We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great travellers stop from the ferry or train”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Escal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etaples
Liverpool
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great travellers stop from the ferry or train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently next to the town centre and the small harbour. An easy walk to the town square. Although there was parking on the street outside the hotel this was full so we used a small car park just around the corner.
The hotel was clean throughout. We where given a small room at the back of the hotel. A compact bedroom with a shower/bath toilet and sink. The walls dividing us from the next room where quite thin and we could here the couple talking in the next room. Overall a decent stop although a little overpriced for the facilities available.
Situated about 30 mins along the motorway from the channel tunnel, this makes a great stop off when just entering or leaving France.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
20
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked this hotel via "Hotels.com" back in January for one night this August as a 1 night stopover on our return from Spain. Due to an unforseen problem whilst in Spain we were travelling much later than we expected, so at about 9pm when we were still about 150 miles South of Paris I rang the hotel to tell them that we would be arriving, but it would be about 1am when we got there. I got a recorded message which I couldn't fully understand, I can get by in French but not enough to understand the message.
I then phoned hotels.com to ask them to relay the message, the operator asked me to hold whilst he did so, when he got back to me he explained that he had ( after a few attempts ) managed to speak to the owner who told him that she closes the reception at 10pm, she had already decided not to answer the phone at 9, and that, NO it would not be possible to check in after 10pm!
We have travelled abroad by car many times, and sometimes you get delayed, but we have never had this happen before, always, there will be somebody there, or they will give you the code to enter the building or the safe code to get your key.
I hope this hotel goes bust and gives the owner a lifetime of misery.

Room Tip: The best room would be any other hotel if you don't want to be in bed by 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Z1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etaples hotels

Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Used the hotel as a base for a golfing week with 3 friends. Very clean hotel and a friendly owner. One of the rooms was a ground floor studio which proved plenty big enough to store golf clubs overnight. Good buffet style breakfast. We would definitely stay again if we re-visit for golf.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFOaOFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Rooms in this friendly hotel are small but super clean, and the tiny bathrooms have been upgraded in the last year or so. The location is ideal - central, but quiet. The breakfast buffet is relatively modest, but much better than the standard bread and jam offering of cheap hotels in France. We have stayed here several times and it just keeps getting better. If you want room to swing your cat, go somewhere else; for a warm welcome and a no frills place to stay, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonewolfNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etaples
1.3 mi away
Kyriad Le Touquet - Etaples
0.1 mi away
Le Charles VIII
Le Charles VIII
#2 of 4 in Etaples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge de la Renaissance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mister Bed Berck - Rang du Fliers
2.4 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escal Hotel

Property: Escal Hotel
Address: 9 rue du Rivage, 62630 Etaples, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Etaples
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etaples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Escal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Escal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing