We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Cafe Brunet

Cafe Brunet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This restaurant is popular thanks to its location and its terrace. Annecy-le-Vieux is a lovely town with high standards. Most restaurants are quite expensive so when I pay more, I expect more, which I didn't get from our waiter. Service was so poor: we were 20 people, plates weren't dressed the same way, some had vegetables left on their plate, others had it right, visually it was a lack of taste of mine. Then, she dropped a knife accidentally on my lap but she didn't apologize!!!! She was at the limit of being rude. I really felt she didn't like her job...
Food is good but nothing extraordinary, it's modern food. Portions are too big.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    141
    67
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful evening meal. Great choice on the ABC menu. Starters were exquisite, especially the Tartare de Cabillaud. Cote de porc was fabulous and the Surprise de Boeuf outstanding. The sweets were unbelievably good. Our Maltese companion was very taken with the cheese board. The atmosphere, outdoor dining under the trees and views from across the road were just perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva,
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“brilliant, hearty, gutsy French food”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have been to this restaurant a dozen times, Its such a find. Its so nice to escape the crowds and vying restaurants in Annecy, to have the background peace and scenery with the hubub of a happy clientele sat out on the terrace. The food is not imaginative, its traditional French cooking, but what they do, they do really well. If you want to know what a real cherry clafoutis tastes like, this is your place. They have some very regional dishes, the Andalouette is to die for, when the local butcher makes enough of them. One of the reasons it has such high standards is its sister restaurant, a 2 star, La Clos Des Sens, sits just down the road. While the Clos D.S. goes for more fine dining, here you get the real taste of France.
What is also striking is the price, this restaurant has the capacity to charge a lot more for the wonderfully fresh and seasonal stuff it turns out, but the basic A + B + C menu normally comes in at less than €30.
We have found the staff accommodating and helpful, even when we turned up with a great big wet golden retriever! We were never rushed and so could enjoy the shade the trees on the terrace provide.
This is not to be missed if you are in the area. If you are staying in Annecy proper, don't walk, it'll take you too long, you need a taxi or a designated driver, but from Annecy in a car it will take you around 10 mins to drive and park. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steftheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

On our first night in Annecy we are here in the open air, under low hanging trees enjoying the sun set surrounded by lovely food and a good bottle of wine...what more can you ask for.

The service was great as well. Our waiter spoke English and explained the dishes we didn't know and made some nice recommendations in terms of food and wine. All in all it was the perfect way to start off our culinary experience in Annecy.

  • Visited June 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brunet also viewed

Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie
Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie
Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Cafe Brunet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing