We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view from a very dated room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Quercy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lauzerte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Quercy
Kent UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stunning view from a very dated room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lauzerte is officially one of the prettiest villages in France, a title it well deserves. This 2-star hotel is typical of rural French hotels - the restaurant is freshly decorated and the food is excellent. The rooms, on the other hand, haven't been touched since de Gaulle was in power. Shower spray not fixed to the wall, woodchip paper - that sort of thing. The view however was breathtaking - right across a wide valley to distant hills - the route I would be walking the next day. The room was clean, the water hot and the bed comfortable. Stay if you're not a fusspot. It's not in the main square, so be prepared for a stiffish climb to where the bars/restarants are.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were not staying in the hotel but came for Sunday lunch on the terasse outside. Service was very friendly and the food was delicious, including (unusually for France in our experience) lovely home made desserts. Four courses with coffee and a bottle of well chosen wine was around 80€. We have been before, have always eaten well and will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Make sure you are in an upstairs room. The view will compensate for the bizarre plumbing. The restaurant in the hotel was good and we had a pleasant meal. When the weather warms up the terrace would be charming. There is not much alternative in the small village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I met a good friend while vacationing in the region and enjoyed a very pleasant dinner, mid-week in April 2013. None were guests at the hotel, and we had made reservations only earlier during the day---as other plans fell through. We were accorded--despite short-staff--immediate and pleasant greeting and seating. My husband selected an excellent regional cassoulet--surpassing any from New Orleans' French Quarter: Quercy duck confit, pork sausage and white beans produced layered, intense flavor. I enjoyed tender, flavorful lamb au-jus accompanied by young, oven-baked potatoes, and our friend--a vegetarian of more than two decades--was well-accomodated by the kitchen with oven-roasted seasonal and root vegetables. We enjoyed a bottle of a moderately priced Cahors-region Malbec, and a generous selection of regional cheeses. We finished the evening at our convenience---even though the server had departed and the chef/patron waited patiently to close for the night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Dusk-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

These words of wisdom were offered to us by the chef at this hotel when our party of four attempted to dine at this hotel nestled in the heart of picturesque Lauzerte. Stunning as they may be, they did provide insight into where the waiting staff had received their training in the art of customer service, passing no doubt with honours. My wife & I had thought to dine here as a result of visiting Lauzerte the day before - and having been visiting the region for over 13 years & being aware that in August, establishments are busy, we rang on the morning of our visit (11.30am) and booked a table for four people at 8pm on the same day. Which, when we arrived at 7.55pm, was not ready/had been given to another party. I should say at this juncture that this is not a big restaurant. Once directed to alternate table tucked inside the hotel itself, not on the lovely outside terrace we'd wanted, we were seated with menus - and ignored. At around 8.25, my good friend and brother in law finally managed to stop one of the two staff and ask if we could perhaps have a drink and some bread / other while we waited to order. Her reply - & I quote "what is your question? Can't you see I am busy and there are other people here? When I am ready I will come to you? If you are prepared to wait for me I am here for you." This was delivered in manner usually reserved for expressing comment on something you've stepped in while walking. Strangely, we had been under the impression that we had been doing exactly that, waiting. Based on this, we decided that we should leave - that and the fact it was now closer to 8.50 & it would seem that we could expect service later, whenever that might be; perhaps 9.30? 10pm? Arrival of our order - who knows?
As we left, I approached the person in question & I politely told her (& I stress politely) that her communication was quite possibly the worst I'd experienced in a restaurant anywhere in the world; her response was less than polite & entirely consistent with her view & delivery expressed prior.
Enter the harassed chef out of the kitchen to complete the picture to express the phrase above. I'll not bore you with his entire monologue; the review title provides the highlight.

Our party that evening consisted of four expat New Zealanders, two fluent in French - having owned a house in the region for over 13 years and all having lived internationally for over 30 years. I am always reluctant to review an establishment poorly as I am acutely aware of the challenges faced in this industry; however after allowing the passage of time to pass so that I could objectively reflect on our experience; I honestly cannot find any reason for the treatment we received. Accordingly I cannot comment in any other way. For an establishment that wants to present itself as a dining destination, perhaps with aspirations of greatness, I respectfully suggest it reviews it's approach as it blights the normal levels of service we are used to France & in this region. (We are there every year)
On leaving this establishment, we went to Montcuq, around 15 mins away by car, went to the local cafe/bar & enjoyed exemplary levels of service and great food, proving that our experience at the hands of the staff & chef at Hotel Du Quercy was not typical of the region. I can assure you that I, my wallet and those of my friends will not be seen here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauzerte hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
24.3 mi away
Le Luzerta
Le Luzerta
#2 of 2 in Lauzerte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Domaine Saint Fort
Domaine Saint Fort
#5 of 6 in Lauzerte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Auberge du Canabal
Auberge du Canabal
#4 of 6 in Lauzerte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
24.3 mi away
Gite des Figuiers
Gite des Figuiers
#1 of 6 in Lauzerte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Quercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Quercy

Property: Hotel du Quercy
Address: faubourg d'Auriac, Lauzerte, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Lauzerte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lauzerte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing