We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest French Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Vieux Port

Au Vieux Port
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Etaples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: French, European, Brew Pub, Delicatessen, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: RESTAURANT - BAR - BREWERY Our cuisine is prepared with fresh products. Menu prices : 13,90 € At € 29 INPUT - FLAT - DESSERT To accompany our simple , tasty dishes you can sample a variety of beers tasting ( as rare as good ) . 40 Bottled beers and 10 pressures ( Leffe - Karmeliet Paix Dieu- Trolls ........... ) Looking forward to welcoming you Cathy and Laurent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honest French Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Located at the centre square, the bar and restaurant provides a very pleasant place to enjoy French cuisine. They offer a wide variety of local French dishes at a very resonable price. Add the fine flavours and friendly service, and you have a place to revisit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krewrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    177
    29
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This brasserie is a must. We had a wonderful lunch at an amazing price. The staff were all friendly and efficent. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal in carefully restored surroundings. We are still talking about how good everything was and we would definitely recommend Au Vieux Port.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wshUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Another fine meal”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been here before, but many years ago, on several occasions and always had a great meal, so being in the area we sought it out and gave it a try. Time had caused change, the place was redecorated, more modern, less rustic, debatable whether an inprovement or not.

The food came quickly, well presented and very tasty. Nothing changed here then, still excellent after all these years..

Quick note to a previous reviewer who claimed insufficient language skills to get his food cooked to his liking, the owner has very good english!

Highly recommended.. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

3 lunches ordered very quick service , I ordered the entrecôte , my friends ordered the moules mariners & frites and the braised kidneys, all we're superbe would recommend to any one as a great place to eat and great value as 57 euros with the beers.

Helpful?
Thank Johng6kbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited Au Vieux Port while staying near Le Touquet, but deciding to venture out to Etaples for an evening meal instead of in Le Touquet itself. The restaurant was quiet (the weather was pouring with rain) but looked quite nice. We both ordered from the "specials menu" - myself the pork ribs and my partner the monkfish tail.

The ribs were fairly tasteless, dry and lacked any sauce and the monkfish tail was undercooked. Unfortunately my limited French wasn't quite up to trying to explain the problems and we left disappointed with the food.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JB_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Vieux Port also viewed

Etaples, Pas-de-Calais
 
Etaples, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Au Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing