We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Golfer but great hotel”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lumbres
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a Golfer but great hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped here on our way home from a French trip. Lovely setting, welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, great dinner and breakfast. We sat at the bar after dinner with some of the local French golfers and had a wonderful time.
Just over the road is a out of town shopping area. good for stocking up at Le Clerc and filling up for fuel.
Will take time to visit town next trip.

Room Tip: Front rooms have fantastic view over valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    138
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
25
192
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here 25th and 26th August for bank holiday break. Very nice hotel with panoramic views and peaceful surroundings. Courteous and helpful staff and very clean furnished rooms. Let down by poor restaurant - nice place but 45 minute wait between courses and mediocre food such a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortierroger, Directeur général at Hotel du Golf, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Client,
Thak you very much for your compliments on the Hotel and your time for feedback.
It is with great regret that we understand that certain elements of your recent stay at Hotel du Golf de Saint Omer in particular at the restaurant "Le Lodge" did not live up to your expectations.

The feedback from our clients is a precious tool, and enables us to better respond to their expectations. We assure you that all client comments are taken into account seriously and solutions sought rapidly. Quality is very important for all the team.

Kind regards,
Roger Mortier
Hôtel & Golf Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

stayed for one night on way further south, nice hotel well equiped and and peaceful, staff were helpful, didn't eat at hotel after reading reviews, and didn't want a big meal although after reading menu,it sounded lovely and if staying again may try it,the hotel is predominately for golfers, although as its only 25-30 mins to chunnel its great as a stop off, we ended up staying on way back also as we couldnt find anywhere further south,and ended up getting there at 10.30pm which was no problem, staff were very accommodating and friendly, and buffet breakfast was lovely, stayed in best western in saumur the following night, and couldn't believe that was rated the same as st omer, as it was nowhere near the standard of this hotel, although golf hotels always seem to be better in my view, would definitely stay here again,and would recommend it.

Room Tip: forest view rooms are just a view of the car park with some trees behind them! golf course view much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a weekend break for my Aunt's birthday. We put the hotel address into the TomTom and were taken what the TomTom claimed was the Chemin Des Bois which is the address the hotel has. The road fitted what the TomTom map was showing. We got taken off the N42 to a country lane. We could see the golf course and the hotel itself, but no sign of an entrance.

We went back to the main road and I found the hotel listed in the points of interest on my TomTom. So we tried again and got taken along the same country lane to a junction with a dirt track where it announced we had arrived. So we bounced down the dirt track, but no sign of the hotel. We took a guess when we came to a crossroads of dirt tracks and eventually came to a main road, the D225. We turned right and just before we got back to the N42, we saw the entrance to the hotel on the right. Later that day we went to St Omer and put in the Point of Interest address again and it took us straight there so I don't know what happened the first time. Putting the postcode of 62380 also seems to work, but it gives the wrong location on Google Maps.

So to find it, come off the N42 at the D225 junction. If you're coming from the St Omer direction (or the A16) come down the ramp and at the junction at the end, the entrance is across the road slightly to your left. There is a big sign there. From the other direction, take the first exit off the roundabout on to the D225 for Aquin-Westbécourt, go under the flyover and the entrance is immediate left. Once again look out for the large sign. Once you turn in, you drive along a narrow lane which is the real Chemin Des Bois. Beware of the speed humps. You drive through the golf club car park and up the hill to the hotel car park. If the gates are closed, just press the intercom.

The hotel itself is lovely. It is in a beautiful setting and it is worth paying the extra for the golf course view. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel is very quiet. Even a private party in one of the function rooms did not disturb us. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. They left two free bottles of water as well as lots of toiletries, soaps, shower hat etc. The bathroom also had a heated towel rail and the toilet was in a separate little room of its own. Lots of towels were provided so no need to bring your own. The room had a good TV with a selection of English and French stations. It also had very efficient and very quiet air conditioning.

The little spa is very nice with complementary bathrobes and slippers left in the room. Just ask for the key at reception. There are towels in the spa so no need to take your room ones down. You should get changed in your room for the spa though. Swimming costumes are compulsory so no skinny dipping!

Only three very minor niggles. The room directions by the lift were confusing, but we soon sorted it out. The room safe had not been reset from the previous occupant and locked itself. They soon sorted it out though and it was a nice big safe. They left two robes and slippers sets in my room and none in my Aunts, but that was all.

Having read previous reviews, we didn't eat there. We had a drink in the bar though which was fine.

It is one of the best Best Westerns I've stayed in and I've been to quite a few now. It is great as a base for exploring the Pas de Calais area or for an overnight stop. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gold course, the view is worth the extra and the other side isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and had a bad stay in ibis in epernay and so cancelled our ibis booking in saint Omer to this hotel in lumbres. Great location off the major autoroute if you're back up to Chunnel or ferry and want to stay overnight before an early crossing. It's about 35 mins to dunkirk and about 25 mins to Calais.
There was some golf tour going on with tv cameras etc but nothing that disturbed us nor upset our stay. Great friendly checkin and great car park so need to hike it to reception. Room was enormous, very clean in fact spotless and not a spot of dust or anything unwelcoming in room. Bed sheets immaculate just superb. And then came dinner time. Now I'd read a bit on trip advisor about the restaurant and was open minded as everyone has their own opinion but my goodness I think I added 10 years on during service. The staff were very snooty and off handed even though it was basically empty. We sat between courses wondering if we should go and get our food from the chef. Now maybe it was because the golf tournament was on but a chef should not take his dinner service staff away from the main restaurant to serve the golfing awards dinner. If you can't do both then shut the restaurant? We asked for the bill 3 times and they looked at us in disgust and basically ignored us for 38 mins, yes I'm sad but I timed it. We never signed a thing and they told us they put it on our room, clearly they'd got their wires crossed. Staff were as much use as a chocolate fireguard. Anyway the French Peter Kay lookalike was the only one concerned and literally ran around the restaurant whilst the others hid away.
So in summary eat in saint Omer where there are amazing well recommended restaurants before you check in and save yourself the disappointment and hassle of eating in hotel but great hotel and lovely front desk staff. There's an e. leclerc just on main road and off roundabout, get your croissants from there for breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

New, close to the Channel Tunnel. You might think this is only for itinerant golfers who can't get any further South. But it's more than that. Yes, it is for golfers but if you need a place to rest within easy distance of Calais consider St Omer.

Ok, unless you are a golfer this is more likely to be a place for a night en route as opposed to being your week long destination holiday.

The dining experience wains a little when it's busy but the standard overall is good. Breakfast is enough to prepare for the day (srambled egg is not a high point but there is pleny else to tempt).

Rooms are clean and well laid out. The overall experience is helpful and friendly.

We have stayed many times for one night at this hotel - it deserves a good compliment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

It was the 4th time that we spend a weekend to relax and to play golf.
The room, vieuw on the hole 9, is splendid.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The dinner was, for that hotel, bad.
We have tried several dishes. None was worth a three star hotel.
It used to be better.
The kitchen should do something, urgently, to the level.




.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACO5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumbres
7.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
714 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
180 reviews
18.1 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
605 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Property: Hotel du Golf
Address: Chemin des Bois Acquin Westbecourt, 62380 Lumbres, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Lumbres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing