We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable evening”
Review of Les Catounes

Les Catounes
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Prayssac
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Puy-l'Eveque, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable evening”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Les Catounes (No14). The service was excellent and the food delicious. We had three courses and each was delicious. We come from Australia to our place in Puy l'Eveque each year and will certainly be back here again next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food at Great Value”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We happened upon this retaurant when we got lost driving around the Dordogne, and it was a good thing too! The food was absolutely delicious and the 14 euro lunch menu was superb. I tried the foie gras and magret de canard brochette which was divine - juicy, tasty and so full of flavour. My friends had the fish and the Moroccan trio, both excellent with light filo pastry parcels, crisp salads and delicious sauces.

A great find at great value. The store also sells homewares, and one of our regrets was not buying a porcelain chicken...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This delightful restaurant is just off the main square. The restaurant is actually called No 14. Lunch time was multi national and busy which is a good sign in a small town. Evenings are by appointment only but the owners were pleased to accommodate. The restaurant has really nice art/decor and the staff are efficient and friendly. The food was 35€ for five courses all of which were excellent. It was well worth it. Some unusual twists to the dishes which we really enjoyed. We were very well fed. The wine list was limited to local wines only but they were good. Our wives were very impressed with the waiter and apparently the ladies toilet was something to behold !! If your in the area it's well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refreshingly different from the usual!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This restaurant is in the main square in Prayssac, we eat there quite often as it offers something different from the usual local food. In the summer they have a lovely courtyard where you can enjoy a meal or just a coffee (try the cafe gourmand it comes with some yummy tiny desserts with the coffee), they serve fabulous salads beautifully presented as well as very tasty hot food. In the winter you can sit inside with a log fire, the restaurant is very tastefully decorated. There is always an amuse bouche and lots of little extras, the menu is not huge but it changes quite often and there is always and interesting twist to the food.

The Open for lunch 6 days a week and in the summer they are also open some evenings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nicely situated restaurant at the top of the main square in Prayssac. Food far exceeded our expectations. We both chose from the menu at 19.00 euro.
First came an amouse bouche of a small delicate cheese soufflé. This was followed by a light and refreshing gazpacho. I chose the steak option which was cooked beautifully and came with a number of lovely additions including thin slices of foi gras, mushroom and cream sauce, frites, a set avocado and tomato jelly, salad leaves and spicy vinaigrette. My partner chose the fish option which was served in batter with a lemon sauce – which she said was excellent. Pudding was a trio of deserts which included a rich creamy/buttery flan, blackcurrant and vanilla ice cream and a fromage blanc with strawberry coulis.
Overall the food was much better than we were expecting and the restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NonPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Catounes also viewed

 
Puy-l'Eveque, Lot
 

Been to Les Catounes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing