We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose this hotel to break a journey but felt we could have spent a holiday here. The area has plenty of interest and the hotel and its owners, very welcoming.
The instructions from motorway to hotel should be clarified.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really impressive place. Warm and friendly proprietors who greet you by name at the door and wave you off when you leave. Excellent food...smart, clean rooms, peaceful surroundings...it's like a lesson in how to do hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Run by lovely people. Beautiful location. Great family rooms - and close to where you sit and have a drink after supper, surrounded by gardens and scenery to die for...it's just marvellous and the perfect stop off in the middle of France. Run by the most lovely bi(tri?)-lingual people and such a pleasure to stay at, the food, the rooms, the views - this pace just rocks. PERFECT family stop over and can't wait to go back without the kids. Awesome find and now a firm favourite we will be blabbing about to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Family - choose room #1 if your kids are happy to share and you want an evening without them but clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Looking for a 'stop over' on the way down to Ile de Re we came up trumps with Le Gasseau. Although within easy distance of the autoroute it is a hotel restaurant situated in a beautiful hamlet on the edge of a National Park. The hamlet includes the most beautiful walled garden, river walks and views of the Monts de Mancel. All in all a beautiful situation. The hotel room was quite minimalist but the bed was very comfortable with gorgeous Egyptian linen. We decided to eat in the restaurant which is a definite 'must' as the Madame Chef cooks the most amazing food which is perfectly 'married' to the perfect wine. A three course meal for 2 including wine with each course was 89 euros. Like previous reviewers we are definitely going to go back to enjoy a longer break at Le Gasseau. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulineandDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great hotel, fantastic location, great food and a very warm welcome. We cannot think of any improvement that could be made, such great value, we will be back. It took some finding but the description given to us by the hotel and good old sat nav took us to the door. We were surprised to see so many people but by 18.00 they all gone away and the site became a real peaceful haven.

Room Tip: They appear to be all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is a real gem indeed - quiet and beautiful setting, wonderful building, clean and comfortable and not expensive. Thea's food is wonderful (great meal, our children enjoyed it very much also), and she bakes all the delicious bread. I wanted to stay longer and go walking along the river. I would recommend this without hesitation for an overnight stop, but I would love to stop there for a few days to go walking around the local area - there are lots of walks that you can do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seb177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legasseau, Propriétaire at Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you so much for those nice comments
It makes us feel we are right to go on with our passion
We hope to may be see you again one day
best regards

theodora & didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It almost doesn't want to be found! Tucked away in the midst of a forest high above the banks of the river Sarthe upon which I saw a Kingfisher and a Heron looking for their breakfast on my early morning walk to investigate the area.
Both the exterior and interior of the building is kept in immaculate condition. The room I had was large, light and airy and immediately conveyed a atmosphere of relaxation. Soft music played in the dining room where the tables were well presented as indeed was the food for my evening meal. Theodora clearly knows how to excite the taste buds of her customers with her excellent cooking whilst Didier provides table service of a high standard. Both of our charming hosts finding time for cordial conversation at table.
In my opinion this is one of those very special places that it is worth visiting for the memory it will leave with you and the desire to re visit.
My congratulations to Theodora and Didier on the creation of such an experience for their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legasseau, Propriétaire at Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you very very much for all of your lovely comments.

We obviously appreciate enormously all of your comments about the rooms and the Theodora's cooking

but let me tell you how proud we rae you wrote those lines about the nature and about the birds fishing in the river. It is exactly the reason why we decided to go on with this adventure, creation a new business in 2009, right in the middle of the international crisis, but also right in the middle of this glorious area where the nature has been preserved so well.

best regards to you and your friends

theodora & didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
9.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Villaines la Juhel
435 reviews
23.8 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
81 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
258 reviews
12.4 mi away
Logis Le Bretagne
Logis Le Bretagne
#1 of 1 in Sille-le-Guillaume
29 reviews
15.5 mi away
Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert
Silence Le Relais des Etangs de ...
#1 of 1 in Neufchatel-en-Saosnois
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme

Address: 1 Lieu Dit le Gasseau | Route de Saint Ceneri, 72130 Saint-Leonard-des-Bois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
Price Range: $84 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing