We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Highly recommended excellent service.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Easy to find from all channel ports and tunnel, excellent stop over en route or for longer stays to explore local area. Food five star. Good presentation excellent quality. Rooms spacious, quiet, and very clean. Dogs made very welcome. Lots of safe on site parking and large gardens and terrace for sunny days. UK TV for those who miss home! Highly recommended. Owners speak good English for people with little or no French. At least our twentieth stay here at all times of the year, so that speaks volumes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    117
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
146
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as a convenient base for a little exploring of the Pas de Calais & for its proximity to the Tunnel terminal. From our research we were a little unsure as to what we would find.
We found a gem that, like many precious stones, will not be loved by everyone but will be treasured by many.
There is hint of timeless faded elegance about the place as a whole - more obvious in the original house where the more interesting rooms are - which belies the effort recently gone into restoring its past reputation. The staff - especially 'madame' - were exceptional but in the way of a being at a best friend's house rather than a hotel. The food was excellent with well balanced complete menus which can be interchanged, some interesting a la carte options & a good wine list.
Our room was in a newer wing and was a good size with a nice bathroom - the bed was a little small (standard double) and firm for our taste but not unreasonable
Pre and post dinner drinks and chat in front of a large open fire in the lounge area were a highlight of a very pleasant couple of days. This is a place we will return to.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original house have more character but all are very reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Brilliant Lovely owners best food we have had in France for many years.Very handsome grandmother,a fun and hard working daughter two husbands first class chefs.Could do with a new battery in their calculator!!!.

Room Tip: no 37 did us very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterbigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes, we were back again after a very long four months, and I'm pleased to report that all is well at the Tourelles.
Two nights this time around and two wonderful meals, the last of which probably ranks as one of the best ever.
With Nadege and Guillaume's lovely children about the place (but not obtrusively so), it really is like staying with friends rather than at a hotel.
They were busy preparing for a full restaurant for Sunday lunch as we left.
I hope it's not four months before we return. That's just too long.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clactonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times with my husband and dog. We are always warmly welcomed, and enjoy a spacious room and a pleasant bathroom.

The food is excellent and beautifully served.

To be thoroughly recommended, especially for the night before or after using the Channel Tunnel. A really good stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGOT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Only a short hop from the Channel crossings & a quick nip along the A 16 towards Boulogne & off @ junction 31,then left @ the two round-a-bouts onto the N 42 & your there in 40 minutes.

This traditionally built hotel & restaurant part of the "Logis" chain boasts a selection of rooms.From the old French faded elegance style of rooms in the old quarter,to the refurbished wing up the imposing winding staircase .We have used both areas & each has it"s own merits.
Whilst waiting for our restaurant table,aperitifs were served with "mise en bouche" in the lounge area in front of a roaring log fire whilst we perused the choice of exiting menus on offer.
These comprehensive menus have SO much to offer that our choice was difficult .
My choice of the Chefs special salad for a starter,could have been a main course for some people .My wife chose a prawn & fishy starter.
The main course for us just had to be the Chapon fermier de Licques (a local village supplier) served with a selection of the fresh local vegetables .
A most brilliant selection of cheeses in prime condition followed accompanied by walnut bread slices.The wine selection being comprehensive gave us the chance to choose a suitable red to go with the meal & cheese.
Excellent coffee can be taken @ your table in the most elegant restaurant dining room ,or retire to the log fire again ,to be served little treats etc .
This hotel & restaurant has gone from strength to strength with the original family that have put So much into it,every member of the Feutry/boulanger do their bit ,even the kitchen is run by them to an incredibly high standard .
We have been using this establishment for over 15 years ,even for their lovely Sunday lunches after a quick day trip on the shuttle,& can thoroughly recommend you visit.Bon appetite.

Room Tip: We prefer the faded elegance in the old part .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first visit and we chose the Hostellerie because of the reviews on this site and because of our previous good experience of hotels in the Logis group. A Sunday night in January after the recent bad weather could have been a tough test. Only three tables occupied for dinner and, I think, only three rooms occupied overnight. Some hotels might have cut back on service and given the impression that they would not really bother until things picked up again. There was not the slightest hint of this. Service was attentive and friendly. The full menu was available and the food was as good as reported in earlier reviews. The wine list was well chosen and not over-expensive, and the wine was served perfectly. Our room was comfortable and meticulously clean.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will certainly be returning. The hotel is easy to find and only about thirty minutes from the Eurotunnel terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Wast
7.7 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
605 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
594 reviews
12.5 mi away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
790 reviews
12.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Ferme du Vert
La Ferme du Vert
#1 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles

Property: Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles
Address: 8 rue Principale, 62142 Le Wast, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Wast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Le Wast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More known under the name of Château des Tourelles the restoring hotel of Le Wast, located near Boulogne-sur-Mer accommodates you for your tourist stays or your business trips within a peaceful and green framework in the middle of the Boulonnais. The park of the Château des Tourelles also proposes to you a provision of its room of seminar especially studied to receive your collaborators and customers under the best conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Le Wast Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Le Wast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing