We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only if you have to”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We did not made reservation in advance.We were traveling by car and I was too tired to go on and hotel was by the highway so we stopped for a night.
Room was borderline clean. Linen had a bad smell. Industrial detergent I think. Bathroom dirty by any standard. Maybe they grow fungus as decoration but I did not liked it.
Extra charge for wi-fi. OK that is their right.
Breakfast worse I had in any hotel for a looooooong time. And biggest surprise BAD Coffee. That is big surprise because in Italy that is just not possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. In addition, I am sorry to hear that the food and coffee served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances into the light as these will allow us to reflect on improving our performance. We truly appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    161
    123
    45
    28
See reviews for
75
118
18
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is located far from Verona center and no available public transport, but, if you have your own car, it is a good place to stay some days. a lot of free parking and it is located near the exit to the highway, therefore easy to arrive anywhere.
If you want to use the train from the local station (we did it to visit Venice) you have to buy ticket in advance! there is no ticket boot at the station.
The staff is friendly and helpfull, but do not leave nothing in the room. The staff will "clean" it.
Two private wine glasses (which we have bought in orde to have a late wine drink daily) have been "cleaned" by the room maid and nobody took responsibilty for that. Except that, it is OK.
The rooms are small but sufficient and the aircondition allow you to sleep with closed windows and to avoid the noise from the trafic which is close to the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room as far as possible from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean
Next to autostrada (milano - venezia)
Reception service is great !! Andrea, Bacil and etc.
Food is good ( breakfast )
But
They charge for the internet (wi-fi) 10euro per 24hr and we didnt like it
And the charge for using extra towel
It was better if they had free wi-fi i hope it will soon...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed six nights in this hotel 14-20 Sep 2012 .everything was beyond our expectaions. The stuff was very friendly and helpfull.The room was very clean and the breakfast was very good.
The hotel is located near the Alt station of the Autostrda and if you want to travel a star like way this is the best place.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the pizza was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motyzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for a few days at the end of August.

As others have commented, this hotel isn't in the centre of Verona, but on the outskirts, about a 10 to 15 minute drive to the city centre. You will need a car to stay here and a good sense of direction and an alert mind, as the entry and exit slip roads to/from the adjoining motorway junction aren't the easiest to master, even with sat nav. Car parking is plentiful and free.

Ignore the other reviews about the gentleman's dance club and adult store, both of which are in the same retail park. Although the former is just along from the hotel main entrance, it's not "in your face" and it doesn't detract from the area; and the latter is at the other end of the development, so unless you go out of your way to be offended, neither should cause any issues.

The female employee on duty most late afternoons/evenings is very friendly and personable. Her English is very good and she is able to join in with Anglo-Saxon humour. Check-in and out were undertaken efficiently. The other front-desk staff were OK, but not as warm and obliging. The two elevators are very small and slow. Bottlenecks frequently occurred at busy periods. Unless all the smaller spot lights were illuminated, the corridors could be quite dark too.

I was upgraded to the Executive floor, due to my Platinum Priority Club status. The rooms aren't that large and the two 4' wide twin beds did fill the the room leaving very little space to relax in the one small armchair, pushed into one corner. The air conditioning was very efficient and quite quiet - and required due to the high outside temperatures. There weren't really enough power sockets for today's traveller, though a smart switching system meant you could control all the lighting (including that in the bathroom) from your bed.

The bedding was very comfortable - lightweight and soft, with the usual choice of firm or soft pillows.

The bathroom was of a good size, though it was clear that during the group-wide updating of bathroom facilities undertaken a year or so ago, the maintenance team decided to mount the new-style curved shower rail using the previous anchor points, set inside the bath area. Consequently it was hard to avoid getting tangled up in the curtain. The shower unit itself was poorly fitted, restricting how it could be positioned. Water pressure and temperature were good however.

I have to mark the hotel down though for its petty (penny-pinching) housekeeping policies. Unbelievably - and unheard of at all the other Holiday Inns I've stayed out across the world - the two small containers of milk provided as part of the in-room tea/coffee service are only free on your first night. They aren't replenished and you're obliged to purchase a glass of milk from the hotel bar if you want any more. This was confirmed by the reception. Housekeeping also appeared to hold back on replacing the usual bathroom supplies too. Again, I can't believe this is official Holiday Inn policy. If I'm paying the same rate per night, I expect the same service items every day.

The buffet breakfast was OK, but nothing special and after a couple of days, became less and less appetising. Twice the coffee ran out and the staff had to be prompted to refill the dispenser; and the fruit juice had to be some form of mix. Tip: the grapefruit tastes better than the orange juice. The hotel seems to be popular with coach parties, so make sure you time your arrival, or you might have to sit outside in the lobby area. That said, the breakfast staff are friendly and the hotel's dinner service is much better with a good range of value for money dishes.

The in-room Internet isn't cheap: 18 Euros for a high-speed "business" service; 12 Euros for a slower "economy" service; and interestingly, a special smartphone/tablet high-speed service for 10 Euros per day. There is no free Internet service anywhere in the hotel and the one public terminal in the lobby, attached to a printer, attracts a per minute charge.

If an attempt was made to improve the breakfast offer and a sensible approach to in-room supplies restored, I would re-rate this hotel higher, but if you want a straightforward base on the outskirts of Verona, then its worthy of the three "stars" I've given it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

rooms: clean and everything in good condition
breakfast: selection was not too bad, but quality was not the best. Why do Italian hotels find it so hard to provide "normal" fruit juice (as you would buy it in your grocery store in a carton) for breakfast??? Instead you get something chemical: some powder that was mixed with water - that mixture has never seen a real fruit!
Staff: very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernoulli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is located 15-20 mins by car to central Verona.
It is not in Verona. (outside of Verona.)

Luckily we were in Executive room. (6th floor)
The room was very comfortable and had 37inchTV, very nice bath room and beds!

It was not good view from the room. (we could see busy road and many cars.)
You will need a car to get there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomHattty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino Buon Albergo
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Turismo
Best Western Hotel Turismo
#1 of 3 in San Martino Buon Albergo
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
SHG Hotel Verona
SHG Hotel Verona
#48 of 79 in Verona
273 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
#1 of 4 in San Giovanni Lupatoto
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#17 of 79 in Verona
476 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#49 of 79 in Verona
1,392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maxim Hotel
Maxim Hotel
#53 of 79 in Verona
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SHG Hotel Catullo Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SHG Hotel Catullo Verona

Property: SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Address: Viale del Lavoro 35-37, 37036 San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > San Martino Buon Albergo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Martino Buon Albergo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SHG Hotel Catullo Verona 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SHG Hotel Catullo Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre Hotel Verona
Verona Holiday Inn
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona Province Of Verona/San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing