We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pacific Club Resort(Karon Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phunawa Resort(Karon Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,373)
Filter reviews
2,373 results
Traveler rating
1,697
525
99
33
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,697
525
99
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmango poolpanoramic roombeach bagsala barchom talay restauranthappy hourhorizon deluxepool barshuttle busshuttle serviceflip flopsthai restaurantmobility issuestuk tukkaron townsteep hillmain pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,768 - 1,773 of 2,373 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

when you check in you get given a map for the hotel services, which is handy, because the place is an absolute maze on a steep hill. £1,000 5 nights for what they offer is robbery, and also are the house keeping staff! Don't leave anything valuable lying around. As they assume its a tip!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickyDornan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Khun DickyDornan,
Thank you for sharing with us and others on trip advisor how you feel with Mandarava resort. As trip advisor allows both party to share comments in a fair manner. we found, it's unfair for us being address as a thieves and overpriced without any proper information or details. It's very serious case for humans being accused without having chance to defend themselves. I do hope majority of trip advisor readers will be agreed and to allow us to get a chance to explain especially with the previous great comments never shown we have over charged in any services instead worth the money value for what we offered.

I'm sorry for whatever inconvenience caused to you. please if possible to give me details, source of bookings, etc. my contact detail is rm@mandaravaresort.com

Warmest regards,
Alex P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently spent 9 glorious nights at the Mandarava. Overall it was really very nice.
As with other reviews I agree the staff are amazing, friendly very helpful but could do with a bit more English. Our room (Panoramic) was a delight. Large, great view and quite comfortable. I also strongly agree they need a fan in the bathroom area with better lighting.
The breakfast was nice but they need to offer a better more varied selection, especially now they are getting busier with more bookings. The danish are nice but it is the same four choices morning after morning. The hot section offer, baked beans, fried tomatoes, small sausages every morning then only add 1 more thing different. What they offer is nice but the variety could be increased especially if staying for more than 7 days.
I am not sure why so many people think it is only a 10 min walk to the beach, we did it many times and it was at least 12-15mins then another 5-7 mins past the roundabout to the shopping area.My husband and I are in our 40's and not shy of exercise, people who said it was 10mins must have jogged or power walked!
I agree the cost of constant tuktuk or taxis makes this resort a little less appealing. If it raining or very humid walking does get a bit tricky/unpleasant.
If you are wanting a relaxing tropical chilled out holiday away from the hussle n bussle then Mandarava is the place. The spa is absolutely fabulous and the staff there really really wonderful. I highly recommend you have several spas especially when they are 50% off, which happens most days.
If you prefer a busier place with more shopping options and lots more things to do then stay somewhere in Patong.We have stayed in Patong twice before and if we were to go to Phuket again will stay in Patong.
In Patong you can have the best of both worlds, quiet relaxing tropical paradise as well as the atmosphere and choices Patong offers.

Room Tip: Panoramic near the pool and restaurant very nice and worth the money
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruzn_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Khun Cruzn_5,
Thank you for sharing your holidays feed back with us on trip advisor. We have taken note of all your suggestive comments and will find way for an improvement.

Once again, thank you very much and We hope for a great chance to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For our first visit to Thailand we chose the Mandarava as a comfortable base to explore Phuket and the surrounding area. It’s a decision that we have no regrets about. As with anywhere, it’s not perfect – but it’s the closest you will find around here (see our comments).
The Mandarava is a lovely new resort with great facilities and very friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are large and have a great feeling of space, with large windows and high ceilings. Our upstairs room overlooked the Mango Pool and gave a great view of the main pool and restaurant areas. The high ceiling and the shaded balcony make the “Panoramic” room good value for the small extra cost.
The steps from reception up to the restaurant area are no problem for any moderately active person – but would be a challenge for older or less fit persons. The room shuttle is available any time you don’t feel up to the climb (or if it’s raining heavily).
The location is a bit out of the way – but it’s only a 10 minute walk to the beach or to Karon town. At this time of year the heat and humidity are the main barrier to walking far, so early morning is the best time for a walk. Walking at night is not so good as there are quite a few roaming dogs on the way to the hotel and the roads are narrow and poorly lit.
For longer journeys the hotel will get you a good deal on a very good quality taxi with a reliable driver. This is also a good way to visit Phuket attractions as the price is quite reasonable for half a day with your own driver, who will return you to the hotel, or drop you off elsewhere. The price for a good taxi to Karon, Kata, or Patong is about the same as for a noisy and uncomfortable tuk-tuk – and probably much safer. Tuk-tuks are definitely overpriced – especially for short journeys.

Hotel highlights:
- The great room and excellent hotel staff.
- The magnificent view from the restaurant and the good quality food.
- Good quality free Wi-Fi.
- The desk staff were very helpful with bookings for tours and shows.
- The quick advice and assistance when I became ill. That showed the value of a good quality hotel.

Comments: (all minor points and suggestions, not major issues)

- One of the reasons we chose the Mandarava was the impression that it was an adults resort with no children. We were disappointed to find that this restriction was ignored at this time of year. Having said that, most of the parents seemed to appreciate that the children shouldn’t disturb other guests (with a couple of obvious exceptions). Maybe you should make it clear at the time of booking when children are likely to be present.

- Needs an extractor fan in the bathroom to remove humidity and odours.

- The bathroom lighting is not sufficient, particularly at night. This is a universal problem with hotel bathrooms – but any hotel that can provide suitable lighting around the mirror for the application of a woman’s make up will get a good rating from the female guests.

- Provide a good desk lamp for reading and writing at night. The room lighting is great for other purposes – but not for reading.

- Provide an MP3/iPod docking base for in-room use (only with low volume).

- Have more relaxing music played at the Mango bar. Maybe Thai music would enhance the ambience. Nobody comes to a resort pool for an afternoon dance party!

- The softer mattress topper turns the rock hard bed into a very comfortable bed – why not make them the default?

- The supplied duvet cover is too hot for normal use. With no top sheet on the bed we had to specially request one after the first night. Once the bedding was sorted out we had wonderful sleeps – so it pays to request changes if you are not comfortable. The staff are always happy to oblige.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms are worth the extra. When the Mango pool is busy there can be some noise - but that's only in the afternoon. Being near the Mango pool and restaurant is handy if you don't mind this.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiCoupleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Khun KiwiCoupleAbroad,
Thank you for sharing your great holidays experience with us and others on trip advisor. We have taken note of all constructive points you mentioned and will find way for an improvement. I just would like to remind all once again that the commitment not to accommodate children age below 12 years is October 16, 2013 for about a year.

Once again thank you for your feed back and we look forward to serve you again at Mandarava resort and spa.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarava at the end of a visit to the far East to meet up with our daughter living in Australia. There were five of us in our group.
The Mandarava was fantastic. Accomodation was superb - large airy rooms overlooking the Mango pool and close to the restaurant. The swim up pool bar was a joy (happy hour 4 - 6pm). The staff - Sam and Nin - were great - always smiling and, although always busy made you feel so welcome! The pool itself was wonderful!
Pat on main reception was always so obliging - taxis or tuk tuks were there within seconds to take you wherever you wanted to go. Pat would book us onto excursions etc and check details for us - nothing was a bother! Pat even kept our suitcases in his office as we weren't flying until the evening
Laundry was a bit expensive but there's a local laundrette within minutes of the hotel and everything was returned beautifully clean and folded for £2.00 for 2kg.
Some people on Trip Advisor said the breakfasts could do with a change but there was so much every day you could just change what you chose - we thought breakfast was excellent and the maître d was always so welcoming.
Evening meals were good but we tended to go into Karon (Bamboo Kitchen is great!) to sample local food.
Couple of things that would make this outstanding hotel even better:
If there was more of a bar area at night as when the pool bar shut the bar was an extension of the restaurant.
Shower areas downstairs (if needing late check out) would be great if they were the standard of the rooms and bathrooms (i.e. more of them and shampoo etc available)
These are minor things however as the whole place was fabulous! We would definitely stay here again if we ever have the opportunity to visit this wonderful area again. Thank you so much to everyone at the Mandarava.

Room Tip: Overlooking mango pool - panoramic deluxe - worth paying a little more for the upper floor (but lower floor great too!)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HilaryHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Khun HilaryHa,
Thank you for spending your specious time to share a holidays experience with us and others on trip advisor. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time and will return your visit. Your constructive points have been noted and will be discussed with the management team.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you back sooner.

Warmest regards,
Alex P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I purchased a scoopon for this hotel and so got a great deal cost wise. The Mandarava is on "the hill" (as the locals say) and this is no exaggeration...it is on the most beautiful and picturesque mountain with amazing views of the ocean. It is a large resort with 3 spectacular pools! Now, you pay for the bonus of the views by having to walk up steep (incredibly steep) hills or climb stairs (sooooooo many stairs!), just as well you can get massages everywhere cause your calves, thighs and buttocks will certainly need one or two! But enough of my whinging (it was great for my marathon training anyways!!). If you wish for more exercise the gym was quite satisfactory; it has 2 treadmills, xtrainer, bike, free weights and weights machine - it is large and airy! Hint: if you are not fit I believe they offer a golf buggy style ride to your room; however you will still need to get to the restaurant and pool (mid to upper level), So please take this into consideration before booking because i heard someone complain to the staff about it and its not their fault!! The room was stylish and clean, and had a lovely balcony area with rocking chairs to enjoy the views. If we could make a suggestion, some form of music would have been amazing; we can't live without our music and we were left in silence when in our room...perhaps providing docking/mp3 radios? The restaurant was very good, the breakfast buffet was clean and well maintained and gave a great selection of Thai and international foods. We loved the fresh Danish assortments, yum!! We had dinner at the restaurant twice and enjoyed both meals, they have excellent chefs and I don't believe you will get a bad meal. We found the staff helpful although not all can speak English very well at all, we had an unfortunate mix up at the restaurant one night; our waitress took our order but mixed it up completely...it was a harmless mistake and one fixed very quickly.
Location wise, the hotel is about 15-20 mins walk into karon town, the hotel does a shuttle bus to karon beach daily but from the drop off location you still need to walk 10 mins to get the main area. We walked to Karon all the time because with the revised 2013 transport fares - it was a ridiculous cost to pay to go 2km and soon adds up! If you want to go to Patong, it's about 10 mins by car, the hotel have drivers they call for you at a cost of 350baht...if you walk 100metres down the road to the taxi rank you pay 300baht...now as a return trip to Patong you are paying about $25aus, which is getting on the expensive side!
It would be excellent if the hotel could provide a shuttle into Patong, over our 7 days we spent close to $300aus on trips to and from Patong; this was our choice to go to Patong because we wanted the nightlife and Karon has nothing like you'll find there. Overall, it is a beautiful place to stay if you want to relax and chill out, and enjoy the tranquility and environment (lots of wildlife!) I would recommend it. If you are chasing the nightlife and don't want to spend a fortune in taxi/tuk tuk fares then stay in Patong.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Franjapanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Khun Franjapanni,
Thank you for reviewing us and share your constructive comments on trip advisor. We have taken note of all points and will find way for an improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back again at Mandarava resort and Spa.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews