We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles
Scotland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent 2 weeks in the Vendee area of France in a 4 bed villa within the complex. The villa (No 67) was in the privately owned area of the Domaines de Fontenelles and only 2 minutes walk to the golf course. The villa was excellent - immaculately clean and well furnished. Washing machine, fridge freezer and good quality utensils etc. The pool was great and kept our Grandson occupied for the full 2 weeks. Large open & well maintained garden area to keep everyone happy playing footie, tennis, badminton and plenty of space to locate your sunbed in a quiet corner to read your book. Grass cutting & pool cleaned twice during our stay. The high fence surrounding the garden ensured we had plenty of privacy with no-one overlooking. The garden furniture was adequate with outside table, chairs and sunbeds (only 4 sunbeds could have done with another 2). 2 'complaints' - poor quality BBQ, had to clean before using and wasn't really big enough to cater for 7 hungry holidaymakers & no air conditioning. The surrounding area was quiet and entry was via a remote controlled security gate.
We had changes of towels and bed linen twice during the 2 weeks and could probably have done with another change.
The area is great for cycling and our group brought the bikes with them and covered a few miles during the holiday. The walking was also excellent with plenty of paths off road.
St Gilles Croix de Vie was 15 to 20 minutes in the car - plenty of good quality restaurants to chose from. You can venture further afield to St Jeans de Monts if your looking for a more 'lively' resort. A huge Leclerc supermarket about 10minutes away on the road into St Gilles. Everything you'll need in one location and a great choice for beers & wines. Better prices than you get at the duty free at the Chunnel.
The villa in on the pricey side in high season but we were not disappointed. All in all a great holiday in great accommodation - we would definitely consider returning to this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    72
    31
    22
    12
See reviews for
107
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Number 52 (sleeps 6) and it was very modern, immaculately clean and well equipped with everything we could have needed, including plenty of games and books. A really lovely outlook onto the 11th hole with and a garden that gets the sun all afternoon and evening - great for eating outside on warm evenings! The hotel pool is superb with a separate shallow pool which was ideal for our 2 and 4 year olds. There's also a couple of tennis courts and boules.

The pretty town of St Gilles is just a ten minute drive and has a fantastic sandy beach, a lovely choice of restaurants and a selection of upmarket shops. There's a market most days and a small fun fair during July and August complete with an old fashioned carousel. Although there are some modern elements to St Gilles it still retains that lovely French charm.

So much to do - we would recommend the mini-boats in St Gilles, The Smelling Garden at Coex (under five minutes away and a real hit with the kids), Vendee Miniature, & the Moulin des Gourmands (windmill). It seems most places don't start charging for children until they are five or six so for our family all the days out were very reasonable at around 6-7 Euros per adult. We also ventured further afield to Les Chateau des Adventurers - a pirate themed outdoor attraction about 40 minutes drive. Again, great value, really well set out with four different trails to follow, including a dinosaur one. Be prepared for lots of walking, but the kids had loads of fun working out the puzzles and riddles along the way.

We also visited nearby Bretignole Sur Mer and went rock pooling while the tide was out. Found plenty of creatures to show the kids.

All-in-all a really fab family holiday with plenty to do. We will definitely be returning here and asking to stay at number 52. It was like home from home with everything we needed and one of the best outlooks of all the apartments. Can't rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: We were very happy with everything about number 52 - especially the location overlooking the golf co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I just arrived back from the Domaine des Fontenelles. We travelled with a large group of 31 from Ireland and booked 4 houses. The place was very quiet being the start of April but this suited us. The houses were very clean and spacious. Plenty of facilities in the house. Some have English TV channels and others have French ones. The back gardens are spacious with patio, BBQ area and pool. The pool was not in use because of the time of year but would be great in the height of summer. Ben in the resort was very helpful and very good to deal with. There are charges for water and electricity usage but doesn't amount to much. The houses are in a gated complex and is very safe for children. It's about 10 to 15 mins to St Gilles Croix de Vie on the coast, 1 1/2 hours to Nantes and 2 1/4 hours to La Rochelle. You really need your own mode of transport to get around. The place is supposed to get very busy in summer but was ideal in April for a quiet getaway with nice warm weather. Over all a great stay and couldn't have asked for more to accommodate a large group for the price we got.

Room Tip: All houses are furnished by their owners and are done differently. No.56 or No.63 are very nice. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kildarecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed in no 1 had a brilliant holiday .the house was well furnished beds were so comfortable.there was a washing machine which was great .House was spotless very nicely decorated.situated across from no 10 tee box short walk to pool and the complex..10 mins to St Gilles Croix De Vie fabulous fishing village with gorgeous beaches . Will definitively be back weather was brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Booked No 58,which was well furnished,clean and had lovely comfortable beds.
Lovely heated pool,Good local sandy beaches,and we all loved ST GILLES CROIX DE VIE.
Easy drive down from ferry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookiechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Whilst we have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday at Des Fontenelles, our stay at the complex / property was very disappointing and echoes the thoughts of recent reviews in many respects: -
- unacceptable queues in reception at all times - during the short and inconvenient times it was open
- property was not 'cleaned' by the time of our arrival (arrived at 5.15pm, eventually got key at 6.30pm), then had to wait until 6.50pm for 'cleaning' to be completed - it took the cleaners a full 10 mins to clean it!
- property shabby - wall lights were simply exposed light bulbs, balcony mildew, paintwork all seen better days
- one washing machine for whole compex making it virtually inaccessible and very expensive. Dryer broken for entire stay
- Draconian and ridiculous cleaning requirements at end of stay - with alternative of C£150 end of stay cleaning charge (for the 10mins we witnessed?!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M_P_N70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie hotels

Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in Apartment 14, which was a very good apt, very clean, well decorated etc. The complex as a whole is very nice, but there are some problems that could easily be changed to improve the overall experience: 1. there was one washing machine to serve the whole complex, which meant you had to keep nipping back to the lundry room in the hope of finding it free. 2. reception desk very poorly staffed which meant that there were queues to stand in for almost any enquiry you had. 3. they charge you for everything 'extra' 75 euro for a TV, 6 euro for a washing machine token, euros for bed linen and towels, (and they expect the guests to fetch their own linen from reception on arrival. It would leave a better taste if they just upped the price a bit and then dropped the charges for these 'extras'... Nice complex, nice pool, good apartments, well located, but spolit a bit by these few issues.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
6.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix de Vie
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix d...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Edena
Hotel Edena
#5 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Sterne
La Sterne
#3 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Le Ceitya
Hotel Le Ceitya
#2 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.2 mi away
Residence Goelia la Grande Plage
Residence Goelia la Grande Plage
#4 of 12 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles

Property: Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles
Address: Route de Coex les Fontenelles, 85220 L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie, Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie > L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Fontenelles Hotel Saint Gilles Croix De Vie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing