We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Expedia.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Destinia.com
$74
View deal
Priceline$77
Hotels.com$79
Travelocity$79
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,221)
Filter reviews
3,221 results
Traveler rating
2,358
659
138
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,358
659
138
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango steep hill main pool tuk tuk pool access room shuttle steps pools thailand patong jungle tropical
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,431 - 2,436 of 3,221 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having read many raving reviews about Mandarava in Tripadvisor, we decided to book a 3 nights stay for our 2nd honeymoon and were certainly not disappointed with the experience. Our vacation started off wonderfully with a complimentary room upgrade when the resort noted it was for our 2nd honeymoon. They added an extra touch to our arrival with a beautiful pair of towel elephants and flowers on the bed, with towel bunnies in the bathroom, accompanied by a bowl of fruits.

On the 2nd night we arrived back to the room to discover a pretty birthday cake (it was my husband’s birthday) complete with candles, a matchbox, plates and utensils to use! Yes, the cake was delicious too. The staff went the extra mile indeed, and we were certainly impressed by their thoughtfulness to make our stay extra special and memorable for this occasion. During checkout, the GM personally enquired about our stay and not many resorts we've been to even has that personal touch.

Overall we definitely had a fantastic time and would certainly return in future and recommend it.

Here’s a summary of our experience in Mandarava.

Highlights
1. Location: Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery on a little hill away from the hustle and bustle of Karon town but near enough to access town easily by foot (about 10-15 minutes) or bike (can be rented from the resort at 250 Baht - 24 hours). The quiet and tranquil environment is ideal for privacy seekers without being totally cut off from Karon town or the more vibrant Patong attractions (about 15 minutes away by car which can be arranged from the resort for 350 Baht).

2. Ambience: Beautiful grounds decked with lush greens and flowers with ambient lighting accompanied by the serenade of birds and insects, offer a nice romantic, tropical feel to the whole place.

3. Service: Staff are attentive, prompt and friendly although language may be a slight barrier towards better communication for more specific requests where you may need to resort to a little sign language.

4. Room: We stayed in the Panoramic Deluxe overlooking the Mango Pool with a lovely view of the hills. The high ceiling, generously sized bed and simple but tasteful furnishings added a touch of luxury and cosy comfort. The room is spacious and meticulously clean. Comes with a wide balcony and attached bathroom which boasted a huge bathtub and a big shower area with a 12 inch shower head, which I loved.

Can be improved
1. More frequent shuttles to Karon Beach as only 3 trips were provided every 4 hourly when we were there.

2. More diversified menu changes for the daily breakfast would be good as the same selection more or less applied everyday.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PatLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Khun Tehlipton,
Thank you for spending your specious time review us on trip advisor. Your construction comments have been noted and will find way for an improvement sooner.

We, look forward to welcome you back to our property again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We did a girls trip away there were 7 of us, for most it was our first overseas experience! The resort reach our expectations plus more, great value for money service was impeccable. Enjoyed happy hour from 4pm - 6pm daily at the swim up pool bar with half price drinks which were already cheap. Buffet breakfast which was included was enjoyed every morning by all. The resort is situated on the side of a hill which means lots of steep walking and steps which requires an average level of fitness.You can use the resorts tuk tuk to take you to your room whenever you like at no cost.You wouldn't have the magnificent views of Karon Beach if it wasn't on the side of a hill. Only disappointment was that we requested twin share for all the rooms to only find one of our rooms only had a king size bed which the resorted expected us to use as they had no other available options on the first night when we arrived.They offered to move us to another part of the resort in the morning away from the group. It was eventually resolved when it was decided to bring in a roll away bed which was extremely comfortable for one adult to sleep on,therefore it wasn't necessary to move away from the group. The resort should have contacted me prior to inform us of our options to avoid disappointment rather than informing us on arrival late at night after a long flight and all you want to do is have your own bed to sleep in.Double check or triple check your accommodation requests people and ensure you are getting any requests to avoid disappointment. All staff at the resort were very friendly and did everything to please you and I would certainly recommend this resort to anyone who is wanting a holiday at Karon Beach.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Khun Michelle S,
Thank you for your great feed back share with us and others on trip advisor. We delighted to hear our facilities and services have met all girls trip expectation. Please accept my sincere apology in regard to a miscommunication in regards to the bed configuration requirement, however it's always our pleasure to provide a maximum possibility to accommodate our guests need, but not everything can do at the same time due to a fact of rooms structure limitation. (all with twin beds and next to each other)

We once again thank you very much and look forward to welcome you and all of your friend back to refresh and enjoy your holidays with us for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel was new & very clean. The staff were outstanding, very helpful, polite, friendly & there when you needed them to be. The restaurant you will probably find, as per most hotels, is a little more pricy than in the town (though we found that even if you did eat out & found a place which was nearly as good as the restaurant it would cost around the same), the food at the hotel was all cooked fresh & was excellent with a great outlook.
As a family holiday with kids we found at the time we went (July) the hotel seemed to be more of a couples retreat & not a lot for kids to do, although there are pools to play in & my lad & i smashed the table tennis everyday courtesy of the hotel (my lad is 12yrs & never moaned once whilst he was there, the free wi-fi is a massive winner for the kids), the beach is not too far from the hotel with the hotel putting on a courtesy bus on at various times of the day to take you to the beach or Karon town.
This is definitely a hotel we would go back to & outstanding on many levels.

Room tip: We were on the top suite with a great view of the ocean & trees. Great view & the room was outstanding. Sitting out on the balcony, peaceful & quiet. Couldn't really ask for anymore, everything was new & clean.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Khun Dave C,
We were delighted to read thru you holidays experienced share with us and others on trip advisor. this great comments will be shared with all team members and we will keep maintain and doing more of the best jobs to make customers have a great time with us.

We once again thank you very much and look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Mandarava for a couple of nights (was meant to be 3 nights, but aircraft issues meant a day's delay in arriving) before we moved on to Koh Samui. We were very pleasantly surprised at the standard of this hotel, especially considering the low cost. The individual "duplex" style accommodation- i.e. individual buildings of two accommodation units" ensured that one felt private, and was a clear cut above the usual banks of rooms so common. We were situated near the top of the hill overlooking the spa centre. The main pool was very nice, but the infinity pool near the entrance to the resort was wonderful, with never more than 4 other people using it. Staff were very friendly. Accommodation was very good, with large bath and shower in separate rooms. Bedroom area very large, well set out, and great beds.
A few minor negatives - there is only one restaurant (although dinner there was excellent), and the pool bar at the infinity pool was never opened during our time there. A shuttle bus does a few trips per day down to Karon Beach, but it drives past the shopping area and drops one at the desolate end of the beach opposite the Karon Beach "lake" - which is actually a large storm water holding area. However it is really only a 7 minute walk from the hotel to the shopping street.
A tip for travelers - we used the hotel transport to take us back to the airport at the end of our stay - 1200THB (vs 1400THB we were charged by the taxis at the airport to get to the hotel) - so check the rate before-hand - it may be better to arrange a hotel transfer.
Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Khun Adelaide_family,
Thank you for sharing your holidays feed back with us and others on trip advisor. Your constructive points have been noted for an improvement except one regard to the authority which is far beyond for us to do anything. Knowing hotel is not located on the beach side and we do provide daily schedule shuttle for guest comfortable, but the Karon area has been divided by local administration for local people to earn their leaving and we are not allow to park our shuttle wherever we want to drop customers instead one main point at the beach only and it's a must to be the same point for the way back to the hotel. We do hope of your understanding.

We once again thank you very much and look forward to welcome you back to Mandarava resort and spa for the next holidays trip to Phuket island.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have recently stayed at Mandarava for 3 nights during the long weekend holidays. Our room was next to the Mango Pool. The hotel exterior was beautiful. The over-looking view of Karon beach was magnificent. However, the surrounding was still underdeveloped. Therefore, to get around Phuket town, renting a car is highly recommended. The hotel staff was very helpful especially "Khun Pat", the guy at the concierge who always has a smile on his face. The room service was great - nice and clean. There are variety of breakfast choices ranging from western to eastern cuisine. Mandarava would definitely be our choice for our next long weekend get away.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panga404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Khun Pang A,
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor. Your comments will be shared with team members and especially PAT who got your compliments during the stay. We will make sure to maintain level of service standard provide to all customers and make them an enjoyable and relax experience.

Once again, thank you for your great feed back and we look forward to serve you again at Mandarava resort and spa for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews