We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Tired Hotel, Lets the Brand Down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Location, Tired Hotel, Lets the Brand Down”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is very well located close to the motorway, and there's a huge shopping centre near-by open 7 days a week with a good supermarket and several convenient restaurants. Lots of free parking close by. But you do need a car to get anywhere. It's a long way into Verona, and there is no public transport close by. The whole hotel is rather tired. The first room I was allocated had a wardrobe door that had fallen of. The next had curtains that the draw cord was broken and didn't open/close, and a shower head that could not be locked on the rail so was useless. The breakfast was meagre and well below the Holiday Inn standard. As a Gold Elite Priority Club Member there was no recognition and the price of internet access was excessive. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Rick S,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    161
    123
    45
    28
See reviews for
75
118
18
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

When we pulled in to the parking lot I was a bit concerned, already you see that the Restaurant sign is falling down, howevers it's Italy! I was surprised to find a lovely front lobby and great sized guest rooms! The drive to the city was a bit longer than we hoped, but managable! The saddest part of our stay came at breakfast. Here the staff was rude, coffee was awful, and food was scarce! Sad for Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slynngermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear slynngermany,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were upgraded due to priority club 6th floor. Our room was very comfortable and well decorated. Great TV selection of channels and movies. Great bathroom (shower always on the wrong wall but..) bed was comfortable temperature was great.
Breakfast was good as well. Downside: super expensive Internet and hard to find parking late at night. Looks run down on the outside but much better inside

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter, fl
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were not impressed by staff. They were a bit rude. Breakfast closed at 10 we got there at 10:05 and they refused to let us grab something and go....breakfast was still out. They charged you for internet service. The restaurant was ok... not impressed. Room was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear danielle b,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the staff and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent two nights here and found the staff to be very helpful and go out of their way to assist. Especially the front desk guy, Basil was an absolute gem! We took a shuttle to Venice and spent some time there as well. Although its in an industrial area, we took time to go to the huge shopping mall just across the road, which was great for buying little gifts etc.. i would most definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor - it seems to be the Executive Floor and have some beautiful suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Located off the highway en-route Venice-Milan, so if like us you are travelling through Italy sightseeing during the day & just need a place to sleep & shower this hotel is perfect. Rooms are clean & beds comfortable, staff polite & helpful plus we got to see Verona & the famous of Romeo & Juliet ;) balcony which was not something we planned on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tajerki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent one night there when we was visiting Verona opera festival. The hotel is located near the first Verona exit from the highway, so I can recommend to travel in the centre of Verona with a car or to take a taxi instead of public transport, especially if you want to spend the evening in the city. The staff was very nice and helpful, rooms are quite big with very comfortable beds. The only problem was that the air-condition is a bit loud and we didn't find an option to turn it off. Breakfast was good with many choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisaSmidova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino Buon Albergo
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Turismo
Best Western Hotel Turismo
#1 of 3 in San Martino Buon Albergo
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
SHG Hotel Verona
SHG Hotel Verona
#48 of 79 in Verona
273 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
#1 of 4 in San Giovanni Lupatoto
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#17 of 79 in Verona
476 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#49 of 79 in Verona
1,393 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maxim Hotel
Maxim Hotel
#53 of 79 in Verona
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SHG Hotel Catullo Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SHG Hotel Catullo Verona

Property: SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Address: Viale del Lavoro 35-37, 37036 San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > San Martino Buon Albergo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Martino Buon Albergo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SHG Hotel Catullo Verona 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SHG Hotel Catullo Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre Hotel Verona
Verona Holiday Inn
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona Province Of Verona/San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing