We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utterly superb”

Restaurant Le Clos des Sens
Reserve with
Restaurant Le Clos des Sens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $195
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Utterly superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

There were so many great things about this place it is hard to know where to start. The stunning view from the terrace, exceptional canapés, a really good value menu du jour (50 euro), ultra-stylish dining room, excellent service.

And the pudding of "boules de neige" had to be seen to be believed.

We walked up from central Annecy which was pretty straightforward. If we ever visit the town again we will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    106
    45
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genève, Suisse
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exceptionnel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We highly recommend this restaurant, as we had a very incredible experience. Every little moment was a surprise !
We loved it !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blumenpfeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Restaurant: super staff, excellent service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were blown by the sheer beauty of the environment and the kind welcoming staff. The staff members merit a full appreciation as they were respectful and very knowledgeable. If only all establishments could have such devoted wait staff.

As for the gastronomy tasting menu... don't go for€100 tasting menu (8 course experience). Not worth it at all. I should have sticked to my initial choice of simply taking appetizer + main dish.

The tasting menu offered vegetables prepared with care and with various sauce seasonings.

Last course was guinea fowl prepared in 3 styles ... which in my opinion is not worth coming for such a costly 'event'.

We all complained of the high acidic taste and we felt that each dish somewhat tasted like the previous.

Nothing exceptional for a 2 star restaurant. Rather very disappointed and we felt ripped off. We would like to come back to the terrace (which is very beautiful) but we know we will not return.

1 phenomenal desert set in a sugar bubble (exquisite) and another,the monochrome desert, left us with more acidic tastes... I don't want to sound too finicky yet at such prices I must criticize.

Nice wc, yet no soap and no paper or wipes to dry hands! Come on this is supposed to be a 'great' establishment!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentv1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
2 reviews
“Deception total”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Ciboulette resto is full so we reserved this restaurant in respecting a delicious meal after positive comments, but it is a full deception.
Decoration and view are good, the cooking technician is good also, but the taste and everything else are zero.
Meals contain too much cream. This restaurant is not worth for a gastronomic restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
closdessens74, Gérant at Restaurant Le Clos des Sens, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
As chef and patron of Le Clos des Sens, I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meal at the restaurant.
I would like to clarify that we do not use cream in any of our recipes.
It would be a pleasure to explain the techniques of our cuisine should you ever wish to return to Le Clos.
Sincerely,
Laurent Petit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
590 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“this restaurant just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Another wonderful meal at Le Clos des Sens, delicious, creative, original and fairly-priced. And served by a very charming staff. Here is what we ate
1 vegetable amuse-bouches on
a striking clear platter
2 very original Lake geneva perch prepared like anchovies with a mushroom sauce
3) succulent St Jacques scallops with his secret recipe for the "beards" slow-cooked. Japanese also eat this part, but not like Mr Petit has prepared it.
4 fennel essence
5 magnificent foie gras with duck skin gratons, cooked to perfection
6 fantastic cheeses, many local
7 a dramatic signature dessert of sugar balloon on kalamansi (a citrus) sherbet
8 a delicious and highly aesthetic apple tart that has to be seen

we drank local favorites: Marestel of Dupasquier white (please don't order the old vintages so there will be some left for me next time, thanks!) and red Mondeuse 2009, very fragrant

150 euros per person

And who could be nicer hosts than M et Mme Petit? No one.
6 genuine Scottish grouse served rare of course

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Clos des Sens also viewed

Veyrier-Du-Lac, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant Le Clos des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing