We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stay here every year - just our first night of the month-long holiday and the last. Bea always fits us in, never minds that we don't stay longer and is most charming. Her husband is such a good cook. We really couldn't stay any longer because we'd eat much more than we should (including three puds!). Breakfasts now include eggs, which is a bonus as there are so many English staying here for the battlefields tours. English is spoken (very well) and the staff are most helpful. Our car broke down one year and we were accommodated for three extra nights with no trouble at all. The house is polished and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
There is plentiful parking and seating outside for a pre-dinner Kir. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor in the new wing are newer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    92
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
228
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in late December. We have visited before so knew what a good standard the hotel offered. My daughter and her fiance accompanied us this time. They have complicated dietary needs but this didn't cause any problems to the hotel owners. Madame fronts the hotel and is the most friendly proprietor you could wish to meet, she speaks excellent English and is very humourous. The food in the hotel is the best we have ever had , typically French but so well cooked and innovative. There is a great choice each night. The breakfasts are better than the usual French standard with pastries, bread etc but also boiled eggs, ham and cheese and cereals. The rooms are clean and warm and comfortable, what more could you ask? Lovely hotel. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamboBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We call this hidden treasure "A restaurant with rooms!" We have been using this hotel for over 5 years now, as a great stopover on-route through Europe and also for a quick trip over for shopping in France. The food is wonderful, service 1st class and lovely attentive staff, especially Bea, who welcomes us like old friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley4urfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk,
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I and another couple have just spent a night at Saint Louis and cannot praise it enough. The fact that it is a Logis is the first clue that you are going to be in for a treat - they have never let us down yet. The building itself, as you arrive, is very impressive and is matched by the friendly welcome you receive as you enter the building. The rooms are named after the French regions and are average size and very clean and comfortable, with quite a large en suite bathroom - including a bath. However, the feature that really sets this hotel above the others is its fantastic restaurant which offers the most fantastic gourmet food. We all settled for the most expensive menu which was 48 euros and consisted of 2 starters a main course and puddings or cheese. We were given little canapes with our drinks in the lounge before the meal, a little ammuse bouche when we sat down at the table and an iced sorbet halfway through the meal. Everything was beautifully cooked from the scallops, hare terrine, wild boar to the fillet steaks. The sweet trolley is loaded with delicious offerings and we couldn't believe it when our waitress said we could each choose 3. If there was to be any complaint at all it would be that the wines seemed to be a little pricey and there was no 'house wine' sold by the caraffe. But that is being very churlish and is more a reflection on me than the hotel! The total cost for the room, cocktails, and superb meal was around £170 per couple. All this a mere 30 minutes from Calais.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were looking for an overnight stop not too far from Calais and found this charming hotel/restaurant circa 30-40 minutes from the ferry. The other reviews I read here are quite right in that the rooms are a little dated, but spotlessly clean. The food is quite outstanding - in particular I would mention the king prawns in a bisque which is probably one of my most memorable food moments. The only criticism is that the wine list was aimed at the more expensive end of the market, but the house wine at Eur 19 a bottle was very acceptable. Definitely going back to work our way through the menu!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

we stayed 1 night during the Remembrance Day weekend , the hotel was a very nice sight in the rain lashed gloom of the saturday evening . The reception staff were good , and the room very comfortable , although the chintzy decor irritated my minimalist wife , but i reminded her that we are staying just 1 night and not moving in .
The outstanding feature of this hotel is the food , it is way above 3 star , and I cannot recommend it too highly , the dining room service is also very good .
The hotel was packed with Brits when we stayed , and the couple on a neighbouring table in the restaurant turned out to be living about 5 miles from us at home , small world isn't it ?
We didn't try breakfast as we had no room to fit it in after last nights dinner .
The superior room we booked was spacious with a nice size bathroom , and you can get BBC 1 & 2 on the TV , although the hours time difference meant that our dinner clashed with 'Strictly' .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton Astley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here frequently. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms (and beds) comfortable, the cuisine outstanding. Do walk up into the town and visit the church and local bar for a taste of Flandres, the patisserie is pretty good too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bollezeele
8.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#3 of 12 in Dunkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
23.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
12.0 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint Louis

Property: Hostellerie Saint Louis
Address: 47 rue de l Eglise, 59470 Bollezeele, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Bollezeele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Louis Bollezeele
Hostellerie Saint Louis Hotel Bollezeele
Hostellerie St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing