We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Au Vieux Port

Au Vieux Port
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Etaples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: RESTAURANT - BAR - BREWERY Our cuisine is prepared with fresh products. Menu prices : 13,90 € At € 29 INPUT - FLAT - DESSERT To accompany our simple , tasty dishes you can sample a variety of beers tasting ( as rare as good ) . 40 Bottled beers and 10 pressures ( Leffe - Karmeliet Paix Dieu- Trolls ........... ) Looking forward to welcoming you Cathy and Laurent
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal here last night, food and service were really very good. We wanted a small casual bar/restaurant to feed the family and this ticked all boxes. The only minor let down was that the loo's needed a bit of a clean and towels changing- a good time was had however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emsussex58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    187
    32
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“20 Cyclists No Problem”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were a group of cyclists having our lunch stop in the course of a 90 mile loop from Calais. Staff unfazed by the size of our group and the food and service were excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecyclistsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a hearty meal”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived at the Restaurant just after seven, we where the first in and ushered to a double seated table. The menus had a good choice to choose from. The salad starters we had chosen where not only of a good size but good quality as well. main course didn't disappoint as a good portion size appeared.
Service was good and food arrived with good timing, not too fast, yet allowing enough time for conversation and time for the last course to be digested.
Although not the best value, I would readily eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Etaples for one night on the return journey from our holiday in France, as it wasn't too far for an early ferry from Calais to home.
The bar / restaurant is in the town square and we sat outside for a beer before ordering our food. The staff were so friendly and wanted to make sure we had a good visit. I ordered the Choucroute aux fruits de la mer and was blown away. It was a seafood/shellfish dish that just tasted out of this world. I was so pleased with it that I showed the waiter my practically clean bowl! The prices were reasonable, the decor pleasing, and the food excellent. I would recommend this place to any visitor. By the way, my wife had an omelette, which she said was superb. Can I say more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great atmosphere, very pleasant staff and excellent value for money. We were two couples; three of us had the set menu at 18 Euros and I had a great omelette aux champignons. The chef came out at one stage so we were able to tell him how much we enjoyed the food.

Only one small point - toilets needed a bit of TLC.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbDanKatAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Vieux Port also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Etaples, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Etaples, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Au Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing