We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer
Gainsborough/Lincolnshire/Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the place is terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

stay last year for two days complained to the thick blonde at the reception about the state of the place and the fleas in the room looked at me blank,
stayed this year for one night as tired, had things changed ?, dont be daft things has got worse, disabled asked for ground floor room we where put on the top floor, dead rat outside the reception eating area, shower drain blocked flooded the room almost, they've still got the fleas, air con not working room temp was 25 c.
are they bothered are they flop,
i will never stay there ever again and will never recommend it to any-one.
oh yes, if you stay here take your ear defenders with you to shut out the noise from the dual carrageway right next to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    83
    44
    40
See reviews for
87
82
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Quite Clean, Quite Small, Quite Cheap. Ideal stop-over before catching the ferry. Pretty much as the Formule1 or Etap hotels, except this has free wi-fi. Only negative would be that as this is a metal building, it can be rather noisy and it is cold at night. Furniture is nicer here than at the F1, but would feel warmer and safer there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

I have to admit i nearly cancelled this booking due to some poor feedback on the internet. I am glad i didn't. My partner and i stayed for two nights this October and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We used the hotel as a basecamp and it worked very well.The room was plenty big enough for two people and believe me we are not a thin couple. The room was in excellent condition with an en suite shower room and toilet and wash basin. A trbute to the cleaner as she moved my smelly trainers to clean under the bedside cabinet. Proof that the cleaning was done and to an excellent level The continental breakfast was also excellent with flexible dining times. We also found that Carrefour being on the same grounds was very convenient. There is also a security guard.The saying goes you get what you pay for in our opinion we got more than what we paid for and will certainly use the hotel again. A praise to all the staff

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kay_shep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

After reading some of the reviews I was a little anxious about booking into this hotel but as it was only for one night, decided that we would manage. Firstly-it was cheap and secondly, it was clean, so at the end of a long car journey from Scotland, it fitted the bill. It depends what is a deal breaker for other people, but for me it was the shower/toilet compartment. It was just too compact-somewhat like showering in a camper van. The shower curtain did what all shower curtains do and clung to the body every time you(inevitably, given the size of the cubicle) touched it.
Other than that the experience was fine. More than one night would have been too much.Enjoyed an ETAP hotel at Chalons en Champagne on the way back-same price, much better experience. Bigger rooms, great shower cubicle, seperate toilet. Clean, clean, clean! Don't know if all ETAPs are like this one, but I will use them in future.

  • Liked — Cheap and clean
  • Disliked — The shower and toilet cubicle
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

Was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, however on arrival we found the staff very friendly and helpful, even though we arrived about midnight. The rooms are basic but ours was clean and pleasant. We were in a group and everyone was satisfied with the accomodation. Breakfast on the following morning was more than adequate. As a one night stopover I could not fault the hotel. My only minor complaint was it was hard to find, however my sat-nav took us directly to it.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — finding the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

Basic and you get what you pay for as it's very, very cheap. Used by truckers on their way to the ferry at Calais but no problems or trouble and would stopover again for a quick sleep on the way way home. With these hotels you get a clean room with few comforts but always good value. REMEMBER - this hotel is a stopover with no facilities for anything else but is decent enough in what it is aimed at.

  • Liked — Cheap and convenient for the morning ferry
  • Disliked — No opinion as 1 night stay for convenience but wouldnt stay for anything else.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Thetartanrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

We had read the poor review about this hotel before we arrived and put it down to sour grapes. We are used to Travelodges in the UK which are basic but quite spacious rooms for a reasonable price and we thought Premier Classe would be similar.

On arrival, the garden areas are nicely looked after, despite it being next to a busy road and in the grounds of a huge Carrefour supermarket and the staff were very friendly. There is plenty of parking, with an electronic sliding gate at night (you get a code for this).

Our main shock was on entering the rooms - they are the smallest hotel rooms I've ever been in - there is about 30cm between the end of the bed and the wall - just enough room to slide along. There is a decent sized 5' double bed filling the room, with a bunk bed above it and a tiny toilet/shower room in the corner.

On the whole though, the rooms are quite well designed, the space worked out as carefully as possible. I'm sat at a little desk with my laptop, using the free wi-fi Internet (that's a huge plus). The beds are very comfortable and the soundproofing in the rooms is good. There are plenty of lights and power sockets, but the bathroom is just too small - very difficult to have a shower without getting everything in there wet, and the floors are slippery when wet. No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms (I mean where would they put them!), but there are machines in the lobby that dispense perfectly acceptable coffee for 1 euro.

Good location, easy drive into Dunkerque which has tons of parking, much of it free. We are staying 2 nights here and we really don't mind so much now we've got used to it - but just another 300mm added to the width of the rooms would make it seem less claustrophobic.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — The rooms were miniscule
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lydidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pol-sur-Mer
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Dunkerque Centre Gare
2.3 mi away
Kyriad Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
1.9 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Dunkerque Grande Synthe
1.7 mi away
Campanile Dunkerque Est - Armbouts Cappel
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#3 of 13 in Dunkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer

Property: Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer
Address: 14 rue Antoine de Lavoisier, 59430 Saint-Pol-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Saint-Pol-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Pol-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing