We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,748)
Filter reviews
2,749 results
Traveler rating
1,993
587
112
37
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,993
587
112
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango pool panoramic room sala bar chom talay restaurant beach bag happy hour horizon deluxe pool bar hill side free shuttle shuttle service thai restaurant flip flops mobility issues main restaurant tuk tuk egg station
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 2,749 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2016

When we initially discovered this resort, it seemed like the perfect balance of privacy and proximity to other attractions in Phuket. The only concern was its distance to the beach, and the fact that you need to get the shuttle or alternatively incur an uphill walk on the way back.

Upon our arrival we discovered that the place has 3 incredible pools, two of which are slightly more private as further away from the restaurant, and guess what - we only spent a couple hours of the whole stay in the Karon beach itself, the reality is that it is far more comfortable to relax by one of the pools with coctail and food service thoughout the day and the convenience of the facilities around you beats the beach any day, where you have the oppotunity to pop into your room to change, have a shower or even choose to get a snack from the restaurant in between tanning sessions.

Happy hour at the pool generally started at 4pm every day, which allowed us to have a pre-sunset coctail before heading back to the room to change for dinner. Food at ther esort was incredible, with a good range of cuisines and sizes to cater for different tastes. Not that many kids either which is a plus for a likeminded couple looking for a quiet romantic escape.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and a great value for what we have paid considering that end of December is a high season in Phuket.

Room tip: An upgrade to one of the top rooms is definetely worth it!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Dear Khun Natalia S,

Thank you for your very positive comments shared after a holidays. Happy to read you enjoyed the stay and will support to recommend hotel to others.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

Mandarava absolutely lived up to its reputation. Everything was fabulous from arrival to departure. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, food was good (we had room service, breakfast, and ate in the restaurant) -- in fact food was better than most of the places we tried in Karon.

We had a lovely twin room with ocean glimpses. It feels incredibly private. It was spotless, great amenities, nice A/C. No movies available so don't rely on the TV for entertainment (not that you need it!). Bathroom lighting was a little dim so I'd recommend that they install brighter lights. However that's a very small thing, the room was spectacular. Really appreciated the free water provided every day. Also the items available for use during the stay were great (bags, slippers, thongs, robes, umbrella, etc).

Good wifi but only for a max of 3 devices. We also had to keep re-logging in which was annoying.

As others note, the resort is quite hilly so if you have mobility issues that would be a problem. However it was not at all an issue for us. Loved the fact that the pools and spa were hidden away.

Pools were lovely (although there is definitely a tendency for people to 'bags' lounges with towels which can be frustrating).

We also visited the Cheeva Spa, which was incredible and I'd highly recommend. It is slightly more expensive than the spas/massage in town but it's definitely worth it (and they have good deals available). We tried the nearest massage/spa as well and it was also great (good foot massage and manicure/pedicure).

It's a very short walk into town, although we weren't impressed by the quality of the restaurants. We stocked up on cheap snacks and drinks at the local convenience stores. Make sure you visit Nami's home made ice cream shop, delicious and lovely service!

The hotel was very obliging in sorting out activities: we had a brilliant day trip to the Phi Phi Islands. They also organised a taxi to take us to the Bang Pae Waterfall, which is right next to the Gibbon Rehabilitation Project. I highly recommend both of these (they are free, although it's good to make a donation to the Gibbon Project or buy local goods at the shop). You can swim in the waterfall, and you get to see the rescued gibbons swinging around in their enclosures. It's quite a drive but definitely worth it. I'd recommend avoiding any elephant treks in Phuket or paying people in Karon or Patong to hold baby "lemurs" or gibbons. This is really unethical as these animals are being poached from the wild (with their families killed in the process); so much better to visit the rescue centre if you're interested in seeing the gibbons. Regardless of the activity you choose, the Mandarava staff are really helpful and will sort out everything from day trips to cabs, and you can charge it back to the room to make everything easier.

Overall, I can't imagine why you'd want to stay anywhere else in Karon. I'd definitely return! Thanks Mandarava :)

Room tip: Ask for a new room with ocean glimpses.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Dear Khun sydneyc10,

Thank you for your very positive comment shared. Happy to learn hotel is met with your expectation and you have had a wonderful time with us.

Your support to recommend hotel to others will be much more appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2016

A great 6 days of R&R at Mandarava in mid December with my daughter. We are both professionals and wanted to unwind after a busy year. I chose this resort based on reviews and we were not disappointed. We had a garden room near the Mango Pool at the ground level which was very well appointed for the two of us (twin share). Good sized bathroom, comfy beds, quiet.
Breakfast was included and it is buffet style with plenty of choices. We ate lunch around the pool on days we were not out exploring and dinner most nights. There are loads of choices, both eastern and western, and everything we had was tasty - curries, pastas, seafood.
The cocktails were good and a reasonable price as were local beers.
All staff are friendly and try their best to help.
The spa is good for massages and facials but doesn't do waxing or manicures or pedicures with polish.
The resort is very well set out and a short walk down to the beach. We took a taxi (organised by the resort) into Patong for 400THB where we shopped.
We organised our transport to and from the airport through Far East and they sent a representative to the resort to organise other tours for us. Would recommend a day trip to Phi Phi Islands and a visit to the Elephant Camp.
We had a wonderful stay at Mandarava and want to come back again.

Room tip: There are a lot of stairs so if you have mobility issues ask the resort to recommend a convenient room.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Dear Khun Mazla,

Thank you for your great comment shared. The most delighted to read you enjoyed the stay and we are the right choice in Phuket.

Please feel free to contact us to support you with your next holidays plan when ready.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

We visited here for 8 days from Stephens Day and we had very pleasant staff, nice seaview room, clean swimming pools and excellent breakfast choices but a couple of things to note:
Be prepared for a good deal of steep walking to and from some of the pools, spa, reception and dining room.
The sun beds are limited at the pools and like a lot of hotels they display a sign saying you can't reserve them, however it is annoying when the pool staff don"t always carry out this rule.
If you're going in to Karon, you can either take a free hotel shuttle at certain times, otherwise a healthy walk again.
Biggest issue to note is the hotel uses different modes of vehicles around the complex which do make a considerable amount of noise from early morning - pity they don't use electric carts instead

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 973PatriciaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Dear Khun Patricia R,

Thank you for your nice review shared. Delighted to read you enjoyed the stay. We have taken note of all positive and valued suggestive and manager concerns will be taking care of an improvement.

Look forward to serve you again if come back for holidays in Phuket, karon beach.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2016

What a fantastic place! The room was beautifully decorated with a fantastic view. Very clean with nice fresh linen and earthy aromas.
All staff was very friendly and always helpful. We spent 7 days here and enjoyed every second of it. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaYan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Dear Khun AnnaYan28,

Thank you for your wonderful comment shared. Great to read you have had a wonderful time and hotel is met with your expectation.

Your great words of mouth to share with friends and family members on how you thoughts about Mandarava resort&Spa will be much more appreciated.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews