We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful venue for a group or large family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A delightful venue for a group or large family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

On 30th August, Day 2 of a group cycling tour from Ouistreham in Normandy to Loue in Sarthe, we stopped at Hotel Le Gasseau. The size of the group (19) enabled us to have exclusive use of the hotel for the night. It was an ideal venue for the group, plenty of room for the bikes, large & and recently renovated bedrooms for the cyclists and fine cuisine for dinner which followed an aperitif “al fresco” on the hotel terrace in the lovely and peaceful site of the Domaine du Gasseau. The village of Saint-Leonard is delightful and deserves more than a one-night stay so does the Hotel du Gasseau.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francoise1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legasseau, Propriétaire at Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice comment.
It was also very nice to have your group at our place
so kind, so calm, so gentle
we dream about clients like all of you
theodora hauzer
&
didier petit-thieffry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    52
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
27
86
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stay here was wonderful, the room was spotless, very large witrh lovely views. The Family that run the hotel are very atentive and eager to please.
there are some lovely gardens to walk arround and the best allotment I have ever seen.The evening meal was superb and not too expensive. We only had one night here and we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: If you arrive before 7 park in the upper car park, the owners will help with your luggage (they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legasseau, Owner at Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Theodora & I thank you a lot for such an encouragement to go on and to try to improve.
Thank you aloso for taking some time for this comment
best regards
didier petit-thieffry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had originally planned to stay here for 5 nights whilst we attended the Le Mans Classic race down the road. However, finding ourselves in possession of a campervan (all the better for enjoying the racing experience), meant we cancelled 4 of the 5 days and stayed there only on the first night. Despite losing 4 nights books, mine host was charm personified! He welcomed us warmly, hoping our change of plans wasn't prompted by anything untoward, and again despite our arriving at almost 9.30 at night, spoke nicely to the chef (who may well have been his partner), who produced a fantastically cooked steak with vegetables and polenta. Nothing was too much trouble and the peaceful, calm, unhurried atmosphere prevailed.

Our room was beautiful. Simply furnished though extremely comfortable with a fabulous shower - endless hot water and serious pressure! After a long day travelling, it was just what we wanted! Breakfast was by request - what would we like? But of course!

There were a couple of other parties, one of who was 3 couples together, but no one appeared to impinge on anyone else.

The hotel is part of an equine centre and whilst horses, (muscle powered, rather than engine powered) dont do it for me at all, I doubt such lovely architecture would have been possible if it hadn't had all that space around. The kitchen garden was a perfumed delight to walk around!

I'd seriously recommend a visit! You really wont regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ttbko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

After 24 hours camping at Le Mans we were looking for some dinner and a couple of drinks before an early night in a comfy, bed and the village St Leo de Bois was a perfect place for that.
The village and the local area, part of a nature reserve, is beautiful and despite it being Sunday the large La cave a Bieres (bar/restaurant/beer shop) was open and busy, as was the creperie st Beo and 2 other small bars. We had a lovely evening.
Meanwhile, despite an inauspicious start at the hotel (our host was I think somewhat frazzled by the le mans weekend and so not the most welcoming at first) we found the Hotel Le Gasseau to be a very picturesque and peaceful place, and our hostess soon made in friendliness up for any friction we may have experienced with our host!
The upsides were that we had a very large room and that the breakfast was pretty much perfect, and well priced at 8 euros. However the rooms were decorated in a rather bland and utilitarian manner with the 'holiday inn' style furniture clashing with the style of the building itself. As the bathroom was big enough for a bath it was also a shame that we didn't have one. Our room was also on the ground floor which meant that during the day, when the adventure park directly opposite was in full use, we couldn't open our curtains without being in full view of all the visitors. The room was also directly under the stairs so we were woken early by people going up and down. If I were doing it again I would specify an upstairs room - it was clear that there were a couple available so a shame that we hadn't been placed there.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we wanted something simpler and mopre relaxed, but the restaurant and menu did look very good.

Room Tip: If I were doing it again I would specify an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Hiding in the heart of Normandy this Hotel Restaurant is a gem. The peace and tranquility and not to mention the warmth and hospitality of the proprietors is a breath of fresh air.
The rooms are spacious and perfectly adequate with everything in order. If fine dining is what you need, then look no further. All the food is cooked from the heart do not expect instant results as each dish is prepared and cooked to order to a high standard. I would recommend a stay for a night or longer as you will not be disappointed. Take care upon arrival as the way to reception is not altogether clear, so walk around and ask.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cbr1100bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayssas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

After several visits to Le Gasseau, we returned in September for two stays on our journey to and from France and we were delighted to find that, as usual, everything was excellent. The quality of the rooms, the standard of cleanliness, the welcome and above all the food are consistently of a very high standard indeed.

I consider Le Gasseau is excellent value for money and provides a delightful change from many other hotels in this category. I would strongly recommend it to anyone travelling this route.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WCRPrayssas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We chose this hotel after the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel itself is very pleasant with charming rooms in a very peaceful location.
BUT
The price of the restaurant is quite expensive, and of course having spent most of the day travelling the last thing we want to do upon arrival is to venture out and find an alternative place to eat.

Room Tip: Dont take Room 5 as the shower leaks all over the Dining Room below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legasseau, Directeur général at Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We do apologies for the leak that happened when our dear customer was in our house. By the way it is true the leak happened in a corner of the dining room and did not disturb the client neither in the bedroom, neither in the dining room. We obviously fixed this malfunction and any customer can now rent this room without the risk of a leak (we hope :))

About the meals we have to say :
- 1 customer, as a single can spend 1 night at our place for 112€72 (93£30) including
° night
° 3 courses meal (starter + main dish + dessert)
° 25 cl (8,79 once = more than 2 glasses of wine "certified origin")
° 1 coffee
° 1 breakfast (French bred + 1 croissant + jam + honey + chocolate + cereals "fruit &
fibers" + orange juice + hot beverage as much as you want + boiled egg + cold cut +
cheese)
- 1 couple can spend 1 night at our place for 150€22 (124£34) including exactly the same than seen above.
Our most expensive meal (3 courses) is at 44€00 (36£42) including first quality ingredients as “foie-gras, truffle, prime cut beef from Normandy selected and prepared in alençon by a real butcher, or fish actually coming from the sea, homemade desserts, everything basically prepared at the last minute on demand.
Our wine list also includes "grands crus" et 'premiers crus" from Burgundy and Bordeaux as well as from foreign countries.
All of that together can make the final bill quite important but it is always the free choice of the customer to have a unique experience or a good but quick meal on his way to holidays.
We know our rooms as well as our menu are not expensive, according to the competition.
In the case our customer wish to take advantage of our cheap rooms but prefer to look for a less expensive meal solutions in the village of St Leonard (1 pancake house, 1 "workers restaurant", 1 3*** hotel restaurant). On simple request, we always give to our customers all the information about our colleagues who are also good friends of us.

Thank you very much for your attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
9.5 mi away
Hotel L'Oasis
Hotel L'Oasis
#1 of 2 in Villaines la Juhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
15.7 mi away
Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert
Silence Le Relais des Etangs de ...
#1 of 1 in Neufchatel-en-Saosnois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
8.5 mi away
Mercure Alencon
Mercure Alencon
#9 of 11 in Alencon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme

Property: Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme
Address: 1 Lieu Dit le Gasseau | Route de Saint Ceneri, 72130 Saint-Leonard-des-Bois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing