We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb wine and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Standon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb wine and food”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We went with friends and we had two appartments in a house a few yards down the road. These were spacious and well-equipped. One was on the ground floor and ideal for our friends, one of whom is slightly disabled (it has steps to the door, so not suitable for a wheel chair). Breakfasts were good. Dinner in the restaurant was outstandingly good and the wines from the locality are excellent. the hotel benefits from the presence of the pproprietors, M. and Mme. Alizer. Mme Alizer supervised the restaurant and service was very good indeed. On Mondays, the restaurant is shut and one can eat in le Coq, with more a bistro atmosphere, but again with very good food and wine. In spite of the unfavourable exchange rate, value was good for the quality of the food, wine and service. Julienas is a good centre for exploring the Beaujolais countryside and towns like Macon. Beaune and Lyon are within reach on the motorway and even Dijon. The airport at Lyon is convenient and can be reached within an hour on the motorway (if you don't miss the exit, as we did!) There is a swimming pool, but we did not use it, so we cannot comment except that it looked fine. By chance, we were there for the Julienas wine festival, which took place under our windows: a good time to go if you like wine, cheese, sausages etc.

Room Tip: The appartments have sitting rooms that face the road, but it is normally very quiet and the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJohnBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
68
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whaddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed in a separate part of the hotel, called La Pavillon, very close-by. The room was immaculately clean and well-appointed. Following on from staying in an enormous room, the room itself seemed rather small, but the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served in the hotel itself.

On the first evening, we ate in the hotel's own stylish restaurant; the food and wine were superb. On the second evening, it was closed so we had an excellent meal at La Taverne du Coq, almost next door, which seems to be owned by the same people.

Everyone we met was pleasant to deal with and very helpful. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NStrudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed two nights in the first floor appartment about 100m down the main road, just opposite the post office. The appartment was super and had a view of the vines bathing in the warm sunny hills of the Beaujolais. Parking was on street and easy, apparently there is secure parking too.
Consisting of a spacious, air-conditioned living area with lots of light, a bedroom with a large comfortable bed, bathroom and separate tiolet, and a small kitchen unit in the hallway, I felt the place was very well appointed.
There are two restaurants up the road - Chez La Rose, part of the hotel, and Le Coq, which appears part of the enterprise. We preferred Le Coq. A few doors down the road is a friendly neighbourhood bar.
I would describe the price as fair for a very good appartment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Staff very helpfull and professionnel rooms average but bot restaurants are great location is perfect in the village and to visit the wineyards around

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathchris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Chez la Rose many times over the last ten years and will be staying twice in 2010. We have always found Bertrand and Sylvette (the owners) attentive from check-in to check-out. Their food is truly excellent and our overall view of the hotel is one of consistency and a keen desire to ensure their guests return. They have made many changes and additions to their hotel over the time we have known them but Chez la Rose remains a friendly haven for us when in France.

Colin and Sally Powell, Oxford UK

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in March 2009 with our 1 year old daughter. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. Our room was functional but clean and they provided a cot. We ate dinner in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. Breakfast the next morning was also good. Julienas is a lovely wine village and there are plenty of caves nearby where you can buy wine. The hotel is well situated for exploring the Beaujolais region. There is a free carpark opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We spied this nice little hotel restaurant, run by a young couple, when we stayed in a nearby village a few years earlier, and we vowed to return. In October 2007 we stayed three nights ("demi-pension" [that is, dinner and breakfast included]) in a large room, which turned out to be across the street from the hotel (see photo), but that was no problem. The room was fine -- not exactly charming, but clean and pleasant -- and the bathroom modern. The restaurant was crowded all three nights, and each evening we enjoyed Beaujolais with a fine dinner. The proprietors told us of their plans to build a swimming pool, and that would be welcome for visitors in the hot summer, but we prefer the fall (see photos of the fall color).

The hotel is located in the heart of the little village of Julienas, which we think is one of the nicest villages of the Beaujolais.

We also especially like nearby Fleurie and Chiroubles. In Chiroubles, we had, for the second time in a few years, a chicken dish at lunch (see photo) that reminded my wife of her French grandmother. "Le Chiroublon" is located in the center of the village. The front room is a "bar"; the restaurant is in the back -- see photo. This place is very local -- you won't see many tourists here!

-- Jake ( http://www.parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com/ )

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julienas
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Vignes
Hotel des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Julienas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
#1 of 1 in Saint-Verand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Des Grands Vins
Hotel Des Grands Vins
#1 of 1 in Fleurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau de Pizay
Chateau de Pizay
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE

Property: HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
Address: | Le Bourg, 69840 Julienas, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Julienas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Beaujolais wine region, in the small town of Juliénas, Christine and Alain Bleton offer a creative cuisine Inspired by local and seasonal flavors. Thanks to their comfort and relaxing atmosphere, you will find happiness in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing