We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

30 years ago, there were lots of hotels in France like this! Sensibly priced - and perfectly comfortable - rooms to which to retirte after a truly excellent meal. We stayed here for two nights on a Christmas shopping break and tried the mid price menus - 25 and 33 Euros. But were excellent and very good value. There is a cheaper menu which is included in the demi pension price, and a super menu gastronomique which I think was about 44 Euros. All the staff were very friendly and, best of all, although most spoke excellent English, were very happy to let us murder their language!

Although apparently in the middle of nowhere, the restaurant was well patronised by locals even midweek at the end of November. We will certainly return and, incidentally, the shopping in Boulogne is very much better than Calais!

Room Tip: The road carries a surprising amount of night time traffic. A rear facing room might be an advantage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 325 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

The owners of this hotel dispel the theory that the French are not very welcoming. Throughout our 4 day stay we found all the staff at the hotel very welcoming and eager to please. The hotel has good parking, the room was large, comfortable and clean, but the best part of the hotel is the superb food served in the restaurant and the friendly and efficient staff. We intent to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpindlesCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for just 1 night. We arrived early Saturday pm and were warmly welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. We spent the afternoon in the lounge area reading. The coffee and biscuits served were lovely. We were given the menu and wine list for the evening.

The evening meal was wonderful. 4 courses for €33 included chariot des fromages. Great quality and friendly service. Well worth it.

Room was comfortable and had been modernised.

Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickiedickie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We selected this because of other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Warm welcome, lovely food and a great introduction to northern France. Our room was large and comfortable and overlooked the garden. We stayed two nights and on both nights the staff were attentive and unflappable even with a full house of local diners including a large group there for a wedding feast. This indicated to us that the restaurant and food was well regarded by the locals. We appreciated the personal attention of the staff and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel has certainly seen some better days - our rooms (# 35 and 36) were slightly shabby and some of the public areas have tired decor. The garden needs attention - the modern extension to the side, and the plastic garden furniture don't add to the ambience. However, all this pales into insignificance compared to the lovely welcome and attentive service from the happy, smiling staff. It was my parents-in-law wedding anniversary during our 3-night stay, and that evening, for dinner, we were given a more private table which was decorated with extra flowers and candles - a lovely touch. The food is traditional French - delicious, made and served with care. Breakfast is continental - yoghurt, fresh croissants and bread, jam and honey. We would defifnitely return to this hotel.

Potential guests need to be aware that Le Wast is a small village, and there are no other restaurants or shops in the village. For a change, we had dinner one evening at La Ferme Vert (also a hotel) in nearby Wierre-Effroy (10-15 mins drive away) and can hightly reccommend it. The menu there is modern and the food was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orkneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

...and it feels like time has stood still. The standard DB&B, it is good value. If you wish to go off piste and spoil yourself with an upgraded menu and some good wine, the Euro/GBP rate takes its toll. We feel that the food is not quite as good as it was but the welcome and friendly attitude of the staff is excellent

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TomBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Had stayed twice before some years back and made a return visit. Ideally placed for this part of France and the food is as wonderful as ever. The family still provide a wonderfully warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffany29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Wast
7.7 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
629 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
#2 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
131 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Moulin aux Draps
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles

Address: 8 rue Principale, 62142 Le Wast, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Wast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Le Wast
Price Range: $97 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More known under the name of Château des Tourelles the restoring hotel of Le Wast, located near Boulogne-sur-Mer accommodates you for your tourist stays or your business trips within a peaceful and green framework in the middle of the Boulonnais. The park of the Château des Tourelles also proposes to you a provision of its room of seminar especially studied to receive your collaborators and customers under the best conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie de Le Wast Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Le Wast Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Le Wast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing