We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time with Gerald!”
Review of Loire Valley Uncorked - CLOSED

Loire Valley Uncorked
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From a Loire Valley wine-making family, Gérald, a bilingual French wine professional hosts private half-full day wine tours & tastings at niche organic and biodynamic Domaine's. Available as a day trip from Paris with collections from Angers and Saumur. Sharing inherent knowledge and a lifetime’s passion, alongside Gérald discover all aspects of wine-making, the annual work undertaken preparing the vines, the methods applied to create the blanc, rosé, rouge and sparkling wines, before concluding with a comprehensive and technical wine tasting. **At Bistrot Les Tontons experience a further wine tasting of Natural wines, accompanied by a lunch of freshly prepared local and regional cuisine, (**wine tour dependant).
Portland, OR
1 review
“Excellent time with Gerald!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent time spent with Gerald in Saumur. The highlight tour of my 3 week holiday in France and Italy complete with a private tour and wine tasting (where I learn so many things I had been taught incorrectly on previous tastings) as well as a fantastic lunch back at Bistro les Tontons (I will never forget the caramel from dessert... ever).

Book a tour with Loire Valley Uncorked. You won't regret it!

Thank you Sarah-Jane & Gerald

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank seatshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Loire Valley Uncorked, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your generous words and for kindly taking the time to write a review. Gérald & I are most touched to read your Loire Valley Discovery was a highlight of your 3 week holiday, and how much you enjoyed the cuisine served at Bistrot Les Tontons. Thank you once again, Sarah-Jane & Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
“Two day Loire valley wine and food fest.More Samaur”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife,daughter and I recently completely a 2 day wine and food extravaganza with Loire Valley Uncorked.Host Gerald is a local vigneron,Bistro owner and has family roots in area for generations and has extensive knowledge of all things wine and food related in Samaur/Loire Valley.We visited 4 different vineyards each with unique host personalities and amazing geographic features.There were 6 to 10 bottle tastings at each site(so spitting was a must).The predominant local grape varieties were Chenin (white) and Cabernet Franc (red). Tastings also included sparkling dry and sweet whites,reds and rose. Both days between morning and afternoon tastings was a feast at Bistro TonTon owned by Gerald.The meals were as impressive as the tastings.Two of the best meals we had in France.Local fresh products expert preparation.Overkill to say the least. But,more appealing than the wine and food were the personalities,educational experience, and amazingly warm and friendly people who welcomed us like family.This could only be accomplished by taking the tour with an "insider" like Gerald.We hope to return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Loire Valley Uncorked, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Gérald & I are most touched to have received your generous review and delighted you enjoyed ‘uncorking the Loire Valley’ alongside your time spent at Bistrot Les Tontons. Thank you for entrusting Loire Valley Uncorked for your 2 day stay dedicated to discovering the Val de Loire wines and local cuisine, it was an equally memorable time for us too. Thank you once again, Sarah-Jane & Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful day in the Loire Valley!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I were so fortunate to spend time with Gerald and Sarah-Jane! It was absolutely the highlight of our recent trip to France! Our private tour and wine tasting hosted by Gerald were informative and lots of fun. He was generous with his time, knowledge and wine. The wines were luscious and we look forward to the day that we can buy them in the States. The tasting was followed by a delicious lunch featuring fresh local food and more wine at their bistro in town...and good conversation with our lunch host, Sarah-Jane. We will definitely return someday...and recommend this experience highly. Thank you for a really special visit, Gerald and Sarah-Jane!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Loire Valley Uncorked, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Gérald & I are touched to read your time with Loire Valley Uncorked was the absolute highlight of your recent trip to France and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for your generous words. On a future visit, we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Loire Valley, mille mercis Sarah-Jane & Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical evening x”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Both Gèrald and Sarah-Jane helped my sister and I arrange a surprise evening, which included a meal and wine tasting experience with Gèrald in the Troglodyte Caves, for our Mothers Birthday. They were both incredibly helpful and created a magical evening which my Mother still raves about! We believe the evening was made particularly special because of the personal touches and real care they put into Making it a success. Thank you x

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicky485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Loire Valley Uncorked, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Gérald and I thank you for putting your faith in Loire Valley Uncorked and entrusting us to arrange a private wine tasting in our troglodyte cave followed by a tailored dinner. We are pleased to hear the evening is still talked about and we thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. Mille mercis, Sarah-Jane & Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“An experience not to be missed!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of spending the day with Gerald and Sarah-Jane, and we loved every minute of it. Gerald has a wealth of knowledge that he shared with us during our private wine tour. He gave me a new appreciation for the effort that goes into a wonderful bottle of wine. He covered the nuances of the wines, to the different types of maceration a wine can under go. We have been on different types of tours, but none of our other guides could duplicate the love and knowledge the Gerald has- and was able to share with us. And that was just a small part of why this tour was great! Not only was Gerald fantastic, but then the wine was very enjoyable as well (let's be honest, wine is why we do these things!) . After the generous tasting, we had a very memorable three course lunch at Gerald's bistro in town. That lunch was one of our favorite meals while in France. I still taste the cassoulet! All of these things were great, and we didn't have to worry about anything! Thank you so much Gerald and Sarah-Jane! If you are in the Loire Valley, this is an experience not to be missed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jshaver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Loire Valley Uncorked, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Gérald and I would like to thank you for your generous words, and for kindly taking the time to share your experience at the Domaine and later at the bistrot. We had an equally memorable day with you both, one certainly not dampened by our misty November morning ! Thank you once again and we wish you un Joyeux Noël, Sarah-Jane & Gérald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loire Valley Uncorked also viewed

Le Puy-Notre-Dame, Maine et Loire
Le Puy-Notre-Dame, Maine et Loire
 
Le Puy-Notre-Dame, Maine et Loire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing