We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories of TV show but incedible history”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Boyard

Fort Boyard
Book In Advance
More Info
$223.30*
and up
Fort Boyard Helicopter Scenic Tour
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Fouras
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memories of TV show but incedible history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were attracted by our memories of the TV show form the late 90's and decided to go on a boat tour. We took a tour from the harbour by the two towers which included the approach to Fort Boyard and a stop on Ile d'Aix. This is a great combination. Apart from the TV show the history of building the Fort is incredible spanning from the 1600's to 1800's and an enourmous cost on for it never to fulfil its purpose. A short way further on the Island of Aix is beautiful and a cyclists paradise. It has a small high street with cafes, bars and shops in a tranquil and peaceful setting. It thrip costs E25 each return and a great way to see the sights. The boat is 90 mins out and an hour back with 2 hours on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    120
    41
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plzen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
226 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great trip on a private boat to Fort Boyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented boat with petrol engine (no permission needed) in Boyardville, which is the best location to reach the Fort Boyard. Price was $100 for 2 hours which is sufficient, journey to Fort take about 20 minutes at full throttle. Maximum distance you can reach Fort is 200 metres, we tried to get closer (50 m), but after few minutes police came to us and told us its forbidden to be so close with the boat. Recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Blechaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting boat ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A very pleasant ride out to see Fort Boyard. An interesting structure, quite ugly really and big. We also sailed by the island when Napoleon was exiled. A very pleasant afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice trip to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A thing you have to see if you like the tv show or just the history, it's a nice journey by boat, kids love it!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Boat ride to see Fort Boyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

When we arrived in La Rochelle, France we noticed that a tour boat was heading out to see Fort Boyard. One of the things I wanted to do when we visited La Rochelle was to take a boat ride out of the harbour to see the coast line. The boat ride was 2 hours and we basically sailed to the Fort Boyard, circled it while the captain explained the history of the fort and how it's used today has the location of a game show called the Keys to Fort Boyard in French, "Les Clés de Fort Boyard". It's a "Fear Factor" type show. It would have been nice to be able to actually visit the fort but it wasn't open for visitors when we were there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane9ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Boyard also viewed

Fouras, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Fort Boyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing