We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful experience”
Review of Anne de Bretagne

Anne de Bretagne
Reserve with
Anne de Bretagne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $183
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leuven, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Anne de Bretagne has been able to maintain the high quality we earlier experienced some 9 years ago. Nicely seated with direct view on the ocean, we went for the reduced Bacchus menu starting with the chef's famous 4 oyster preparation. All dishes were excellent and were topped by a sublime poire dessert and a copious cheese plate. The accompanying wines were chosen with mastery. My wife particularly liked the fact that Anne de Bretagne maintains a rich choice of delicious dishes without the fruits or sugars that became customary nowadays. It was a great evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RogerMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    61
    36
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Took my parents for a special night out. This restautrant which also has some rooms is situated in front of the sea with a stunning view. The food and service is exqusite.and we could not fault lt
This is really worth the price paid we had the menu where you get a different type of wine to go with each course depending on what you eat and it is all carefully explained to you. Truly Excellent

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, despite the owner/chef's attitude”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose the Anne de Bretagne hotel as our home base for a couple of nights because we wanted to explore Guerande and the amazing salt fields that surround the old city. With a 2-star Michelin rating, we knew that we were certainly in for a culinary treat here. Chef Phillipe Vetele created some incredible dishes that were at once delicious and sometimes challenging, but in a very good imaginative way. We loved the setting, the service, and even the fact that a restaurant of this caliber created a special pasta dish for our 5-year-old daughter who is not as adventurous as her parents are. So what disappointed us...was the chef himself. He journeyed out of the kitchen and into the dining room many times during the course of the evening, and talked to all the guests, most of whom were French. We like to think of ourselves as foodies and adventurers--after all, we drove all the way out here for this from Paris--but every comment by the chef toward us gave us the feeling we were being talked down to.
Now, my wife and I have traveled the world. We don't cop attitudes and we really love to savor the moment. So it's kind of a bummer when the chef himself made that moment a notch below what it could have been. We clearly got the vibe that he thought we should've been eating at the McDonald's down the road. Pearls before swine, as it were.
By the way, if you ask for a restaurant recommendation from the hotel, you will get a place in the nearby town of Pornic. Pass on it. It gets very average reviews and, what a surprise, it's owned by Vetele's son! Instead, walk down the street to the point where there are a couple of locally run restaurants that feature delicious fresh caught mussels and other delights.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Memorable dining”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

When you want to indulge yourself in a truly memorable meal, make your way to Brittany and enjoy a meal at this outstanding Michelin-rated restaurant. Overlooking the Brittany coast, our party of three began our Sunday afternoon meal with a "pre-appetizer" of three fresh oysters, each prepared differently and served with oyster sorbet! We did America proud and ate like the French with five courses, each perfectly paired with a French wine chosen by the sommelier, and leaving after 3.5 hours of pure enjoyment.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne de Bretagne also viewed

La Plaine-sur-Mer, Loire-Atlantique
Tharon-Plage, Loire-Atlantique
 
Pornic, Loire-Atlantique
Prefailles, Loire-Atlantique
 
Pornic, Loire-Atlantique
La Plaine-sur-Mer, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to Anne de Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing