We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't advise it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't advise it”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Despite their fame this is a neglected hotel far away from town. It takes 12Klm drive to Verona and there is no practocal transpotation othet than taxi to move around.
The room was large and the bed king size but the matrees was really uncomfortable and there was all over the place an old looking rug with stains on it. The toilet sheet was broken and the breakfeast despite its size brought me diarhhies. Don;t taste the eggs!
On top of all these on the ground floor right next to the hotel;s entrance there is a toppless dancing club with suspicious guys hanging around at night time...
What else to say??

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristieQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    161
    123
    45
    28
See reviews for
75
118
18
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from Venice to Milan so that we could visit Verona. The hotel itself was above average, just know that it is pretty far from the sightseeing in Verona itself. That was fine for us though, since we had a rental car. If you're relying on public transportation to see Verona, I'd suggest looking somewhere closer.

I do have extremely high praise for the front desk person that we dealt with. We asked for driving directions and parking info for Verona centro and not only did he do that, he took 15 minutes to plot out an entire walking tour for us to see all of the sights. That definitely went beyond expectations and was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indyfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Having just returned from this hotel during a trip to Verona, I can honestly say I wouldn't return. The location is in a retail park with a topless bar & a sex shop to rear of the building! It's also located right beside a very busy motorway so we were listening to traffic all night!! Taxi into Verona is €25 one way so I would definitely say stay closer to the city because the money you will save will be spent on taxis! The room & staff were quite nice but breakfast is ok, nothing too exciting!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed 2 days at this hotel. It is located in a business park in San Martino Buon Albergo at around a 15 minute drive from the center of Verona so don’t expect charm or authenticity. However, at walking distance from the hotel there are some anonymous super-market outlets and shops. The building of the hotel is a typical late 80s Holiday Inn: the curtains are green, the chairs are green, the bed linen is green etc. Although the hotel and the rooms are in a good state, the interior looks dated. The bidet in our bath room was a nice extra but sadly enough it didn’t drain. Wifi is not free and during our stay only the business option costing 20 EUR per day was available. The reception staff are friendly and speak excellent English. Breakfast is somewhat dull with an array of different industrially crafted cold cuts, pastries, bread and cheeses. There is no swimming pool in the hotel and no gym. In front of the hotel free parking is available. If you get this hotel at an interesting rate it can be a good choice for a hub to reconnoiter Verona and surroundings given you have your own car.
In short a run-of-the-mill impersonal chain hotel that mainly targets business travelers. If laptops in lobbies don’t bother you, it can be a good basis for exploration of the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear MarcLeuven_Belgium,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am pleased you liked the sleep quality as well as our friendly staff. I am sorry you found our overall hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

The bus stop was a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.. Downtown Verona is a good 25-30 minutes away. If I could do it all over again I would save the headache and book a closer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazeleyz148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn while on a driving vacation through Italy. It was one of the best values we encountered - 75 Euros a night and that INCLUDED a buffet breakfast every morning. We stayed two evenings, the rooms were large and clean. Our only concern was that the rooms were very warm at night and because we were there early in their season - April - they did not have the air conditioning hooked up. When we asked about it, we were told it would not be functioning until mid-May. Not ideal when the weather is hot earlier than expected. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. A big thanks to Giulia who gave us many wonderful recommendations for places to see while in Verona (and who speaks English very well). Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: A nice clean hotel - they have free wi-fi in rooms but if you want to use their lobby internet there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Whilst touring Northern Italy spent two night at this hotel. Nice welcome, friendly receptionists and well appointed, well furnished clean rooms. Most, if not all staff will communicate in English. We were offered a great deal for breakfast when checking in, 12 Euro per room - not to be sniffed at,

Yes, a 15 mins ride by taxi into the beautiful city of Verona which will cost you circa 15 Euro, but the convenience of being out side of the city bustle was well worth it.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but had the buffet breakfast, which was very good indeed, particularly in view of the "deal" that we had.

All in all, a good centre for touring and in particular for visiting Verona, give it a try....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino Buon Albergo
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Turismo
Best Western Hotel Turismo
#1 of 3 in San Martino Buon Albergo
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
SHG Hotel Verona
SHG Hotel Verona
#48 of 79 in Verona
273 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
#1 of 4 in San Giovanni Lupatoto
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#17 of 79 in Verona
476 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#49 of 79 in Verona
1,392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maxim Hotel
Maxim Hotel
#53 of 79 in Verona
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SHG Hotel Catullo Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SHG Hotel Catullo Verona

Property: SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Address: Viale del Lavoro 35-37, 37036 San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > San Martino Buon Albergo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Martino Buon Albergo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SHG Hotel Catullo Verona 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SHG Hotel Catullo Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre Hotel Verona
Verona Holiday Inn
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona Province Of Verona/San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing