We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic seafood”
Review of L'Ocean Restaurant

L'Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Fouras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located on the seafront of the Pointe de la Fumée on the peninsula of Fouras, the restaurant L'Océan welcomes you and makes you discover its elaborate home cooking fresh and local products.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Great seafood overlooking the beach. The restaurant is large with outside seating in the warmer months. Staff are knowledgeable about the menu and ready to offer advice on ;best' options, but efficient rather than friendly. Seafood is fresh and beautifully prepared with a wide range and a number of differently priced menus as well as an a la carte. Some meat and non fish and seafood dishes are also offered...but why would you bother? Always seems to be popular, particularly with the locals

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephane M, Responsable relations publiques at L'Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Hello dear, thank you for your comment. We are delighted that our menu has pleased you and we hope to see you again soon ! The ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2019

We had a fantastic lunch in winter but would be better in summer. Excellent staff, menu and wine list - go and enjoy.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelwoollard56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephane M, Responsable relations publiques at L'Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello, thank you very much for your comment and we look forward to seeing you again in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Had lunch there after a morning at the beach down the road. We went for the mussels, quite good, fresh and filling. The location is quite nice, overlooking a small bay and the jetty for the ferry/boat to Aix. Limited options for kids but they had steak and chips which almost did the trick... Not as much as the ice cream they had for desert though! Just another thing that didn't directly concern us, but a few people came minutes after us and when they asked for the menu were told quite crudely that the kitchen was closed and all they had left were salads. It was just after 2... In July.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Makuanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

We ate at his restaurant as La Fumée was closed.Really lovely sat outside with a view to die for.The food ( moules and sardines ) were really good.Service was very efficient and the Charentaise white wine,lovely.We would certainly go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 1834jules_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful setting and views
Our starters Fish rillettes were tasty and served with a.creme fraiche sauce
My husband had coquilles st Jaqueline which he thought was good but I had langoustines which looked more like crevettes supposedly flambeed in brandy I don t think these particular langoustines would have survived flambeeing but they did come with a brandy sauce

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Fouras, Charente-Maritime
Fouras, Charente-Maritime
 
Fouras, Charente-Maritime
Fouras, Charente-Maritime
 
Fouras, Charente-Maritime
Fouras, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to L'Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing