consisting of a bedroom and sitting area. In the bath, there was a combination tub and shower. The WC was separate. Especially nice was that we also had a nice little “backyard” complete with patio and surrounded by hedges for privacy. There couldn’t have been a better spot for enjoying a glass of the excellent local wine after a day of exploring.
As mentioned, there were two restaurants, La Taverne du Coq and Le Restaurant La Rose. The Taverne is the less formal of the two and serves regional fare. Le Restaurant, while not overly expensive, is upscale and gives the chef owner a chance to show off his appreciable skills. Both are excellent and the wine list, primarily consisting of wines of the region, is excellent. The servers are more than happy to help you in picking wines to compliment your meal.
Juliénas, a small village of around 800, sits in the midst of acres of vineyards in the north of Beaujolais. Its wines are among the best of the region and number among the ten Beaujolais named Crus, which include such well know names as Moulin au Vent and Morgon. While the town is tiny, there are a small grocery, a pharmacy and an old church that they’ve converted into a wine tasting room.
Before our visit, we didn’t know much about Beaujolais, but it turned out to be well worth the trip. Of course, wine tasting (It seems like there are tasting rooms around every turn in the road) and sightseeing are major attractions. But, there’s much more to it than that. Here are a few attractions. The George DuBoeuf Hameau du Vin, which is a combination museum, garden and amusement park is a fun place to spend a day and learn more about wine and its production. Cluny with the ruins of its abbey is worth a visit, and on Wednesdays and Saturdays, a trip to the framers’ market in Bourg-en-Bresse is a treat. The selection and quality of food is mind-boggling. For bikers and hikers there are trails laid out throughout the vineyards. Beware though. Some of them are very hilly.
All in all, the Chez La Rose has a lot going for it: location, quality and price. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in the recently refurbished pavillion, just round the corner from the main reception. The room was small but well appointed with a superb bathroom and shower. Staff very helpful and accommodated for my wife's gluten free diet very well. The food in the restaurant was superb and reasonably priced and they offer a superb wine list ( as one would expect in this region)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabbagabbaheyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We thought we had into a hotel listed in Michelin (old guide) but when we couldn't find it - or even the road we phoned and spoke to La Rose - it turned out that the old hotel had been demolished and La Rose, about 5 miles away, had been allocated its phone number! I was reassured on arrival to see the TripAdvisor sticker on the door. The rooms are small but clean and adequate - also quiet. The food was great and the staff very friendly and welcoming. We shall stay there again. Our bill for double room, bed/breakfast, dinner with a bottle of wine plus a couple of beers was 198 euros.

Room Tip: I should ask to see them as there appear to be a variety - none actually in restaurant building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We went with friends and we had two appartments in a house a few yards down the road. These were spacious and well-equipped. One was on the ground floor and ideal for our friends, one of whom is slightly disabled (it has steps to the door, so not suitable for a wheel chair). Breakfasts were good. Dinner in the restaurant was outstandingly good and the wines from the locality are excellent. the hotel benefits from the presence of the pproprietors, M. and Mme. Alizer. Mme Alizer supervised the restaurant and service was very good indeed. On Mondays, the restaurant is shut and one can eat in le Coq, with more a bistro atmosphere, but again with very good food and wine. In spite of the unfavourable exchange rate, value was good for the quality of the food, wine and service. Julienas is a good centre for exploring the Beaujolais countryside and towns like Macon. Beaune and Lyon are within reach on the motorway and even Dijon. The airport at Lyon is convenient and can be reached within an hour on the motorway (if you don't miss the exit, as we did!) There is a swimming pool, but we did not use it, so we cannot comment except that it looked fine. By chance, we were there for the Julienas wine festival, which took place under our windows: a good time to go if you like wine, cheese, sausages etc.

Room Tip: The appartments have sitting rooms that face the road, but it is normally very quiet and the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJohnBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julienas
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Vignes
Hotel des Vignes
#1 of 2 in Julienas
122 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
#1 of 1 in Saint-Verand
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
244 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Des Grands Vins
Hotel Des Grands Vins
#1 of 1 in Fleurie
132 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau de Pizay
Chateau de Pizay
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE

Property: HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
Address: | Le Bourg, 69840 Julienas, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Julienas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Beaujolais wine region, in the small town of Juliénas, Christine and Alain Bleton offer a creative cuisine Inspired by local and seasonal flavors. Thanks to their comfort and relaxing atmosphere, you will find happiness in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing