We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
377
106
10
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
106
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amuse bouche channel tunnel wine list gourmet food dog friendly hotel comfortable rooms owners and staff short break chain hotels friendly welcome sweet trolley tea and coffee making facilities hotel restaurant overnight stop large room en route stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 498 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stay here every year - just our first night of the month-long holiday and the last. Bea always fits us in, never minds that we don't stay longer and is most charming. Her husband is such a good cook. We really couldn't stay any longer because we'd eat much more than we should (including three puds!). Breakfasts now include eggs, which is a bonus as there are so many English staying here for the battlefields tours. English is spoken (very well) and the staff are most helpful. Our car broke down one year and we were accommodated for three extra nights with no trouble at all. The house is polished and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
There is plentiful parking and seating outside for a pre-dinner Kir. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Rooms on the ground floor in the new wing are newer!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in late December. We have visited before so knew what a good standard the hotel offered. My daughter and her fiance accompanied us this time. They have complicated dietary needs but this didn't cause any problems to the hotel owners. Madame fronts the hotel and is the most friendly proprietor you could wish to meet, she speaks excellent English and is very humourous. The food in the hotel is the best we have ever had , typically French but so well cooked and innovative. There is a great choice each night. The breakfasts are better than the usual French standard with pastries, bread etc but also boiled eggs, ham and cheese and cereals. The rooms are clean and warm and comfortable, what more could you ask? Lovely hotel. We look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamboBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We call this hidden treasure "A restaurant with rooms!" We have been using this hotel for over 5 years now, as a great stopover on-route through Europe and also for a quick trip over for shopping in France. The food is wonderful, service 1st class and lovely attentive staff, especially Bea, who welcomes us like old friends.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley4urfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I and another couple have just spent a night at Saint Louis and cannot praise it enough. The fact that it is a Logis is the first clue that you are going to be in for a treat - they have never let us down yet. The building itself, as you arrive, is very impressive and is matched by the friendly welcome you receive as you enter the building. The rooms are named after the French regions and are average size and very clean and comfortable, with quite a large en suite bathroom - including a bath. However, the feature that really sets this hotel above the others is its fantastic restaurant which offers the most fantastic gourmet food. We all settled for the most expensive menu which was 48 euros and consisted of 2 starters a main course and puddings or cheese. We were given little canapes with our drinks in the lounge before the meal, a little ammuse bouche when we sat down at the table and an iced sorbet halfway through the meal. Everything was beautifully cooked from the scallops, hare terrine, wild boar to the fillet steaks. The sweet trolley is loaded with delicious offerings and we couldn't believe it when our waitress said we could each choose 3. If there was to be any complaint at all it would be that the wines seemed to be a little pricey and there was no 'house wine' sold by the caraffe. But that is being very churlish and is more a reflection on me than the hotel! The total cost for the room, cocktails, and superb meal was around £170 per couple. All this a mere 30 minutes from Calais.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were looking for an overnight stop not too far from Calais and found this charming hotel/restaurant circa 30-40 minutes from the ferry. The other reviews I read here are quite right in that the rooms are a little dated, but spotlessly clean. The food is quite outstanding - in particular I would mention the king prawns in a bisque which is probably one of my most memorable food moments. The only criticism is that the wine list was aimed at the more expensive end of the market, but the house wine at Eur 19 a bottle was very acceptable. Definitely going back to work our way through the menu!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews